Switch Theme:

Another Overwatch question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





If one unit is being charged by 2 different units, can the unit being charged choose not to overwatch the first unit in order to shoot its overwatch at the second unit?

example: A unit of Broadsides are being charged by Gaunts and Shrikes. The gaunts resolve their charge first, the broadsides do not overwatch, The Shrikes then charge the same unit. Can the Broadsides overwatch the Shrikes?

Check out my YouTube and Blog at
http://www.youtube.com/user/Dracus40k
http://dracusjournal.blogspot.com/

I don't care what you say. I found a lightsaber in my garage and that makes me a Jedi. 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




If the first unit fails to get into B2B then Absolutely you can shoot the second unit.

If the first unit does get into B2B, it becomes debatable. posters around here Lean towards no.

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yeah, the rules aren't really clear whether the unit is considered locked in combat until the assault phase or immediately after being charged successfully.

General concensus from my experience seems to be that once you are based, no more Overwatch. It's certainly the more intuitive interpretation, IMO.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Rules as written is that you declare charges one at a time and resolve them one at a time.

So in your scenario, your opponent would declare a charge with the Gaunts. You can choose to overwatch or not. After Overwatch, your opponent rolls to see if the Gaunts make it. After the Gaunts have moved (but before the fight sub-phase) your opponent can decide to declare the next charge. If your unit is not in base contact and did not fire at the Gaunts, then they can elect to fire overwatch at the second unit. If they ARE in base contact or shot at the Gaunts then they cannot fire overwatch at the second unit.

Once all charges are declared and moved, then the Fight Sub-phase happens.

The one-at-a-time charge declaration is outlined on page 20 of the brb. Multiple over watches is listed later on. Reads pretty clear to me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/09 21:53:44


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





The only problem that I can see is when a unit is considered "locked in combat"
On page 23 it clearly defines a set of parameters to how to figure out if a model is locked in combat or not.

A model is engaged in combat, and must fight if:
1. During its initiative step, it is in base contact with one or more enemy models.
2. During its initiative step, it is within 2" of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models in the same combat.

So it would appear that they are locked in combat once you get to an initiative in the Fight Sub-Phase that applys to the models in the combat.

Check out my YouTube and Blog at
http://www.youtube.com/user/Dracus40k
http://dracusjournal.blogspot.com/

I don't care what you say. I found a lightsaber in my garage and that makes me a Jedi. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Read these threads and come to a conclusion on how you are going to play it with your group:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/483327.page

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/525346.page

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/505708.page

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 Col. Dracus wrote:
The only problem that I can see is when a unit is considered "locked in combat"
On page 23 it clearly defines a set of parameters to how to figure out if a model is locked in combat or not.

A model is engaged in combat, and must fight if:
1. During its initiative step, it is in base contact with one or more enemy models.
2. During its initiative step, it is within 2" of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models in the same combat.

So it would appear that they are locked in combat once you get to an initiative in the Fight Sub-Phase that applys to the models in the combat.


I interpret locked in combat as the definition in bold text above the 2 bullet point you mention on pg 23 (first sentence under who can fight). This accompanies well with the 1" away rules too.

That said I agree with hat DeathReaper mentioned in posting the other threads....decide in the game or group until a FAQ clarifies it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/09 22:40:23


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: