Switch Theme:

Plasma Guns and gets hot!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User





Quick questions guys.

A friend and I dont know how to interpret the ruling for Gets Hot. If a model rolls a one and a hit while rapid firing with a plasma weapon will the hit still go off? Also, since his plasma weapon is like AP 2, does he even get a save versus the gets hot? Sorry if these are blatantly obvious but I just came back to playing 40k.
   
Made in gb
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




no idea

All shooting in a unit is considered simultaneous, so yes the shot that hits still effects the enemy.
A gets hot wound is just that, a wound, no ap/id or suchlike.

You wart-ridden imbeciles! 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Fuusa has it right on both counts.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Yes, the model in question would receive it's armor save. I believe that is explicitly listed right in the write-up for 'Gets Hot' actually, come to think of it. Also yes, any successful shots would still happen, only the ones' prevented by the 'Gets Hot' rule itself would be negated.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Related question: The rules for Gets Hot stipulate that if you have a re-roll to hit, then you only suffer the Gets Hot wound if the re-roll is also a 1. The book specifies the 'also' which is where my confusion comes in. That seems to imply that both the first AND second roll had to be 1's in order to provoke a Gets Hot wound. So if my Space Marine fires a plasma pistol, rolls a 2, and then re-rolls it (because of Prescience or whatever) and the re-roll comes up 1, the pistol would NOT Get Hot. Which doesn't seem right, but it does seem to be what the book says. Thoughts?

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker






i feel like you wouldnt get to reroll a gets hot, and if you did reroll and it was a 1 on the second regardless of the first (say it was a 2 first and 1 second) then you would take the armour save next. If anything if this came up in a game here id say its upto you to reroll the 1 but you still had your weapon get hot so you have 1 armour save and you could reroll for the second shot with the possibility of having your weapon get hot again. I imagin that "rerolls" is just a second shot where the first one went wising off and missed the barn side.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/12 06:52:46


10,000+
5,000+
Lego Thunderhawk
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Jimsolo wrote:Related question: The rules for Gets Hot stipulate that if you have a re-roll to hit, then you only suffer the Gets Hot wound if the re-roll is also a 1. The book specifies the 'also' which is where my confusion comes in. That seems to imply that both the first AND second roll had to be 1's in order to provoke a Gets Hot wound. So if my Space Marine fires a plasma pistol, rolls a 2, and then re-rolls it (because of Prescience or whatever) and the re-roll comes up 1, the pistol would NOT Get Hot. Which doesn't seem right, but it does seem to be what the book says. Thoughts?


Interesting thought, but I would think that this rule would only apply to a 'gets hot' re-roll, not miss re-rolls in general and the second roll of a would be a 'gets hot' result.

So if you get a 'gets hot' result on the first roll the rule comes into play immediately, but it could be ignored by a re-roll unless you roll another , but if you do not roll a on the first it doesn't come into play at all unless you then roll a on the re-roll and then it's as if it were just a regular gets hot result. So the rule doesn't come into play until you get a 'gets hot' result.

That's how I'd play it anyway, doesn't make much sense to me to ignore it just cause it's a re-roll.

stormoffires wrote:i feel like you wouldnt get to reroll a gets hot, and if you did reroll and it was a 1 on the second regardless of the first (say it was a 2 first and 1 second) then you would take the armour save next. If anything if this came up in a game here id say its upto you to reroll the 1 but you still had your weapon get hot so you have 1 armour save and you could reroll for the second shot with the possibility of having your weapon get hot again. I imagin that "rerolls" is just a second shot where the first one went wising off and missed the barn side.


You can indeed re-roll 'gets hot' results, and the rule states that if you roll a 1 and you have a re-roll a wound is only suffered if you roll another 1.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

IF you miss, rolling a 2 and get a 1 have you rolled a 1 for gets hot?
The "also" in there is to do with the convention within the rules that the 1st roll is ignored.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: