Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 09:43:49
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
Hey folks,
I have a short question: Deny the witch says, that a unit "that contains a psyker" get +1 to deny the witch. I couldn't find further reference for that specific word in the BRB so I guess it isn't meant in a specific way.
Now the "problem": If a unit is embarked upon a transport, does the transport "contain" this unit and can therefore a Chimera "contain" a Primaris Psyker?
The definition of the word "to contain" strengthens that assumption,
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/12 09:49:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 10:01:41
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I can see where you're coming from with this and it's a good thought, but my gut's saying no as the attack's targeting the transport and not the unit within.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 10:19:12
Subject: Re:Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
Actually my guts say the same (and it is not me who asks initially, in a German forum this question came up), but I can't deny it just yet. So I am asking you if this context is possible.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 10:35:33
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You need to find out if the unit contains a psyker. In context this can only mean "is a member of"
The psyker is contained within the vehicle, but is not a member of the vehciles unit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 10:54:14
Subject: Re:Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
@nos
Right, so the vehicle won't get +1 DtW?
Because the definition I found had two possible meanings with example sentences:
Def 1:
contain or hold; have within
"This can contains water"
Def 2:
include or contain; have as a component
"The record contains many old songs from the 1930's"
Now why exactly is Definition 1 wrong if I substitute can with vehicle and water with a psyker? Water isn't part of the can imho.
So the psyker doesn't necessarily have to be part of the unit according to definition 1.
But maybe I am missing something (at least I hope so)...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 11:05:09
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Because, contextually, "contains" is in reference to a units membership. And a vehicle is not a member of the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 11:07:48
Subject: Re:Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think you are missing the context. Without having looked up the quote, "contains" almost certainly means "has as a member". Units in a vehicle are (I think) universally referred to as embarked on.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 11:08:14
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
More than that: the vehicle is not a unit. It is a transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 11:08:48
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
100% incorrect.
It is a unit, that is of type (vehicle) subtype (transport)
(If you claim a vehicle is not a unit, then you cannot shoot at it, ever - "pick a target unit" (not exact) being oneof the first steps in shooting)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/12 11:09:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 11:19:30
Subject: Re:Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
OK so the example sentence of def1 is contextually entirely wrong. OK that is good to know
Thanks for the input I will answer accordingly then in our forum.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/12 11:19:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 11:27:42
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:[
100% incorrect.
It is a unit, that is of type (vehicle) subtype (transport)
(If you claim a vehicle is not a unit, then you cannot shoot at it, ever - "pick a target unit" (not exact) being oneof the first steps in shooting)
My bad, you're right. More than that, rulebook says specifically that a vehicle is a unit. ("LIke other units, vehicles..." etc). They don't say so specifically of transports, but it's obvious that they are a subset of vehicles as you say.
The rulebook doesn't answer the OP's question. But there's an implication that the transport doesn't get the +1, because the rulebook says specifically that a psychic hood can protect the vehicle he's in. If a non-psychic hood psyker had the ability, the implication is that they would say so. And common sense implies what Nosferatu said.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/12 11:30:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 14:49:32
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I would say psychic hood would protect, regular psyker no
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/12 14:50:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 05:34:47
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Psychic Hood is fine, as long as it's within the specified range. A character and a transport vehicle are never members of the same unit, though, so embarking on one doesn't allow a psyker to give it extra DtW goodness unless he has some special wargear like a hood.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/13 20:40:41
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 05:49:19
Subject: Do Transports with a Psyker in it get +1 deny the witch?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
The vehicle is a model. It does not matter what it contains as far as the unit is concerned. The unit is composed of the members within it. The psyker is in fact contained withing the transport but that does not mean he is contained within the unit (even if the unit consists of only one model). Such status is only achieved via associations made in accordance with the rules governing units, not by physical location.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
|