Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/15 19:44:39
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
As the title.
A scenario that came up in my mates battle report is that 2 penetrating hits from a single unit (Forgefiend) both scored Immobilised. Would this result in a wreck?
He says that it would result in a wreck because the vehicle is already immobilised by shot 1 for shot 2 to wreck it.
I say no, because both the shots are from one unit simultaneously, so the vehicle cant be 'already' immobilised. (note, im not his opponent)
Am I right?
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/15 19:53:58
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The second immobilized result would take an additional hull point, so 3 total from that round of shooting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/15 19:55:28
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
A second immobilised result doesn't automatically wreck the vehicle. It just removes an additional hull point.
From my experience, the general method in practice is to apply the Immobilised results sequentially, so yes, 2 Immobilised results from one unit's shooting would mean 3 HP lost.
There is certainly an argument for them applying simultaneously, but it's generally seen as a loophole.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/15 20:10:37
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
it just doesn't make sense to me to work that way since the rule say an 'already immobilised' vehicle
The unit wasn't already immobilised until it started being fired at.
The way I see it, it isn't already immobilised
This is just me seeing 'already' I guess...
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/15 20:12:09
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
When you rolled the second Immobilisation result, is the vehicle already Immobilised?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/15 20:17:43
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
No, both the Immobilised results were rolled at the same time
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/15 20:24:24
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
IIRC Rolls for results should be done separately and not at the same time. or i may be thinking of squadrons.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/15 20:43:18
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
England, Sunderland, Hetton-Le-Hole
|
I agree with 'nids the results are applied simultaniously so the second immobilized result simply removes one HP not 2. As the vehicle was not already immobilized. Whilst I think it maybe should remove 3 its a minor inconvenience to me to at best.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/16 13:43:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/15 21:11:18
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
This has been debated before, and there's 2 schools of thought. You can do the rolls one at a time, which means your vehicle is kaput. Or you can do them simultaneously, which means it's not kaput. But, if you do them at the same time and 2 6s are rolled, then it explodes twice. IE, a rhino gets two pens that are 6s, the guys inside side take 20x str 4 ap- hits. Afterall, both explosions are simultaneous.
Our store plays it as one at a time, and 2 immobs from 1 unit does wreck it. I disagree with it... but I don't run our league.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 00:10:05
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think the question of whether you roll them together or separately is a red herring. That doesn't matter so much; you can do it either way, and it's not supposed to make a difference. The RaW is unspecified (or broken, if you misinterpret "simultaneous" shooting to apply within the shooting sequence of a given unit). Consider, also, that if the vehicle is in a squadron, you explicitly HAVE to apply them one at a time. Suddenly immobilization is more dangerous because you have a buddy? What is this, 5th edition? (In 5th, immobilized squadron members were wrecked.)
No, we're asking about intent. What does "already" mean in this context? OP says it refers to before the shooting outright, as all shooting from one unit is simultaneous. (We should all know by now that this statement refers solely to things occurring OUTSIDE the shooting sequence - inside the shooting sequence, it must not apply, or else it wouldn't be a shooting sequence at all.)
I say that the intent of the rule is that an immobilization either actually immobilizes the vehicle, or else has the additional consequence of another hull point. You're not supposed to loophole the rule by being "doubly immobilized" - which also isn't defined, since the rule is written such that you can only be immobilized once.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 01:17:47
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
Rolling is done one at a time. You only roll simultaneously as per fast rolling. So the results are applied sequentialy. The second immobilization would cause an additional hp loss.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 09:41:03
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Then you broke the rules, as you can only roll dice together when this has no effect on the game, apart from speeding it up.
This has an effect, therfore you must roll one at a time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 11:01:13
Subject: Re:multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
In practice, trying to apply simultaneous damage results from a single unit is as wonky as trying to apply all wounds from a wound pool simultaneously. You'd only ever be able to kill one model per shooting attack since at that simultaneous firing moment, only one model is the closest for allocation...
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 18:10:04
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I ask this. If you get a immobile result and weapon destroyed by some logic presented here that only one would apply.
Alas we all know that both results pally without fail and you not only loose a weapon but your immobile. So apply one immobile result loose a hill point, apply the second loose two more hull points. Simple as written, not ambiguous and hiwpi.
Ironically this might happen once a year to an avid gamer. Never has happened to me , but it did happen to my buddy and he used the wreck as cover.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 18:59:05
Subject: multiple Immobilised from single unit.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Lungpickle wrote:If you get a immobile result and weapon destroyed by some logic presented here that only one would apply.
Please explain this - I don't see anything like that.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|