Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 10:09:16
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
So the following happens:
1) At the beginning of the movement phase my Raveners/Hormagaunts/other feeding Tyranids are not in Synapse.
2) They fail the Instinctive Behaviour roll and hence get Rage.
3) After moving and charging, they are now in Synapse range.
Do they still have Rage for this charge? I think so but I'm not sure..
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 10:14:43
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
This came up once before with no real consensus (that I recall). It depends on how you interpret "Not subject to the Instinctive Behaviour rule).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 14:16:17
Subject: Re:Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
The FAQ doesn't really answer this question, but considering this:
Q: Do units who begin their turn more than 12" from any Synapse
Creature have to test for Instinctive Behaviour if a Synapse Creature
arrives from reserve within 12" at the beginning of the Movement
phase? (p33)
A: Yes – the model has begun its Movement phase outside of
synapse range.
I'd argue that entering Synapse does not remove the effects of instinctive behaviour, usually positive in the case of Feed and negative in the case of Lurk.
However it is also possible the entering Synapse does completely remove the effects of Instinctive Behaviour, which while usually not so great for Feeding units, it would be a great for Lurking units. Either way, you win some or lose some.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 22:01:52
Subject: Re:Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
As played with others tyranid players, I would agree with PrinceRaven : they begin their move outside any synapse zone, so if they failed their behavior test they keep their instinctive behavior till the end of the turn.
|
Abyssus abyssum invocat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 23:45:14
Subject: Re:Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Actually looking over the rules again I've changed my mind, I think that once you enter Synapse range you're no longer subject to Instinctive Behaviour because Synapse states any unit in Synapse range "is not subject to the Instinctive Behaviour rule".
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 00:47:17
Subject: Re:Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
Leadership test are made at the beginning of the movement phase.
"If the test is successful, the unit will act normally that turn. If the test is failed, the unit follows his instinct and will watch ~ or devour, depending on instinctive behavior indicated in his description ~ for this turn"
It's a traduction from french to english, the exact rule is p.33 of tyranid codex.
As I understand, a unit cannot change his behavior during the turn.
|
Abyssus abyssum invocat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 05:23:35
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
The other side of the argument is:
-A unit outside of Synapse can go to ground, but as soon as synapse is restored they stand up and dont have any of the GtG penalties.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 08:11:06
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Yes but that one at least is crystal clear. They get Fearless as soon as they are in Synapse.
It looks like all effects of IB should go poof inside Synapse range though. Mind you I asked specifically to see whether I could get Fearless rending Raveners charging wit 6 attacks by doing this.
Meh 5 will have to be enough.
Automatically Appended Next Post: Also on IB...
I have my troops. One of my units, say a Hive Guard, is within 12" of just a single source of Synapse, say a Zoan. One of my units is outside Synapse. I roll IB for the one outside.
The Zoan tries to cast a blessing, Perils and dies.
The Hive Guard is now outside synapse and it is still the beginning of the movement phase... Does he have to roll now? I'd say no in light of the FAQ above, he did start the movement phase in Synapse, but not "his" movement phase or something.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/17 08:13:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 12:04:18
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Based on the FAQ timing clarification, I would have to go with I.B test happen before reserve and powers since a Reserve arrival does not negate the need to test.
Looking at it from that perspective, if a reserve arrival does not counter I.B. for that turn, then simple moving in to synapse range would not be enough to counter I.B. This view is also strengthened by page 33 under Synapse Rule were is specificly points out that Synapse control only counters Falling Back, if in synapse at start of movement phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 13:07:29
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
barnowl wrote:Based on the FAQ timing clarification, I would have to go with I.B test happen before reserve and powers since a Reserve arrival does not negate the need to test.
Looking at it from that perspective, if a reserve arrival does not counter I.B. for that turn, then simple moving in to synapse range would not be enough to counter I.B. This view is also strengthened by page 33 under Synapse Rule were is specificly points out that Synapse control only counters Falling Back, if in synapse at start of movement phase.
On the other hand the FAQ could state that that even if you deep strike a Synapse creature (or otherwise move one into range of the unit) you still have to make the test before doing so, and have to keep it in range of said Synapse creature to remain being not subject to Instinctive Behaviour if you fail.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 14:13:07
Subject: Re:Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
Instinct Behavior test should be taken before the movement phase. So IMO, even if a Synapse Creature Deep Strike in synapse range of another unit, if this unit has failed its I.B test it must follow its instinct for this turn.
|
Abyssus abyssum invocat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 14:30:27
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Even though the codex says a "unit that is within synapse range is not subject to the Instinctive Behavior rule ..."?
If you're not subject to the rule, why are you applying the rule?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 17:02:24
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As above, and as someone else mentioned about going to ground and getting back up when synpase moves into range so you want to take the benefit of being in synapse and the benefit of rage when you wasnt in synapse?
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 17:06:15
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
And once again GW's rules are pretty much messed up. Best as I can tell, RAW the critter who was not in synapse until I deepstruck a Trygon next to it still has to test. But the result doesn't matter as after that monent he's in synapse and so all the IB rules don't apply.
You'd think they can do better...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 17:07:19
Subject: Re:Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
To resume, the interrogation seems to be that if a unit begin a turn following its I.B, can it change it by entering in a synapse zone turn during the same turn.
|
Abyssus abyssum invocat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 17:13:49
Subject: Re:Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
meecham63 wrote:To resume, the interrogation seems to be that if a unit begin a turn following its I.B, can it change it by entering in a synapse zone turn during the same turn.
Who have we been Interrogating for the answer to this question  ?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 19:14:14
Subject: Re:Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Grey Knight Psionic Stormraven Pilot
|
meecham63 wrote:
To resume, the interrogation seems to be that if a unit begin a turn following its I.B, can it change it by entering in a synapse zone turn during the same turn.
Who have we been Interrogating for the answer to this question ?
If you have a clear answer to this question, then you will answer many questions of this post.
|
Abyssus abyssum invocat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 03:45:36
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Baktru wrote:And once again GW's rules are pretty much messed up. Best as I can tell, RAW the critter who was not in synapse until I deepstruck a Trygon next to it still has to test. But the result doesn't matter as after that monent he's in synapse and so all the IB rules don't apply.
You'd think they can do better...
It still matters if you failed because if you moved out of Synapse range or the Synapse creature died you'd revert back to Instinctive Behaviour.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 06:01:37
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
PrinceRaven wrote:Baktru wrote:And once again GW's rules are pretty much messed up. Best as I can tell, RAW the critter who was not in synapse until I deepstruck a Trygon next to it still has to test. But the result doesn't matter as after that monent he's in synapse and so all the IB rules don't apply.
You'd think they can do better...
It still matters if you failed because if you moved out of Synapse range or the Synapse creature died you'd revert back to Instinctive Behaviour.
Never seen it applied that way, probably becuase to much book keeping.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/19 06:01:10
Subject: Re:Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Synapse says "A unit that is within synapes range is not subject to the Instinctive Behavior rule (see below) and gains fearless..."
First off it is fearless regardless of IB while in range as that is clearly separate from the IB bit. As for being effected by IB, Synapse rather specifically states they are not. For any IB rule to overrule Synapse an any way it would have to specifically state in some fashion that synapse cannot overrule or that it cannot be overruled. As it does not, there is zero reason for IB to effect a Nid while it is in Synapse range. You do however make the test if it did not start in range as per the rule because you are not at that time within Synapse range. If the model is within range by the time you get around to moving it, IB will not effect its move. Same for shooting, running, charging, etc but you must stay withing range or it's back to IB (if you failed the test).
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/19 08:55:09
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Would it be possible for a Unit of Hormagaunts to fail their IB Test. Assualt a unit and then pile in to have one of them within 12" or 18" of a Synapse or Swarmlord?
That way they get rage on the charge and when they have done all the attacks, they are Fearless and not subject to IB anymore?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/19 09:20:13
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes as each test is taken and assuming perfect conditions meets the requirements
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/19 09:29:15
Subject: Instinctive Behaviour, Rage and moving into Synapse
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Bloodhorror wrote:Would it be possible for a Unit of Hormagaunts to fail their IB Test. Assualt a unit and then pile in to have one of them within 12" or 18" of a Synapse or Swarmlord?
That way they get rage on the charge and when they have done all the attacks, they are Fearless and not subject to IB anymore?
Possible, but I doubt you'd be able to take advantage of that very often, and it's a risky tactic to try since it requires leaving leadership 6 Hormagaunts outside Synapse range for at least a turn.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
|