Switch Theme:

Warlord Must be Deployed?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





So I was playing a game the other day and was told that my Warlord could not be held in reserve with unit. He stated that the warlord has to always be deployed on the table at the start of the game. I shrugged it off and went with it to move the game along; however, I could not find this rule in the BRB for either IC, Deployment, or Reserves.

Was this a 5th ed rule that disappeared in 6th or does it truly exist in 6th and I just am not seeing it? Can I have my warlord deployed in reserves (as an example a Necron Overlord attached to Deathmarks in a Night Scythe) or does the warlord have to be on the table?
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

There's nothing to support that interpretation as far as I know.

   
Made in us
Old Sourpuss






Lakewood, Ohio

Unholyllama wrote:
So I was playing a game the other day and was told that my Warlord could not be held in reserve with unit. He stated that the warlord has to always be deployed on the table at the start of the game. I shrugged it off and went with it to move the game along; however, I could not find this rule in the BRB for either IC, Deployment, or Reserves.

Was this a 5th ed rule that disappeared in 6th or does it truly exist in 6th and I just am not seeing it? Can I have my warlord deployed in reserves (as an example a Necron Overlord attached to Deathmarks in a Night Scythe) or does the warlord have to be on the table?


It's not a 5th ed rule that disappeared in 6th, as we didn't have Warlords in 5th ed . It could be things relating to abilities of your warlord in which he must be on the table for them to work. If I remember correctly, an instance of this is the Hive Tyrant's Hive Commander ability which requires him to be on the board. BUT it's been a long while since I've even looked at my Nid codex so I could be (and probably am) wrong

DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics 
   
Made in nl
Brainy Zoanthrope





The hive Tyrants ability actualy says he needs to be alive, it doesn't tell us annything about having to be on the table.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Ok. So ultimately - my friend was wrong and the warlord can be held in reserve if I so choose.

Good to know. Thanks!
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Some traits affect how he arrives from outflank/deep strike, why would those exist if he can't be in reserve.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: