Switch Theme:

Ordinance barrage question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Game rules questions: Ordinance barrage

If a wave serpent "jinks" does an ordinance barrage ignore its cover save?

The ordinance barrage says nothing about gaining the "ignores cover" special rule, it simply says "when determining if a model gets cover..."

The Jink is given regardless of direction of the shots.

Am I off base here in my interpretation of the rules?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






There is a sub-forum called "You Make Da Call", which is where you'll get most response for a rules question.

Barrage does not totally negate Cover saves unless it is part of the weapon's rules. It circumvents many cover saves but not those given by: Area Terrain, Jink, Stealth / Shrouded, Wargear (Such as the Ork Kustom Force Field).

Ordnance has no additional bearing on cover saves.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Moved to YMDC.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Nebekkennezzer wrote:
Game rules questions: Ordinance barrage

If a wave serpent "jinks" does an ordinance barrage ignore its cover save?

The ordinance barrage says nothing about gaining the "ignores cover" special rule, it simply says "when determining if a model gets cover..."

The Jink is given regardless of direction of the shots.

Am I off base here in my interpretation of the rules?


Barrage uses where the shot lands to determine LOS-based cover. So if the weapon dos not have the Ignore Cover special rule, you still get non-LOS-based cover.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in kr
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Barrage itself does not ignore cover. It ignores most line of sight based covers (i.e. ruins) depending on where the blast lands but self-generated ones like stealth, shrouded, exhaust cloud, or jink are not removed.

However a lot of the barrage weapons that are actually used have ignores cover anyway. If it says ignores cover, it removes ALL cover including the previously mentioned self-generated cover saves (and area terrain)

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: