Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 16:37:03
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Something just seems bit wrong here.
he deployss havoc next to a building with 4 las cannon out in the open and 6 guys inside the building with no los and slightly forward. I drop a blast template and fully cover the 4 las cannons...yet he removes the guys from inside the building because their ever so slightly closer.
He was also trying to give them cover saves...but didn't after a long argument..because the guys who got hit outside were wide open.
Is he doing this wrong or just exploiting a rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 16:42:33
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
tanker19 wrote:Something just seems bit wrong here.
he deployss havoc next to a building with 4 las cannon out in the open and 6 guys inside the building with no los and slightly forward. I drop a blast template and fully cover the 4 las cannons...yet he removes the guys from inside the building because their ever so slightly closer.
He was also trying to give them cover saves...but didn't after a long argument..because the guys who got hit outside were wide open.
Is he doing this wrong or just exploiting a rule?
He can't partially embark a unit. If the guys inside are part of the same unit, he's breaking a rule.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 16:43:12
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
WA, USA
|
What blast weapon were you using?
|
Ouze wrote:
Afterward, Curran killed a guy in the parking lot with a trident.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 16:44:33
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
tanker19 wrote:Something just seems bit wrong here.
he deployss havoc next to a building with 4 las cannon out in the open and 6 guys inside the building with no los and slightly forward. I drop a blast template and fully cover the 4 las cannons...yet he removes the guys from inside the building because their ever so slightly closer.
He was also trying to give them cover saves...but didn't after a long argument..because the guys who got hit outside were wide open.
Is he doing this wrong or just exploiting a rule?
When you say "inside" the building, do you mean on the battlements, or embarked inside like a transport?
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 16:50:14
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It was ruins...windows on side but solid wall facing me.
i was using ectoplasma cannon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 16:52:26
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
tanker19 wrote:It was ruins...windows on side but solid wall facing me.
i was using ectoplasma cannon.
Ruins aren't buildings, it's an important distinction to make!
In any case, did your firer have LOS to the ones in the ruin?
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 16:53:24
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Then its fine as long as the unit firing had LOS to all the models taking saves and being removed.
What you could have done was focus fire 5+ meaning he can only assign wounds to models with 5 plus or worse cover save.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 16:58:53
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Actually..there was no los to the models he was removing. They were slightly forward so since they were closer. The only models with los were the 4 las cannons. He was saying the wounds come out of the unit not per model...so he had the 4 guys exposed outside and 6 inside the ruins slightly forward to be his casualty list.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 16:59:40
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
I know that it's possible for blast weapon wounds to be allocated to models with no LOS, but I don't remember the specifics. Maybe it's only barrage? Anyway, focus fire is a foolproof method to avoid such shenanigans in the future. He can only take the wounds on enemies below a cover save of your choice (you could name 5+, 6+, or no save in this situation and all would only hit the guys in the open). The only downside to focus fire is that any wounds left over once the guys in the open are dead will be lost.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 17:04:00
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
tanker19 wrote:Actually..there was no los to the models he was removing. They were slightly forward so since they were closer. The only models with los were the 4 las cannons. He was saying the wounds come out of the unit not per model...so he had the 4 guys exposed outside and 6 inside the ruins slightly forward to be his casualty list.
In that case he did it wrong. Only models within LOS (and range?) can have wounds allocated to them, with the exception of blasts that scatter.
BRB p.16:
OUT OF SIGHT
If no models in the firing unit can see a particular model, then
Wounds cannot be allocated to it, and must be instead allocated
to the nearest visible model in the target unit. If there are no
visible models in the target unit, all remaining Wounds
in the pool are lost and the shooting attack ends.
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 17:14:21
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
The models removed have to be both the closest, as well as being in line of sight. Models outside LOS cannot be killed.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 17:16:31
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
BRB FAQ Pg.1 wrote:Page 33 – Blast & Large Blast, Line of Sight
Add to the end of the final paragraph:“Rememberto keep the
wounds inflicted by weapons with the Blast specialrule in their
own wound pool, and that wounds from this pool can be
allocated to the closest model in the target unit even if it is out
of sight of any models from the attacking unit”.
You should have declared focusfire.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 17:16:56
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Maybe he just thought you were playing 5th edition?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 17:21:14
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
In 5e, he would have been completely correctly. I used to use the same tactic myself to get good cover saves. Maybe, like a lot of us, he's reverting to old rules stuck in his memory.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 17:25:11
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
If they where the closest models they would take wounds, as the FAQ allows blasts to ignore the LOS restriction, but if the proper focusfire is declared models within/behind cover can'r be allocated wounds for a whole different reason thus eliminating the guys who are just standing there looking squishy.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 17:31:22
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Stabbin' Skarboy
|
tanker19 wrote:Something just seems bit wrong here.
he deployss havoc next to a building with 4 las cannon out in the open and 6 guys inside the building with no los and slightly forward. I drop a blast template and fully cover the 4 las cannons...yet he removes the guys from inside the building because their ever so slightly closer.
He was also trying to give them cover saves...but didn't after a long argument..because the guys who got hit outside were wide open.
Is he doing this wrong or just exploiting a rule?
The chaos play is correct is he not? As blasts can scatter out of LOS they ignore LOS wound allocation. The closes models to the firer are struck by non barrage blast weapons, reguardless of who was under the template, and if they are in cover/out of LOS.
You could have declared focus fire on the ones outside of cover then there would be no issue.
Or alternativly use barrage blasts to 'snipe' the important parts out of units.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/07/23 17:36:51
3500pts 1500pts 2500pts 4500pts 3500pts 2000pts 2000pts plus several small AOS armies |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 18:00:16
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Did the OP ever state the blast marker scattered? Don't muddle the discussion.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 18:06:16
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Dozer Blades wrote:Did the OP ever state the blast marker scattered? Don't muddle the discussion.
After the FAQ blast wounds always ignore LoS.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/23 18:06:33
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 19:37:37
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
It did not scatter...a direct hit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/23 19:40:45
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Pretty much this.
HoverBoy wrote:BRB FAQ Pg.1 wrote:Page 33 – Blast & Large Blast, Line of Sight
Add to the end of the final paragraph:“Rememberto keep the
wounds inflicted by weapons with the Blast specialrule in their
own wound pool, and that wounds from this pool can be
allocated to the closest model in the target unit even if it is out
of sight of any models from the attacking unit”.
You should have declared focusfire. Automatically Appended Next Post: Dozer Blades wrote:Did the OP ever state the blast marker scattered? Don't muddle the discussion.
Does it matter if it scattered? The FAQ doesn't seem to think so.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/23 19:41:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 11:22:40
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Don't we have to say what level a blast is hitting ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 11:26:29
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
I read it, as if they where all on ground level.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 12:31:04
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
It appears that the other guy was removing casualties correctly, per the BRB FAQ.
Your ectoplasma cannon could of course only target models to which it has LOS, but blast-wounds are allocated to the model in the target unit closest to the firing unit even without LOS.
That's one of those intuitive changes we have to get used to in 6th edition, I'll have to remember it now!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 15:33:28
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Drew_Riggio
|
Do those models out of LoS get a cover save?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 15:42:30
Subject: exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Are they obscured from the firing model by more than 25%?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/24 16:40:56
Subject: Re:exploiting a rule or being done wrong?
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
United States
|
Check the FAQ: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3170233a_40K_RULEBOOK_v1.4_APRIL13.pdf Last line of first page. And they were in ruins, and if they were IN ruins yes. The 25% doesn't matter until they aren't in area terrain.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/24 16:42:47
Chaos. Good News |
|
 |
 |
|