Switch Theme:

Could you help me with some assault queries please?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Watford, England

So a monstrous creature charges through terrain.
What initiative is it? I think 1 but then there's move through cover.
A hovering flying monstrous creature assaults a team on a skyshield.
Do you roll 2 dice or 3 for distance?
Multiple assault: 2 units lose combat one by 1 wound the other by 2. Do you combine these to make a generic 3 or do each separately?
Falling back and sweeping: say they both fail.
Does 1 sweep kill both or do they staggered fall back and one gets away because the other unit is still locked in?
A squad of Firewarriors is charged by 2 units in the same turn. do they both get affected by the defensive grenades or only 1?

Some things came up in a game recently and i honestly couldn't find the rules in the book.
   
Made in ca
Rampaging Carnifex




West Coast, Canada

I, too, am curious. The only one I am confident on is the MC initiative one, it is 1.

   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator




Massachusetts

Ones I can answer ...

Attacks at initiative 1, MTC doesn't affect the drop in initiative.

Assault: Unit 1 loses combat by 2, unit 2 loses by 1, total loss is by 3. Losing squads roll morale against losing by 3. Only sweeping advance if all losing squads fall back. If one does, and the other doesn't, then no sweeping advance, the unit simply falls back as normal. If both squads fail morale, roll for sweeping advance for each squad, not once for both.

Defensive grenades: Pg. 62 Left column, bottom paragraph under the heading "Assault"

Overwhelm the enemy with an unrelenting onslaught of the hive mind.  
   
Made in kr
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Boniface wrote:
So a monstrous creature charges through terrain.
What initiative is it? I think 1 but then there's move through cover.

Moves through cover states at the end of the rule it does nothing for the charge. Only assault grenades remove the initiative penalty.

A hovering flying monstrous creature assaults a team on a skyshield.
Do you roll 2 dice or 3 for distance?
Jump Infantry, which is what he is labeled as right now, ignore height limitations when using their jump packs, however he cannot do this if he used it to move 12" in the movement phase (it also removes his Fleet on the charge if he moves 12"). This one would be how you play the terrain on top of the landing pad...we usually go if its a ruin you only induce penalties if you walk over a wall but youre fine on the elevated floors (and jump infantry dont "walk" over walls unless previous statements happen)
Short answer: 2 dice if he does not use his "Jump" packs in the movement phase, 3 otherwise.

Multiple assault: 2 units lose combat one by 1 wound the other by 2. Do you combine these to make a generic 3 or do each separately?

Multi-combats resolve as one pool. One unit lost by 1, the other 2, now a total of 3. Both units now make a leadership with the penalty of 3. Fearless ignores this though, as the unit with fearless wont leadership at all while the other unit will.

Falling back and sweeping: say they both fail.
Does 1 sweep kill both or do they staggered fall back and one gets away because the other unit is still locked in?

I had a situation with this and couldnt find anything saying you can only sweeping advance one retreating unit, which is dumb since one might be faster than the other. All retreating units are sweeping advanced, and far as i know its only 1 test not 1 per unit (could be wrong on this though). Keep in mind, if one unit stays behind there is no sweeping advance at all.

A squad of Firewarriors is charged by 2 units in the same turn. do they both get affected by the defensive grenades or only 1?

Defensive grenades happen automatically by being charged, so both would be affected.

Assault really needs to be revamped, its a bloody mess right now for how simple it technically is.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator




Massachusetts

It is indeed one test per unit that lost combat. But sweeping advance moved can only be made if all units involved in the combat fail and fall back. Then it is a separate roll for each unit. Pg. 28, left column, bottom paragraph.


Overwhelm the enemy with an unrelenting onslaught of the hive mind.  
   
Made in gb
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Watford, England

Thanks. That clears it up a bit.
   
Made in nl
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker



Somewhere around fenris

So a monstrous creature charges through terrain.
What initiative is it? I think 1 but then there's move through cover.
I1 only assault grenades boost Initiative

A hovering flying monstrous creature assaults a team on a skyshield.
Do you roll 2 dice or 3 for distance?
3 you still need to go trough difficult terain

Multiple assault: 2 units lose combat one by 1 wound the other by 2. Do you combine these to make a generic 3 or do each separately?
Falling back and sweeping: say they both fail.
Does 1 sweep kill both or do they staggered fall back and one gets away because the other unit is still locked in?
only 1 unit can be swept per victorious unit (if it is 2v2 you need to test twice if 1 unit captures the other (1v1+1v1))

A squad of Firewarriors is charged by 2 units in the same turn. do they both get affected by the defensive grenades or only 1?
defencive grenades are activated when you get charged they cannot be use when a squad is in ccw so the first squad gets grenaded and the second 1 doesnt (kinda like overwatch)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/28 21:26:32


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: