Switch Theme:

Focus Fire and armor saves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Been Around the Block




Hey,

I was reading through the focus fire rules and it talks about targeting units with different cover saves but what if the target would just use his armor save?

ie. There's a squad of 5 marines, 3 are in 5+ cover and 2 are out in the open. Let's say the 2 out in the open contain a special weapon. I open up with some AP5 shots that would grant them their normal armor save, can I still use the foucs fire rule and target the 2 without an cover save even tho they'd all get the same armor save against my shots?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/31 07:17:15


 
   
Made in fi
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor




Finland

Yes You can.

2013 Wins/Losses in Tournaments
Necrons (with various allies ): 9/3 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Focus fire has a very nice picture explaining it all on page 19 of the big rule book, and that takes extra care to state that you have permission to target units out in the open using focus fire. The way this works is fairly simple; when you announce you plan to focus your fire you need to state up to what level of cover save you are intending to ignore. Any unit in cover with a number that is equal or worse then to the value you state are able to be assigned wounds like normal. Therefore, if you state you are firing at 5+ cover saves, this means you are firing at 5+, 6+ and - cover saves as well.

As units that are out in the open get - for their cover save, so they are always capable of being hit with any focus fire declaration.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in fr
Swift Swooping Hawk






I've never thought about this usage of it, interesting!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: