Switch Theme:

Random movement and 'counts as charging'  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Gor with Big Horns



Sinnoh

A unit with Random movement is in the front arc of another unit, but can see the flank, and has been pivoted to make first contact with the flank if enough is rolled

my question is, do you have to align to the front as per the 'resolve using the normal rules for charges' on p74 of the BRB?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, as you have to charge the front. Youre in the front arc, and seeing the side isnt enough to charge it.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Oklahoma City

Yeah I misplayed this for quite a few games. I had erroneously thought that just because I could "draw a line" to the flank, that I could aim there and roll at that distance instead of distance to the front arc

makes for frustrating situation when you think you randomly moved far enough to get into flank, and then when you dual charge a target realizing youre in the front, and that you cant even get into base to base... real facepalm moment!

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/472615.page#4701031 LAND HOOOOOOO! my freeboota blog (can look me up on the-waaagh and da warpath same username)... Currently in the the midst of adventure into night goblin squig cult



hi daoc friends this is beeyawnsay c: 
   
Made in us
Crazed Savage Orc



Saginaw, MI

The rule for random movement and charging state when the random move roll distance is measure and found to make contact with a enemy unit. It is treated as a charge with the random roll as the charge distance using normal charge rules.

So if a your random unit is in the front arch of a unit and is blocked by a obstacle/unit but can see the side, it would be able to aim at the side. If it rolls high enough to make contact, it then can charge the front arch using the free wheel to get around the obstacle/unit just like a normal unit.

   
Made in gb
Gor with Big Horns



Sinnoh

Thanks for the answers.

I took a ng warboss on a giant squig, with tormentor sword.
With a view to flank charge orge characters and monsters.
but alas ASF tyrant munched it
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: