Switch Theme:

Targeting Kroxigor in Skink units in close combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






And off we go, straight quote from the new Lizardman army book:

Lizardmen army book, p. 38 wrote:Unless otherwise stated, close combat attacks can only target Kroxigor within a mixed unit if an enemy model is either in base contact with a Kroxigor, or if an enemy model is in base contact with a Skink who is in turn in base contact with a Kroxigor.


So: A Skink Cohort led by 4 Skink Heroes, backed up by two Kroxigor behind the heroes in the second rank.

A) The enemy can only target KROXIGOR, leaving the heroes safe to do their thing (Savage Beasted, presumambly)
B) The enemy can only TARGET Kroxigor, having also the choice of pasting the brave but squishy heroes in front of the lumbering giants.

I'm hoping for A, but honestly have no idea.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/03 08:57:56


 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

I read it as only / if which is similar to may not / unless, which would be B

Nite 
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





I'm in for B as this is an exception to a more general rule, the "Mixed Unit" rule. Attacking models in B2B is a general melee rule in WHFB and this specific rule from the army book does not contradict it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/03 09:41:36


   
Made in us
Ghastly Grave Guard





Cambridge, UK

What? This seems to be the easiest reading ever. You can only target a Kroxigor if you're in base contact with it, or if you're in base contact with a Skink who is also in base contact with the Kroxigor. Otherwise, you can't target the Kroxigor.

1500
500
Vampire Counts 2400
300
Circle Orboros 20 
   
Made in fi
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






I'm seeing it now.

For option A it should've said something like "you must target Kroxigor if...."

Would've been a nice image, though, the big Kroxigor shooing away the enemy while the Skinks take shelter in its shadow.

And I think the Skink Heroes can actually tank better than the Krox, because you have to individually target them
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, "can" versus "must"- if you *want* to target the krox, you can only do so if you are in base with one or in base with the skink. Means supporting attacks cannot be made against a krox in the second rank.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: