Switch Theme:

Community Daemons FAQ  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Gavin Thorpe




Hi all,

It has now been 5 months since the release of the new Daemons Codex and still no FAQ to resolve outstanding errors. I therefore list some of the immediate issues and would appreciate some sort of community review. I am well aware that this carries no official weight but it would be useful as a stand-in until GW get their act together.

Pg 26: Daemon of Slaanesh. Does the extended Run move apply to a swooping FMC?
Pg 27: Creating new units from Warpstorm results or the Portalglyph. Do created units generate psychic powers upon arrival? Do they receive any Warp Charges for that turn?
Pg 27: Creating new units from Warpstorm results or the Portalglyph. The rules state that you generate D6/2D6+3 models from a unit of your choice. Do you choose the unit before or after determining the squad size?
Pg 27: Warpstorm, First Blood. If the Warpstorm should claim the first destroyed unit of a game, does the Daemon player benefit from First Blood? If it kills both a Daemon and enemy unit in the same phase, are they considered simultaneous and thus both players gain First Blood?
Pg 38: Horrors, Precision Fire. If a unit of Horrors contains an Irridescent, can it be used to manifest Witchfire powers and thus gain Precision Fire with all shots?
Pg 40: The Burning Chariot. Less a rules question but one for the errata, is it really intended to be a static weapon? 'Relentless' is very much missing here.
Pg 57: Fiends of Slaanesh, Disrupting Song. Is this rule cumulative for being in range of multiple Fiends or are you only 'in range of a Fiend' and hence capped at -1?
Pg 58: Masque of Slaanesh, Eternal Dance. This is not stated to be a shooting attack. Can the Masque therefore Run after using it? Can she Dance to one unit but charge a different one?

Pg 62: Mutating Warpblade, Warp Mutation. The rules do not specify a phase and only relate to 'the bearer'. Can it therefore create Spawn from a Vector Strike or shooting attack?
Pg 63: Disc of Tzeentch, Armoured Steed. A model on a Disc changes its unit type to Jetbike. This would therefore include the 'Arnorued Steed' rule and conder +1 Toughness?
Pg 64: Icons of Chaos. The Icon rules do not specify that they must be on the table at the start of the turn to function. If a unit arrives from Reserves carrying an Icon, can subsequent units land nearby and prevent any scatter?
Pg 65: Grimoire of True Names, Forewarning. Forewarning provides a 4+ Invulnerable. Grimoire provides a +2 bonus to Invul saves. Do these stack to provide a 2++ or do Saves follow the normal rules for modifiers, with the 4++ being a 'set value' and overriding any modifiers?
Pg 66: Weapons of Tzeentch. The hardback and digital versions conflict over which of Tzeentch's weapons are available as Lesser or Greater rewards. Which of the 2 is correct?
Pg 66: Unbreakable Hide, Warpforged Armour. The rules for Rewards state that duplicate results must be rerolled. Since both items are identical, do models with WFA that roll UH qualify for a reroll?

WarOne wrote:
At the very peak of his power, Mat Ward stood at the top echelons of the GW hierarchy, second only to Satan in terms of personal power within the company.
 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

I'll give it a go, and I believe I'm using Strict RAW

Page 26: The Extended Run move is applied to a swooping FMC because he is performing a "run action"

Page 27: Technically RAW the units do not generate psychic powers but do generate warp charges

Page 27: RAW there is no answer to this. It's how you play it. HIWPI is after the roll you pick the unit

Page 27: If the warpstorm kills an enemy unit, the daemon player receives first blood. Here's the quote on First Blood:
The first unit, of any kind, to be removed as a casualty
during the game is worth 1 Victory Point to the opposing
player at the end of the game.

So if both an enemy unit and a friendly unit are removed from the warpstorm, both you and your opponent receive first blood. If your unit dies, your enemy receives first blood. If their unit dies, you receive first blood

Page 38: I believe that these shots wouldn't be precision because the character is not the one who is directly manifesting the power. The quote on Brotherhood of Sorcerers states that you may use the leadership of the character but nowhere does it state that he manifests the psychic powers. It also states that he takes the perils first.

Page 40: Yeah this is dumb but RAW is he can't move and shoot. Again Dumb... I think it was an error they overlooked when they wrote the codex, because even in the white dwarf when they were playing a test game, the Burning Chariot moves and then shoots at full BS (I'm Assuming)

Page 57: ATM, with the rule worded the way it is, I believe it stacks upon itself with other fiends.

Page 58: Again, ATM, this is not a shooting attack, so you are able to run. It just states "Pick a unit within 12"..."

Page 62: I understand with the way this is worded it doesn't specify whether or not it has to be in CC, but I do not believe you benefit from the special rule unless using the weapon. So when he is shooting or vector-striking, he doesn't actually use the Weapon and therefore doesn't benefit from the rule. This rule I would say would be up for debate though

Page 63: Yeah, following the rules RAW, the toughness of the Herald riding a disc goes up to T4

Page 64: ATM, you can chain deepstrike off of icons. I don't think they intended this, but the way it is worded makes no mention of starting on the board or not.

Page 65: They probably didn't intend this, but yes you can get a 2++ with forewarning, and even make it re-rollable with tzeentch daemons and the Dark Blessing Gift

Page 66: I would go with the Hardback Copy, as that was put out first. That's the best i got... So it could be up for argue

Page 66: Unbreakable Hide and Warpforged Armour are not the same Daemonic Gifts, even though they follow the same rules, so you wouldn't re-roll this RAW




I think most of these questions can be answered RAW, and i did my best. Some of the rules that came up were not intended, but it's just the way they were written.



   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Pg 62: Mutating Warpblade, Warp Mutation. The rules do not specify a phase and only relate to 'the bearer'. Can it therefore create Spawn from a Vector Strike or shooting attack?

This relates to the Blade of Blood's Bloodlust, which also says, "The bearer of the Blade of Blood has the Rampage special rule."

The BRB says that a model with two Melee weapons "cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons" (p51). The special rules listed in the "Type" of a weapon are the abilities of that weapon.

However, these two weapons refer to the "bearer," while other weapons on the same page say, "a model that suffers an unsaved Wound from this weapon," and, "if [a model] loses its last Wound to a close combat attack from a Staff of Change," clearly indicating that the Wound must come from THAT weapon, and not merely from the model owning that weapon.

I think that allowing Warpdoom to take effect for anything not in Close Combat is a bit much. But I also think it's ok to allow Rampage to a model who isn't wielding the BoB but still has it on his person.
Why doesn't Warp Mutation say, "...slays an enemy IN CLOSE COMBAT"? Why doesn't BoB say, "If the model uses this weapon in that assault phase"?

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Quite good answers from Pancho, but the warp storm table one, I roll for opponents units first then mine if needed, its the first unit to be removed as a casulty so rolling for his and resolving his first means his are dying first. For reference the rule where if two things happen at the same time the player whos turn it is decides the order.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Gavin Thorpe




Many thanks for the responses so far.

MarkyMark, I am not so sure that this is the correct way to play it. Ultimately it depends on whether the Warpstorm is simultaneous and hits everyone at the same time, or if you proceed from one unit to the next and resolve each one individually. I would have thought they were occurring at the same time and thus award First Blood to both players, but then this just highlights why we need an actual FAQ.

My own thoughts on the more controversial ones:

Warpstorm: I would think it is all resolved at the same time and thus FB to both players.
Warpblade: RAW, applies to Vectors and Shooting. However the precedent for these weapons generally gets errataed to require wielding and thus I would play it combat-only.
Fiends: The rules do not say -1 for each, they say -1 if you are in range. While I would love it to be cumulative I do not believe it is.
Icons: Precedent says they have to be on the table to start with but this has also been printed in words every time. This is not the case here and I like the chaining units. I would play it to work from reserves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/06 10:52:13


WarOne wrote:
At the very peak of his power, Mat Ward stood at the top echelons of the GW hierarchy, second only to Satan in terms of personal power within the company.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Mozzamanx wrote:
Many thanks for the responses so far.

MarkyMark, I am not so sure that this is the correct way to play it. Ultimately it depends on whether the Warpstorm is simultaneous and hits everyone at the same time, or if you proceed from one unit to the next and resolve each one individually. I would have thought they were occurring at the same time and thus award First Blood to both players, but then this just highlights why we need an actual FAQ.


IF it is at the same time, then the player whos turn is it decides what to resolve first,as per the rule book, first unit removed is first blood.

As to the fiends, it says -1 leadership when within range of A fiend, you will notice with other rules like this (i.e burning chariot of tzeentch) it says one or more, fiends do not say this so yes 2 fiends it is minus 2 to leadership 3 is -3 etc.

Also check the Dark angels teleport homer, it is stated it needs to be on the table, the icon does not, therefore you can use it whether it was on board start of turn or not.


The last two are RAW based on what has been written. But they are are the preceedents you need to look for, 6th edition rules that are same effect but have specfic permission/exculsions

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/06 10:55:58


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: