Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/06 13:44:28
Subject: More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Cruel Corsair
Raiding the settlements of an inferior race
|
I know there's been a lot of discussion on Eldar's Illic Nightspear and what he can and can't do with his ability but (and admittedly I haven't trawled through the tons of discussion) I don't think this question has been covered.
Can Illic infiltrate another unit THAT HAS INFILTRATE to like 1" away from the enemy. So, if I was to deploy Illic with a unit of Striking Scorpions, could they deploy 1" from the enemy? And could I add Karandras to that unit?
Hope you can help
|
Dark Elves Rule!
Dark Elves - 4000pts
Chaos - 1500pts
Eldar - 1000pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/06 15:14:40
Subject: Re:More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
I see nothing in Walker of the Hidden Path that would suggest it is passed onto a unit joined by Illic.
IC's can only join units before the game begins in two ways:
1) By being deployed in coherency,
2) By being declared to be joined to a unit in Reserves.
So at the time you would be attempting to deploy the Infiltrating unit, within 12" of the enemy is not a valid deployment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/07 20:20:04
Subject: More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Cruel Corsair
Raiding the settlements of an inferior race
|
Well my take on all those long threads was that Illic couldn't infiltrate a unit of say Wraithguard, because when you decide that Illic is infiltrating, you lose the ability to join the Wraithguard. But if you decide that both Illic and the Striking Scorpions are infiltrating they could join up in 'infiltrating limbo' so to speak.
I might be wrong but that's how I saw it, lol
|
Dark Elves Rule!
Dark Elves - 4000pts
Chaos - 1500pts
Eldar - 1000pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/07 20:37:17
Subject: Re:More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
I believe some people House-Rule around the timing issue I mentioned, as characters like Captain Shrike imply being able to share Infiltrate before deployment.
The points below are just me being pedantic and going off on a tangent, feel free to ignore them:
The Infiltrate rule (page 38, BRB) doesn't actually allow you not to use it ("are deployed last", not "may deploy last"), although there are suggestions later in the book that that isn't RAI.
Additionally, the prohibition is for IC's without Infiltrate joining units with Infiltrate (last sentence of the rule) rather than the other way round. So Illic can indeed join Wraithguard so you can reserve them for Outflanking shenanigans (Muahahaha)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/07 21:54:42
Subject: More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sorry Druchii, you're wrong. There is no "infiltration limbo" - see Quanar's first post for the actual rules.
The same problem that applies to Wraithguard applies to Striking Scorpions in this case - for Illic to join them with infiltration they have to be already deployed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/08 01:24:48
Subject: More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Clarence wrote:
The same problem that applies to Wraithguard applies to Striking Scorpions in this case - for Illic to join them with infiltration they have to be already deployed.
Except that Scorpions HAVE Infiltrate, meaning that they are held back and placed last, at the same time Illic is placed. If the two units are placed in coherency, then they become a single unit.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/08 01:31:47
Subject: More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Clarence wrote:
The same problem that applies to Wraithguard applies to Striking Scorpions in this case - for Illic to join them with infiltration they have to be already deployed.
Except that Scorpions HAVE Infiltrate, meaning that they are held back and placed last, at the same time Illic is placed. If the two units are placed in coherency, then they become a single unit.
While true, that still wouldn't let them take advantage of Illic's Walker special rule. Either they'd be deployed first, in which case they'd have to be an appropriate distance from enemies, or Illic is deployed first in which case they can't deploy close enough to join him.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/08 06:06:18
Subject: More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Clarence, though, wasn't talking about Illic's special case--his comment seemed to be more about Infiltrating in general.
I agree that, at this point in time, the only model who can Infiltrate closer than 12/18" is Illic.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/08 06:52:25
Subject: More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Clarence, though, wasn't talking about Illic's special case--his comment seemed to be more about Infiltrating in general.
I agree that, at this point in time, the only model who can Infiltrate closer than 12/18" is Illic.
Nope, his comments were in reference to Druchii's, which are themselves in reference to deploying within 12" of an enemy. Specifically the absence of an "Infiltrator's Limbo" in which to join the Scorpions. The same problem with deploying Illic and Scorpions vs. Illic and Wratihguard within 12" applies, to deploy with them they must already be deployed which means they won't be in the 12" area because they themselves don't have permission. For the Wraithguard because they don't have Infiltrate, for the Scorpions because they only have normal Infiltrate and not suicidal snowflake Infiltrate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/08 14:12:33
Subject: Re:More Illic Shenanigans Questions
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
Oregon
|
It doesn't matter anyway, because even if they could join prior to deploying during infiltration, there's nothing in the rule itself to imply that it confers to other units.
Note that the method through which pathfinders join him is not infiltration.
There are no Illic shenanigans.
|
|
 |
 |
|