Switch Theme:

Jaws from a Drop Pod?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Major




Fortress of Solitude

Can you cast JoTWW in the same turn the RP comes from a drop pod?

I ask this because of a passage in the BRB about casting psychic powers from reserve.

Celesticon 2013 Warhammer 40k Tournament- Best General
Sydney August 2014 Warhammer 40k Tournament-Best General 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Is JotWW used at the start of the turn? If so, you cannot use it.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Major




Fortress of Solitude

 Happyjew wrote:
Is JotWW used at the start of the turn? If so, you cannot use it.


Ahhhh, thanks.

Celesticon 2013 Warhammer 40k Tournament- Best General
Sydney August 2014 Warhammer 40k Tournament-Best General 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




It's a witchfire attack, you can use it whenever you want to.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Errrr... not strictly true. You have to use it in the Shooting phase. I presume what you meant was, nothing like arriving from Reserves, Deep-striking or otherwise will prevent you from firing it.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





Nothing funnier than a RP stepping out of a drop pod and casting jaws on a Riptide aaaaand it's gone.
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Had a buddy at ATC this past weekend have two DPs with RP land at each end of his line of advancing Wraiths (12) with a Destroyer Lord. He Denied the Witch!! lol

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/13 12:40:05


"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Scouting Gnoblar Trapper



Maryland

 Super Ready wrote:
Errrr... not strictly true. You have to use it in the Shooting phase. I presume what you meant was, nothing like arriving from Reserves, Deep-striking or otherwise will prevent you from firing it.


I thought if a model arrives from deepstrike/reserves they can't generate warp charges that turn since they missed the opportunity too.
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

Ailideon wrote:
 Super Ready wrote:
Errrr... not strictly true. You have to use it in the Shooting phase. I presume what you meant was, nothing like arriving from Reserves, Deep-striking or otherwise will prevent you from firing it.


I thought if a model arrives from deepstrike/reserves they can't generate warp charges that turn since they missed the opportunity too.

I don't have my book in front of me, but wouldn't this be one of those cases where two 'At the start of the turn / phase' things happen at the same time? If so the player whose turn it is can pick the order of execution. So he could have units arrive from reserve, then generate Warp Charges.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

I'm not sure about the order - but from memory, there's nothing about generating Warp Charges that requires you to be on the board. You just can't actually use them because all the powers that would then use those Warp Charges would need line of sight, range, targeting or whatever other measurement. Force weapons also require you to land an Attack, so you have to be in combat first.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

BRB says that you cannot cast start of turn powers if coming in from reserves, that's it.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





As to warp charges, it is not something you must do at the start of the turn, it is something that automatically happens so no being in reserve does not prevent this.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in dk
I'll Be Back



Denmark

 SlaveToDorkness wrote:
BRB says that you cannot cast start of movement phase specific powers if coming in from reserves, that's it.


Fixed your BRB text. Pg. 67, second paragraph

Yes, you can use the power when you get out of the drop pod. It is a psychic shooting attack and counts as a shooting, which is allowed when you get out of a drop pod.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/15 11:22:28


 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Start of turn IS start of Movement.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: