Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 22:58:17
Subject: Ripplefire query
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
If a riptide uses the generator the effect lasts until its next movement phase.
If it chooses ripplefire can I shoot it's secondary weapon twice if intercepting?
I ask because someone suggested it can only shoot twice in the shooting phase.
What do you guys think?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 00:23:10
Subject: Ripplefire query
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Does the weapon gain the rule or the model?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 00:58:28
Subject: Re:Ripplefire query
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ripple fire only lets you shoot that weapon twice on your own turn.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 05:19:31
Subject: Ripplefire query
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
I dont see anything that limits it to the Tau shooting phase.
The generator says the effect lasts until the next movement phase.
Though the "ripple fire" entry says "this turn", nothing specifies that its player turn and not game turn.
Its one of those situations where it would hae been helpful if GW had used "Rounds" for game turns, and turn for player turns....
RaW I would say you could overwatch or intercept with Ripple Fire.
RaI I could see it going either way,
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 07:02:39
Subject: Ripplefire query
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
"This turn" IS player turn, unless specified otherwise. No double overwatching or intercepting for the Riptide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 07:12:36
Subject: Re:Ripplefire query
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Yes you can shoot twice with overwatch/interceptor fire by RAW. The nova reactor effect grants the Riptide the text in the appropriate entry. So, on your turn it has "may fire twice this turn", and on your opponent's turn it has "may fire twice this turn".
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 07:33:17
Subject: Ripplefire query
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Steel - unless specified otherwise, turn means player turn. Page 2 or 3, from memory
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 07:39:40
Subject: Re:Ripplefire query
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Peregrine wrote:Yes you can shoot twice with overwatch/interceptor fire by RAW. The nova reactor effect grants the Riptide the text in the appropriate entry. So, on your turn it has "may fire twice this turn", and on your opponent's turn it has "may fire twice this turn". It clearly says you twice this turn after you have done a nova charge roll at the the beginning of his movement phase yes it will last until the start of the next turn but if you ignore the context of the rule (in that you have to nova charge beginning of his movement phase to be able to select a option, this option then says for this turn) thats the only way you could RAW argue that you can fire twice in your opponents turn
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/19 07:42:42
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
|