Did you guys know
such a thing exists? Vader apparently used this TIE/
sa variant to board the Tantive IV. The TIE bomber was actually originally designed as a boarding vessel for A New Hope! I'm thinking it could be great for scenario play ... not sure what to cost it at, however.
TIE Boarding Craft Cutlass Squadron Pilot
3 3 2 6 0 Action Bar: Focus, Board
Special: The TIE Boarding Craft is only equipped with a secondary weapon, the Hull Cutter, which can only be used in conjunction with the Board action.
Maneuver Dial
1: backward (red), forward (green), bank (white)
2: forward (green), bank (green), turn (red)
3: forward (green), bank (white), turn (white)
4: forward (white)
New Action: Board May only take this action when the forward arc of the TIE Boarding Craft is moved into base contact with a target ship with a larger base than the TIE Boarding Craft. The TIE Boarding Craft takes an immediate attack on the target ship and the target ship defends as usual.
For target ships with Medium Bases: If any critical hits are not canceled, the TIE Boarding Craft is considered attached and the player controlling the TIE Boarding Craft gains control of the target ship BUT the target ship (1) may only take green maneuvers, (2) cannot take actions, and (3) cannot attack. Additionally, the TIE Boarding Craft must move along with the target ship, remaining in the base contact while attached. Place one counter on the TIE Boarding Craft card for every attack phase it remains attached to the target ship.
The TIE Boarding Craft may detach from the target ship on any subsequent movement phase by using the 1 Backward maneuver. The Rebel player immediately regains control over the target ship. If there are at least two counters on the TIE Boarding Craft card, the TIE Boarding Craft gains the
Rebel Captive card at no cost and one unique character upgrade (of the Imperial player's choice) is removed from the target ship.
This could include pilots, but the rules for that would be scenario-specific. For example, let's say the scenario called for an attack on the Millennium Falcon piloted by Han and Chewbacca. The Imperial mission objective is to capture Han Solo. Let's say the Imperial player accomplished that as per the rules above. Chewie would then take over piloting the Falcon and the Rebel player would switch out the Han base card for the Chewie one.
No more than 5 tokens can be accumulated on the TIE Boarding Craft card. If a Rebel Captive is successfully taken, the target ship takes a critical damage card for each token on the TIE Boarding Craft card in excess of 2 at the beginning of the following attack phase.
The TIE Boarding Craft can be attacked while attached (by either player). If it is destroyed while attached, the target ship immediately takes as many critical damage cards as counters accumulated on the TIE Boarding Craft card. The player who originally controlled the target ship regains control at the beginning of the following movement phase.
For target ships with Large Bases: This would be scenario-specific with assigned boarding and defense values. The Storm Trooper squad carried by a TIE Boarding Craft might have a boarding value of 4. The Rebels Troopers aboard a
CR-90 have a defense value of 3. So, after the TIE Boarding Vehicle successfully attaches to the
CR-90, there is a special combat phase after the movement phase but before the standard combat phase where the Storm Trooper squad gets to attack the Rebel Troopers. If any damage is not cancelled, the Rebel Trooper's defense value is lowered by one. If all the damage is canceled, the Storm Trooper's boarding value is lowered by one. If the Rebels are reduced to zero, the Imperials take control of the
CR-90 and win. If the Storm Troopers are reduced to zero, the TIE Boarding Craft that delivered them is removed from the game. The
CR-90 may move and fire as normal during the action.
Of course, the possible variations on this are myriad. You can easily imagine a mission to capture Princess Leia or maybe Darth Vader personally leading a boarding action -- or both as per A New Hope!