Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 21:32:42
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserve be targeted by spells
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Or, which happens first, psychic powers or arriving from reserve?
Can war walkers outflank, then be the target for guide?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 21:37:29
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserve be targeted by spells
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
They all happen at the same time so the owning player chooses order (per the faq). As such a unit can come in and have powers cast on them. They may not cast start of turn powers though.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 21:48:36
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserve be targeted by spells
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Happyjew wrote:They all happen at the same time so the owning player chooses order (per the faq). As such a unit can come in and have powers cast on them. They may not cast start of turn powers though.
Which FAQ? I just looked over the BRB FAQ and could not see this scenario mentioned?
I know some people argue there is no "start of turn" prior to the "start of the movement phase"; however, if you presume "start of turn" is prior to "start of movement phase" effects, then reserves would come in prior to casting any blessings on them (which happens at the start of movement). Along those lines, Start of Turn effects (like Necron's Nemesor's Zahndrek's Special Abilities) would happen the same time as reserves coming on and thus the controlling player would have the option of what order to choose.
So until I see the FAQ that clarifies such, it boils down to a HIWPI scenario of if there's a "start of turn" prior to the movement phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 21:53:56
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserve be targeted by spells
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Norway
|
Page 7 of the BRB FAQ which also states that this is clarified in the rulebook itself on page 9.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/19 21:54:40
Evolve, overcome, consume. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 21:55:06
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserve be targeted by spells
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There is no prior to movement phase; start of turn IS start of movement phase
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occursimultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what orderthese things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 21:56:29
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserve be targeted by spells
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Windir83 wrote:Page 7 of the BRB FAQ which also states that this is clarified in the rulebook itself on page 9.
Yeap....completely missed it when I was reading over it. Thanks for the clarification!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 22:16:08
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserve be targeted by spells
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:There is no prior to movement phase; start of turn IS start of movement phase
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occursimultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what orderthese things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
Are we equating rolling for reserves with them arriving on the table? In my mind there's a difference between the two, since in general we roll all are reserves first and then come on to the table second, leaving us with either:
Roll for reserves
Roll for powers
models enter from reserve
"normal" movement
or
Roll for powers
Roll for reserves (so if you had that Divination power that modifies reserves you can use it now)
models enter from reserve
"normal" movement
it's the presence of the word "roll" in the FAQ that's got me thinking
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 23:04:39
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserve be targeted by spells
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They have to be at the same time. This is due to the wording in Outflank.
If you consider that arriving from reserves is AFTER the start of the turn, then you break the rules. The only option is that this is the start of the turn still.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 01:53:21
Subject: Can a unit arriving from reserve be targeted by spells
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
As per the rules for reserves, units arriving from reserve make their move onto the board before you can move any units already on the board. This means that their movement occurred at the start of the turn/Movement phase.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|