Switch Theme:

Can a Flyer claim/deny objectives?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Can a Flyer claim objectives during the Scouring?

Can one deny objectives or get linebreaker.

I had a disagreement with a player on this as I thought they couldn't, but I couldn't find support for it in the rulebook

Fire claws innocents without number
As charred cinders replace green life
Death takes good and evil to their slumber
And guilt stabs into me with its knife 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






In the Scouring and Big Guns Don't Tire, non-troops selections are permitted to become scoring units. It even specifically calls out vehicles. The trick would be to get your flyer positioned properly to occupy an objective.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Aye, as above.
It's not easy getting to within 3" of an objective when your vehicle's Hull is 5" above the table.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Also remember that on flyers (and skimmers too) you measure just about everything to the hull, not the base. So if you want a flyer to be scoring an objective (in the appropriate mission) you need to get the objective within 3" of the actual model (which is hard when the model is 6" off the ground)
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






So put objectives on top of tall terrain if your playing one of those missions

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton




I thought you couldn't place objectives on top of ruins & buildings (which would make up a majority of the tall terrain on a board) ?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




tallguynsc wrote:
I thought you couldn't place objectives on top of ruins & buildings (which would make up a majority of the tall terrain on a board) ?


I've often seen this as a house rule (objectives must be on ground floor), but I don't think its in the BRB
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






jcress410 wrote:
tallguynsc wrote:
I thought you couldn't place objectives on top of ruins & buildings (which would make up a majority of the tall terrain on a board) ?


I've often seen this as a house rule (objectives must be on ground floor), but I don't think its in the BRB


.No objective can be placed in or on impassible terrain,buildings or fortifications. BRB p.121

So multilevel ruins would be okay.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Fedral wrote:
Can a Flyer claim objectives during the Scouring?


Only if it can get within 3" measured from the hull and is a FA vehicle.

Can one deny objectives

In the Scouring FA vehicles are scoring, but not denial. AFAIK most people houserule it that in the Scouring/BGNT, vehicles that are scoring are denial as well.

or get linebreaker.


Does it meet requirements specified for Linebreaker?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Happyjew wrote:
Does it meet requirements specified for Linebreaker?


I realise you probably know the answer to this already... but just in case. Linebreaker concentrates on scoring/denial units, it pays no attention to unit type or FOC. So in other words - only in FA for The Scouring, or HS for Big Guns Never Tire, and in these two cases being a vehicle is irrelevant. In all other cases, being a vehicle stops you even if it's Troops.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/21 23:08:06


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Firebase Zulu

Hrm Intersting. At my store and one other store I played a small tourney at an objective was considered a straight column that has infinite height and depth. All you have to do is get within 3 inches straight horizontal distance to claim/contest an object. This keeps someone from putting all their objectives on levels 2+ of multi level ruins and denying your biker army the ability to contest/hold his objectives.
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Linebreaker is an easy one... if the flyer has its base wholly within the enemy's deployment zone at the end of the game in a Scouring mission, it can achieve the extra point because it's a Scoring unit in the Scouring.

The Flyer rules say for all situations of measurement use the hull, aside from embarking/disembarking passengers and assault purposes. And I noticed in the Skimmer section it says you're not supposed to remove the flying base unless its a Wreck (that's for Skimmers but a good precedent). So no removing the tall base for entering Hover Mode. It would seem that if the model must be within 3" of the objective to score it then a Zooming Flyer would not be able to get the objective. I guess a 2nd good question is does the base count as part of the model? Then it would be a different story.

The way we play it at tournaments down here is if the Flyer goes into Hover mode it can score an objective in the Scouring, but RAW I'm not sure that is actually do-able.

But vehicles are never Denial units.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Miri wrote:
Hrm Intersting. At my store and one other store I played a small tourney at an objective was considered a straight column that has infinite height and depth. All you have to do is get within 3 inches straight horizontal distance to claim/contest an object. This keeps someone from putting all their objectives on levels 2+ of multi level ruins and denying your biker army the ability to contest/hold his objectives.

Horrible rule, as that nerfs a defence against biker armies.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Specifically the Necron Night Scythe as a dedicated transport is that a FA or HS ?

Ans as such for line breaker the unit would count as a scoring unit in certain mission types if it is classified as one or the other?

I don't believe it can deny or score an objective though...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




bodazoka wrote:
Specifically the Necron Night Scythe as a dedicated transport is that a FA or HS ?

Read the rules for dedicated transports and what "slot" they take up - it depends on the unit that bought it. A DT for a Troops unit counts as a "Troops" vehicle, one bought for heavy support counts as a "heavy" vehicle, and so on

bodazoka wrote:Ans as such for line breaker the unit would count as a scoring unit in certain mission types if it is classified as one or the other?

See above

bodazoka wrote:I don't believe it can deny or score an objective though...

50% incorrect - it becomes a scoring unit, as specified in the missions, but cannot deny, as it does not become a denial unit
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Don't you need to be within 3" of the objective though?

And a NS is not within that range?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Depends where the objective is. Place it on the 2nd floor of some ruins and the NS can easily be within range
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: