| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 18:26:58
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
|
Hello Everyone!
I just came into possession of 5 Grey Hunter Space Wolves Squads and 5 drop pods for each of them. I have heard people fawn over the (potentially) game changing versatility this thing has. I will be honest, I have never used one before. I have seen the rules both in the codex and the rule book on both drop pods specifically and the Deep Striking special rule. With that in mind, I still have some questions about drop pods the books do not seem to answer:
1) Does the "Deep Strike Mishap' rule apply to drop pods? I only ask this because drop pods apparently have the 'Inertial guidance system' rule which seems to take care of it, but what if it scatters off the table?
2) Do I still need to roll for reserve deployment or is the deployment of the drop pods automatic, the half first turn, one less the second, etc.?
3) Warning, n00b question: Just to clarify, Deep striking can be absolutely anywhere on the battlefield once the game has started, correct?
Thanks everybody!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 18:30:41
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Implacable Skitarii
US
|
1.) The only time they will mishap is if they scatter off the table.
2.)The first turn half of the drop pods come in automatically, after that, you roll for reserves.
3.) Yes.
|
"Let my brothers practise their swordplay. They can finish off whoever is left."
— Purgator Rocht Kavanar
Chi Rho Brotherhood 2.5k
Hive Fleet Setekh 5k
Deimos Skitarii Maniple 400 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 18:57:40
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
|
Thank ya, much!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 19:15:19
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
c0j1r0 wrote:1.) The only time they will mishap is if they scatter off the table.
I thought they could also mishap if you place them on dangerous terrain and then fail to scatter because the rule states something like 'if they scatter onto dangerous terrain...' (single quote used to signify that I am not actually quoting the rule as I do not have any of my books here).
Nevermind, I'm foolish, that just results in dangerous terrain tests, not misshaps.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/22 19:40:55
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 19:49:13
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
If you place the pod too close to an enemy model or in impassible terrain and you do not scatter you will also mishap.
Also if you land in a Warp Quake you will mishap.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 22:33:08
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
DeathReaper wrote:If you place the pod too close to an enemy model or in impassible terrain and you do not scatter you will also mishap.
Also if you land in a Warp Quake you will mishap.
No as the closest to an enemy model you can bring it in is 1 inch. The initial placing has to be a legal landing and the inertial guidance SR states if it lands in a mishap position (other than off the table) it will scatter plus or minus the min distance required to not mishap
Though I dont know how warp quake works so cant comment on that
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/22 22:36:16
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 23:02:49
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Can you show me what rule says the initial placing must be a legal landing?
I've heard lots of people say that but I've never seen the rule.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 23:07:34
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Akademee wrote: I have heard people fawn over the (potentially) game changing versatility this thing has. I will be honest, I have never used one before.
The game changing item is the 4, yes, 4 Rune Priests you can take (page 81 Codex: SW) , each with JoWW, and then each having another different psy-power than the other 3 clowns. Drop this 4 douche-bag combo down on turn 1, (one RP in each of the first two pods, plus a pair in that 3rd Drop Pod) and you'll be losing 40k buddies left and right!
Just always measure thirteen inches from the edge of the table before placing.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 23:10:11
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
ou cannot purposefully ever place your units in peril. Templates etc so placing your unit in a position where if it doesn't scatter is an auto mishap follows the same logic
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 23:10:50
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
wargamer1985 wrote:ou cannot purposefully ever place your units in peril. Templates etc so placing your unit in a position where if it doesn't scatter is an auto mishap follows the same logic
Citation needed because I have not found any rules that say that.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/22 23:11:14
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 23:11:13
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
wargamer1985 wrote:ou cannot purposefully ever place your units in peril. Templates etc so placing your unit in a position where if it doesn't scatter is an auto mishap follows the same logic
But no rules citation?
Because there are rules preventing templates and blasts being placed on your own units.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/22 23:54:17
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Actually if you reread what I put I used the logic of the templates/blasts which states you cannot place them intentionally covering your own models as the logicial argument.
But since you want a rules citation we shall use the base rule of movement which is what deep strike arrival counts as hence you cannot make another move except to run after arrival. Baserule being not allowed to move within 1" of an enemy model unless engaging in cqb. Are ypu placing impact point within 1" of enemy model before scatter? Yes? Then you can provide citation to PROOVE you are allowed to do so
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 00:11:02
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
wargamer1985 wrote:Actually if you reread what I put I used the logic of the templates/blasts which states you cannot place them intentionally covering your own models as the logicial argument.
But since you want a rules citation we shall use the base rule of movement which is what deep strike arrival counts as hence you cannot make another move except to run after arrival. Baserule being not allowed to move within 1" of an enemy model unless engaging in cqb. Are ypu placing impact point within 1" of enemy model before scatter? Yes? Then you can provide citation to PROOVE you are allowed to do so
That only covers enemy models.
Choosing impassable terrain would also cause mishap.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 00:20:55
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Ok lets use actual proper plain old straight up logic
Why the jheck would you want to place a unit in a position where IF you dont scatter you mishap automatically n thus could outright kill or have you opponent position the unit so it is useless for the rest of the game? Automatically Appended Next Post: grendel083 wrote:wargamer1985 wrote:Actually if you reread what I put I used the logic of the templates/blasts which states you cannot place them intentionally covering your own models as the logicial argument.
But since you want a rules citation we shall use the base rule of movement which is what deep strike arrival counts as hence you cannot make another move except to run after arrival. Baserule being not allowed to move within 1" of an enemy model unless engaging in cqb. Are ypu placing impact point within 1" of enemy model before scatter? Yes? Then you can provide citation to PROOVE you are allowed to do so
That only covers enemy models.
Choosing impassable terrain would also cause mishap.
And again the same logic on movement applies to impassable terrain. You cant move in it ypu can't attemp a landing in it intentionally
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/23 00:23:46
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 00:24:13
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
wargamer1985 wrote:Actually if you reread what I put I used the logic of the templates/blasts which states you cannot place them intentionally covering your own models as the logicial argument.
But since you want a rules citation we shall use the base rule of movement which is what deep strike arrival counts as hence you cannot make another move except to run after arrival. Baserule being not allowed to move within 1" of an enemy model unless engaging in cqb. Are ypu placing impact point within 1" of enemy model before scatter? Yes? Then you can provide citation to PROOVE you are allowed to do so
It counts as movement but is not bound by the same restrictions as movement. If they did, you would not ever mishap by scattering onto an enemy unit.
The deep strike rules explain that you pick a point on the battlefield. I pick the middle of your unit.
Nothing in the deep strike rules denies this.
Thank you for admitting there's no rules basis for your statement. Automatically Appended Next Post: wargamer1985 wrote:Ok lets use actual proper plain old straight up logic
Why the jheck would you want to place a unit in a position where IF you dont scatter you mishap automatically n thus could outright kill or have you opponent position the unit so it is useless for the rest of the game?
Mawloc.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/23 00:24:54
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 07:57:19
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Wargamer - you have explicit allowance to place the DS model anywhere on the table.
Please find a rule restricting that allowance. Bear in mind this i placement, not movement. Only when you arrive do you count as having moved.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 11:49:43
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
while there isn't a specific rule stating you cannot place DS units onto impassable terrain, it is implied in the terrain rules on P90 of the BRB.
that being said if the DP happens to scatter onto the terrain it moves the shortest distance to not land on it but it doesn't state that if it should 'land' on it you move it so you would mishap. you will have to work quite hard and very stupidly for a DP to mishap.
also you cannot place models within 1" of each other which would still apply to models DS in.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 12:15:36
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Page 90 covers movement. Again, read up on the Mawloc FAQ.....
Lastly - you cannot MOVE to within 1". Placement is NOT movement. If you disagree, find a rule....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 13:50:02
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh
|
Space Wolf Codex, pg.47, Special Rules, Drop Pod Assault: Drop Pods always enter play using the Deep Strike rules from the Mission Special Rules section of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
WH40k Rulebook, pg.36, Deep Strike, Arriving by Deep Strike, first bullet paragraph: First, place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position where you would like it to arrive, and roll for scatter...
WH40k Rulebook, pg.6, Scatter, first and third bullet points: Place the object on the battlefield as instructed by the rule.
If a Hit! is rolled on the scatter dice, the object does not move - leave it in place and resolve the remainder of the rule.
Space Wolf codex, pg. 47, Special Rules, Inertial Guidance System: Should a Drop Pod SCATTER on top of impassible terrain or another model (friend or foe!) then REDUCE the SCATTER distance by the minimum required in order to avoid the obstacle.
In conclusion, using the above rules references, it would seem clear that while you are allowed to place the model anywhere you would like, you are only allowed to use the rules for Inertial Guidance in the event that the Drop Pod scatters. Also, there is NO mention WHAT SO EVER that you may increase the distance scattered to avoid the obstacle, only that you may REDUCE the amount. There is also no mention that you may MOVE the Drop Pod at all if a Hit! is rolled on the scatter.
This leads to the conclusion that the initial placement of the Drop Pod does not need to be a legal final position for the pod, but that you WILL roll on the mishap table for landing on friends\foes\impassable terrain.
The rules support the initial position being a legal final position for model placement, and that in the event of a scatter, you can be assured of at least that initial "safe" position. However, they also allow for an illegal final position to be chosen as an initial position, and should one scatter enough to clear the obstacle and finish over safe landing, then no issue is raised. Even if the final position scattered to is into another obstacle, so long as some safe point exists between the final position and the initial position, the Drop Pod can safely land without rolling. If your initial and final position are the same (a Hit! is rolled), then you are rolling on the mishap table RAW.
I would stress, though, that the rules do state to place the object on the battlefield. I dare anyone to try and place one of their models directly on top of their opponents and see how it turns out for you.
If anyone has a rules reference that explicitly states you may increase the scatter distance OR move the Drop Pod if a Hit! is rolled on the scatter dice, or that it is perfectly OK to place your model on the battlefield on top of your opponents, please list them.
Edit: Edited for grammar and clarification.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/23 13:52:24
----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 13:53:22
Subject: Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Right - you can place on top of another unit (or less than 1" away) and mishap if you hit. Which is exactly what was said.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 21:14:53
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
As a total side note for the person who asked about why you'd ever do this, I've placed Drop Pods on the very corner of the table in order to scatter off and mishap. (I hadn't ever thought of placing them directly over enemies...) With the new 6th edition mishap table, I've got a 50/50 chance of delaying my pod coming in, which is what I wanted. That's the only reason I could think of. Hope that helps.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/23 22:47:48
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/24 05:46:32
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Rules?
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
|
I do wish you could squish enemy units with a drop pod landing :(
Thanks for the feedback everybody
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|