Switch Theme:

Can Eldar cast out of transports?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





Brisbane

I'm probably a little bit late but can Eldar cast out of transports now because their new FAQ doesn't have the old restriction?

 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan




In the Casualty section of a Blood Bowl dugout

Eldar are no exception to the rule, it doesn't say so anywhere (at least that I'm aware of). So this generally means they can't, unless you ally with Dark Eldar and have a caster in an open-topped vehicle.

DT:90S+++G++MB++IPwhfb06#+++D+A+++/eWD309R+T(T)DM+

9th Age Fantasy Rules

 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar






You can only bless yourself/own unit, I believe. Unless like the previous poster said, you're in an open-topped vehicle.


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

All psychic powers in 6th edition require LOS (unless otherwise specified). If a psyker is embarked on a transport (regardless of type) then blessings/maledictions can only be cast on the psyker, his unit, or his transport. Witchfire powers can be used against units outside of a transport as long as there is an available Fire Point.

The reason that question is no longer in the FAQ, is that Eldar do not have any powers that do not require LOS.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

 The Shadow wrote:
Eldar are no exception to the rule, it doesn't say so anywhere (at least that I'm aware of). So this generally means they can't, unless you ally with Dark Eldar and have a caster in an open-topped vehicle.

Pretty sure allies cannot embark in allied transports, even Battle Brothers.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Andilus Greatsword wrote:
 The Shadow wrote:
Eldar are no exception to the rule, it doesn't say so anywhere (at least that I'm aware of). So this generally means they can't, unless you ally with Dark Eldar and have a caster in an open-topped vehicle.

Pretty sure allies cannot embark in allied transports, even Battle Brothers.


I'm not going to get into it here, but it has been argued back and forth with no clear consensus on YMDC a few times. That being said, I think most of the people who argue you can (myself included) do not play it that way.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





Brisbane

Oh sorry I should have been more clear. I meant blessings as I wanted to know if it was legal to have a Warlock in a Waveserpent with some Guardians cast Conceal so with Holofields + Jink they would have a 2+ Coversave.

I'm the only one who plays Psyker heavy races (Eldar, Nids, Daemons) in my gaming group so no one else is that sure on their rules.

Cheers.

 
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

Except you can't cast Conceal on the Wave Serpent. The wording for Conceal is fairly clear this is not allowed.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The OP may be having the same confusion others have ha d- in thinking that an embarked unit and the transport are the same unit. They are not. As such Conceal can NEVER work on the vehicle.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: