Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 09:49:08
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
Grandmaster Mordrak gets to Deep Strike Turn 1 with no chance of scatter. If I loaded him onto a Land Raider, could the Land Raider Deep Strike while he was on board?
|
There's no kill like overkill. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 10:04:36
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
The LR does not have the ability to deep strike, so no.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 10:22:32
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Stormravens have deepstrike though
Stormravens do not have Deep Strike.
Sorry, just checked normal codex not FAQ
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/26 10:36:37
~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 10:29:04
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Mordrak and his unit (I think) have this ability. Their transport is not his unit and would not be affected.
Stormravens do not have Deep Strike.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 13:24:00
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
To be be more specific, Mordrak and any unit he accompanies may arrive from reserves via deep strike on turn 1 without scatter. Nowhere in the wording of Mordrak's special rule is this ability limited to just his unit, which could very well be applied to his Stormraven transport and the accompanying embarked Dreadnought ... that is unil GW removed Deep Strike from Stormravens (the only GK transport with Deep Strike). As of the current FAQ, Mordrak's ability is confined to the models attached him, e.c., his Ghost Knights and any attacked IC that already has Deep Strike (such as any of the TDA wearing ICs in the GK codex). If there exists in the game a Deep Striking transport that Mordrak can legitamently embark upon while in deep strike reserve, that transport and any units embarked with Mordrak could legally arrive on turn 1 without scatter.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 13:32:25
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:Nowhere in the wording of Mordrak's special rule is this ability limited to just his unit, which could very well be applied to his Stormraven transport and the accompanying embarked Dreadnought
Apart from them being separate units. Being embarked on doesn't make them the same unit.
If you're claiming "accompany" allows it, you could claim the whole army "accompanies" the character. That's not even going to slightly work.
If there exists in the game a Deep Striking transport that Mordrak can legitamently embark upon while in deep strike reserve, that transport and any units embarked with Mordrak could legally arrive on turn 1 without scatter.
The transport isn't part of his unit. That is most definitely against the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 13:54:49
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
The FAQ says no to stormraven or any other flying vehicle. It doesn't say anything about other transports.
|
~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 15:04:00
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
DOOMONYOU wrote:The FAQ says no to stormraven or any other flying vehicle. It doesn't say anything about other transports.
But the rule itself says no transports.
Mordrak has to accompany the unit to DS with the the first turn. Accompany, in this case, can only mean attached to. He is never attached to a transport vehicle...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 16:09:41
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
DeathReaper wrote:DOOMONYOU wrote:The FAQ says no to stormraven or any other flying vehicle. It doesn't say anything about other transports.
But the rule itself says no transports.
Mordrak has to accompany the unit to DS with the the first turn. Accompany, in this case, can only mean attached to. He is never attached to a transport vehicle...
Citation and page number, please.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 16:17:52
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
we're going with the common usage of the word accompany, because accompany is not defined in the BRB.
Does the common usage of accompany include "joined" as part of the definition?
Accompany does mean joined which has a specific meaning in 40k. You can ignore that all you want, but that doesn't make you right no matter how many words you type trying to prove otherwise.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 16:21:58
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
So, you are stating that an embark unit does accompany the transport the unit is embarked upon?
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 16:24:48
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:So, you are stating that an embark unit does accompany the transport the unit is embarked upon?
SJ
No, an embarked unit does not accompany the transport it's embarked on.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 16:27:05
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
Mordrak is not an independent character therefore the only "units" that may deep strike with him are ghost knights and an independent character.
So one could toss a libby in there and use the summoning, vehicles can be summoned so long as they have warp stabilization
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 17:03:18
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:So, you are stating that an embark unit does accompany the transport the unit is embarked upon?
SJ
No, as Mordrak is never joined to the transport.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 21:18:20
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I don't think any vehicle in the Grey knight codex that carries riders has the deep strike rule. So the argument is moot. He comes in turn 1 out in the open.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/26 22:21:43
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
I'm...agreeing with Deathreaper? My whole world has turned upside down...I may need to lie down for a bit.
In all seriousness though, you cannot put Mordrak on a vehicle and then Deep Strike it with no scatter. Even if the vehicle had Deep Strike. The rule very clearly applies to the unit he's joined to, which is not and can never be (under the current rules) a vehicle.
Now, I'm going to need to take myself out to the garden for a quiet cup of tea while I ponder today's bizarre turn of events...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 07:42:52
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Honestly, this has popped up before. Jeffersonian persists that DakkaDakka is a haven of bad arguments and rules lawyering, but then insists upon his sole interpretation of a single word to wholly support the flawed ideal of characters "accompanying" vehicles and such. This was already debated to death in this thread: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/495665.page
And if Jeffersonian wants to dispute my claims, here is his post, page 2 "Dakka-daka has gone down hill as a source of good rule debating. This is not the first thread peeps on this forum have gone decidedly against a legal combination (as based on rule as written).
Mordark embarked on a transport is in fact "accompanying" the transport. Rules-wise, the two models are co-located. If the transport had firing ports, Mordrak could legally shoot his Stormbolter from that firing port. If Mordrak was not accompanying the transport, then he would not be able to legally fire his weapon from the port.
If a Strike Squad is embarked on a transport, we measure their Warp Quake from the hull of the vehicle. If the Strike Squad was not legally accompanying the transport, we would not be able to use Warp Quake at all while embarked.
These are to examples of units accompanying a transport. As such, if we follow Mordrak's First to the Frey special rule, all the is required is for Morkrak and every unit he is accompanying to be designated as deep striking. That's it. Mordrak in a Stormraven that are designated as deep striking will, by the rules as written, arrive on turn 1 without scatter. This is legal because the rules make it legal.
Debating what the word "accompany" means is a debating technique to disregard an argument by focuing on a word rather than the actual issue.
SJ "
Don't blindly trust another to give you answers to your questions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 08:04:19
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
The definition of 'accompanies' is irrelevant. As has been stated before, the point is moot, as currently no GK Transport Vehicles have Deep Strike.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 11:42:48
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Utilizing Careful Highlighting
|
This whole argument is null as Mordrak isn't an independent character, he can ONLY join his ghost knights.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 13:23:08
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
EagleArk wrote:This whole argument is null as Mordrak isn't an independent character, he can ONLY join his ghost knights.
And an IC can join that unit. So it's really not "null".
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 13:50:19
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Correct, the point is moot because there are no deep striking transports in the game Mordrak can embark upon. The question of accompanying meaning "traveling with" or "attached to" is also moot due to no deep striking transports in the game that Mordrak can embark upon. However, at no point has "accompanies" been defined in 40k to mean "attached"; there are a number of examples in the BRB under "transports" that define how units may travel together while never being attached via the Independent Character special rule.
Moot though it is, some of the arguments posted by others are incorrect as to why Mordrak's ability does not work with transports. Mordrak's ability does not work outside if his own unit and any attached ICs because there are no deep striking transports he may legally embark upon. Before deep strike was removed from Flyers, the tactic was legal (if a bit unadvised). After deep strike was removed from Flyers, the tactic became unavailable to Mordrak.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 13:55:00
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jeffersonian000 wrote: However, at no point has "accompanies" been defined in 40k to mean "attached"; there are a number of examples in the BRB under "transports" that define how units may travel together while never being attached via the Independent Character special rule.
Since "Accompany" isn't defined in the BRB we'll use the common language definition which does not mean what you think it means.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 14:29:21
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. The common use of "accompany", given the game, means joined to / atttached.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 16:53:34
Subject: Grey Knight Rule Question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:As above. The common use of "accompany", given the game, means joined to / atttached.
Exactly this.
To claim otherwise is to ignore the English language.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|