Switch Theme:

Gate of Infinity + Tervigons = assault from deepstrike?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I thought about trying to roll on Telepathy with my Tervigons when I thought about this combo.

Page 146, BRB:

"Gate of Infinity is a Blessing"
"Remove model from the table and then it immediately arrives using the rules for deepstrike."

Page 36, BRB:

"In the movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they are in one."

"In that turn's shooting phase.... and obviously count as having moved in the previous Movement phase."


Page 52, Tyranid Codex:

"A Tervigon can spawn Termagants in the Tyranid Movement phase before it has moved..."



Blessings are used at the start of the movement phase. The way I see it, at the beginning of the Tervigon's movement phase you can manifest a blessing (GoI) to teleport across the table. You can't move any further. However, you only count as having moved already during the shooting phase. Therefore, after you deep strike in you can spawn gaunts within 6", move regularly and then assault with them.

Thoughts?
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Thatguyoverthere11 wrote:

Page 36, BRB:

"In the movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they are in one."


You quoted the line that says the Tervigon has already moved. Gaunts are spawned before you move. It's no good.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/02 03:08:45


 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Deep striking is movement, so its not possible.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






The question is phrased poorly. I think op wants to know if blessings come before movement, which they do. I don't have the nids book to tell me how the gaunts spawn though :(
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Chrysis wrote:
Thatguyoverthere11 wrote:

Page 36, BRB:

"In the movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they are in one."


You quoted the line that says the Tervigon has already moved. Gaunts are spawned before you move. It's no good.


This part is often misunderstood in my opinion. A deep strike is a deployment not a move so why does it say they can't 'move any further' if they haven't moved? As I see it, this is stating that they have used up their move by deep striking, not that they have moved.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Abandon wrote:
Chrysis wrote:
Thatguyoverthere11 wrote:

Page 36, BRB:

"In the movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they are in one."


You quoted the line that says the Tervigon has already moved. Gaunts are spawned before you move. It's no good.


This part is often misunderstood in my opinion. A deep strike is a deployment not a move so why does it say they can't 'move any further' if they haven't moved? As I see it, this is stating that they have used up their move by deep striking, not that they have moved.


So I can gate and then combat squad?

Page 36, where it has the rules for deepstrike clearly says they cannot move any further, this pretty much spells it out that Deepstrike is considered a move. So you see it as they have used up their move by deepstriking, can I try that with a psyker then, just give up is move, move another unit into range of his powers then cast it?. They have given up there move after all?.



IS there any permission or rules that allow you to deploy more then once?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/09/04 09:12:04


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

MarkyMark wrote:
So I can gate and then combat squad?


No, because CS is done before deployment.

And yes, I know that that was rhetorical.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/04 11:43:49


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Sorry, while it'd be a cool loophole for us Tyranid players that tactic can't work.

Because the action of Deep striking causes said unit to act further "as if it's moved" you then also have to apply this to the Tervigon who's arriving from GoI.

Even though the blessing itself is used before the movement phase, you're not given permission to proceed through phases skipped DUE TO the blessing.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Happyjew wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
So I can gate and then combat squad?


No, because CS is done before deployment.

And yes, I know that that was rhetorical.

He was saying that if Deep Striking was deployment, you could gate and CS.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
So I can gate and then combat squad?


No, because CS is done before deployment.

And yes, I know that that was rhetorical.

He was saying that if Deep Striking was deployment, you could gate and CS.


As I understand it, Happyjew was saying that even if deepstriking was deploying it would not allow you to CS as you CS before deploying (which lets you know whether you need to deploy the models together or not).
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





... Right. And as Deep Strike would be deployment, prior to placing the minis you'd get to CS.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





So you decide to gate, and roll the dice for the psyhic test, at that current point in time is that before deployment, IF gate was deployment?. That was the point.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

rigeld2 wrote:
... Right. And as Deep Strike would be deployment, prior to placing the minis you'd get to CS.
If you look at the updated Combat Squad rules in the FAQ, it seems you split them before Deployment, as in before the game starts, the "deployment phase" so to speak, not when the unit actually deploys.
The rule explains that this is because the two units count as seperate for determining reserve limits.
If you split them when they deploy, then this is long after reserve limits are needed.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nevermind - it's irrelevant and tangential. Dropping it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/05 14:52:12


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

MarkyMark wrote:
 Abandon wrote:
Chrysis wrote:
Thatguyoverthere11 wrote:

Page 36, BRB:

"In the movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they are in one."


You quoted the line that says the Tervigon has already moved. Gaunts are spawned before you move. It's no good.


This part is often misunderstood in my opinion. A deep strike is a deployment not a move so why does it say they can't 'move any further' if they haven't moved? As I see it, this is stating that they have used up their move by deep striking, not that they have moved.


So I can gate and then combat squad?


No. There is no qualifier on 'before deployment' so it is not 'before the unit is deployed' but rather 'before the deployment phase'(as in before anything is deployed) that the squad must be split.

MarkyMark wrote:

Page 36, where it has the rules for deepstrike clearly says they cannot move any further, this pretty much spells it out that Deepstrike is considered a move. So you see it as they have used up their move by deepstriking, can I try that with a psyker then, just give up is move, move another unit into range of his powers then cast it?. They have given up there move after all?.


Did they move during the movement phase? No.
Does it say they count as having moved at that time? No.(during the subsequent shooting phase they will but we are still at the movement phase)

So what makes you say they count as having moved?

Saying they 'can't move any further' does not mean they have moved or count as such. That is just a rule saying they can't move from where they are. It's like saying place them at location X and they cannot move beyond that. Yes, I agree that is a bit of a stretch but considering that RAW does not include any movement or anything that is stated to count as moving for the unit up to that point it's the only reasoning left for their choice of words. They state that it will count as having moved during the shooting phase but that says nothing about during the movement phase.... that's my RAW opinion.

RAI, I believe they do count as having moved during movement. Every indication is there for it as if they just forgot to actually say it.

No, you cannot take a normal move with any of your units and then use a psychic power. Blessing/maledictions happen at the start of the movement phase before normal moves as it is generally played. There's some room for interpretation if you really want to debate that though as they do not exactly define the 'start of movement' very well but it's a reasonable assessment that everything that is said to happen at the start of the phase occurs before everything else.

MarkyMark wrote:

IS there any permission or rules that allow you to deploy more then once?


There is only one deployment phase. A unit though can be deployed several times if it has a rule allowing it to do so (usually by getting it into ongoing reserves).

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider






I am pretty sure there is an FAQ that states that abilities such as the Tervigon's spawn termagants have to be used before blessings, but I may have made that up in my head and I am unable to pull up the FAQs right now.

Alone in the warp. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Dannyevilguy wrote:
I am pretty sure there is an FAQ that states that abilities such as the Tervigon's spawn termagants have to be used before blessings, but I may have made that up in my head and I am unable to pull up the FAQs right now.
There's no FAQ.
However the ability must be used before it moves.
If it uses Gate then it counts as moving, so can't spawn.
If it spawns, it is now past the start of the Movement phase, so can't gate.
There's just no way to use both in the same turn.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: