Poll |
 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 07:32:38
Subject: Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I can really only think of two examples, though there are likely more;
Dual-Boneswords (tyranids): Roll 3d6 on leadership, fail and insta-death.
Mind Shackle Scarabs (Necrons): Roll 3d6 on leadership, fail and hit your own unit.
So far, I've always played it that you add the 3d6 together to determine the result. However, looking through the rule book and reading the descriptions of the two items, I can't find where it actually says that's what you're supposed to do.
Given that the rules Do state that on such checks, a roll of two 1's is always successful, it makes me wonder if you would then have to get three 1's, or if just two is still enough. I mean, a gaunt could roll 8 (higher than his leadership) but still roll two 1's. Would that auto-pass, or would it fail?
NOTE: The Poll is for stating your opinion. I would appreciate it if other answers to the question sighted the book it is found in, and the page number.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 07:40:05
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Kovnik
|
Codex>BRB
Imo there is no point in advocating your opinion. The rules are very clear in this aspect. MSS are mean, live with it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 07:41:55
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
tommse wrote:Codex>BRB
Imo there is no point in advocating your opinion. The rules are very clear in this aspect. MSS are mean, live with it
Codex would not matter in this case as there are no rules for rolling ld tests, be it on 3d6 or 2d6.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 07:54:36
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Neither of the rules I've seen for this say to drop any of the three dice, so I always assumed you added all three together.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 08:09:53
Subject: Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
Page 5 (Modifying Dice Rolls) gives you the definitive answer regarding your main question.
'Insane Heroism!' (page 29) states that a roll of double 1 on the 2D6 always passes. . ' Note that it specifies '2d6', so would not apply to a test on 3d6.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 08:13:08
Subject: Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Page 7 Leadership tests tells you how these work.
Normally you roll 2D6 and compare the result to the models LD
In the case of Boneswords or MSS you roll 3d6 instead and follow the same procedure as for 2D6...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 11:59:22
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
You definitely add the 3 dice together and compare them with your leadership.
Pg.5 tells you how dice rolls are modified. 3d6 are added together.
pg.7 tells you how to take leadership tests. It also tells you that the consequences on failing the test are detailed in the rule that calls for it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 12:06:02
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
I thought Insane Heroism only applied to Morale checks? All Morale checks are Leadership tests (and specified as 2D6 no less), but not all Leadership tests are Morale checks. If my memory is correct on this, there are a number of such tests that Insane Heroism won't apply to even without changing from 2D6.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 12:42:50
Subject: Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rule is clearly stated on pg 5.
You may also be told to roll a number of dice in one go, which is written as 2D6,3D6 and so on. Roll the indicated number of dice and add them together
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 12:47:29
Subject: Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yeah as posted the rules tell us what 3d6 means and there's literally NOTHING telling us to drop any dice so why on earth would we assume that was the case?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 15:09:36
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I played against MSS the other night. The necron player is a highly knowledgable 40k player. I rolled 3d6 every time, adding the results. Failed every time for leadership AND made perfect rolls when I went to attack and kill members of my own unit with....wait....wait.....a thunderhammer.
|
<--Bolt on Cuteness: S:20,No armour save, no invul save, no cover save, Range:unlimited---DEAL
Enough too have fun
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 16:54:14
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
jason1977 wrote:I played against MSS the other night. The necron player is a highly knowledgable 40k player. I rolled 3d6 every time, adding the results. Failed every time for leadership AND made perfect rolls when I went to attack and kill members of my own unit with....wait....wait.....a thunderhammer.
Same guy got shackled every time? I thought you randomized which one had to take the test each round. Or did they just all have Hammers?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 17:31:16
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Jimsolo wrote:Same guy got shackled every time? I thought you randomized which one had to take the test each round. Or did they just all have Hammers?
If it was a character with a TH, then if they are in a challenge, he's the only option that counts as being in base contact ( MSS randomizes between enemies in BTB).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 18:58:53
Subject: Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
you add all 3, otherwise these attacks based on 3D6 leaderships would almost never work against LD9/10 units (which theres a saddenly large number of).
The whole any leadership of double 1s wouldnt apply ...technically...but if you rolled 2 1s i think you just passed unless something was murdering your LD and you rolled a 6 on that 3rd die lol
|
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/02 23:31:00
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Just double-checked it, and I was correct - Insane Heroism only applies to MORALE checks. So rolling double or even triple ones doesn't automatically help against general Leadership tests (mind you - if that's how you've rolled then most of the time you'll have passed anyway).
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/03 03:07:11
Subject: Re:Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
I'm worried that 4 out of 77 people can't even figure out a rule this basic.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/03 04:40:25
Subject: Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
There are always going to people who vote for the underdog, or the contrary option just for the sake of being contrary, especially under the veil of the anonymous internet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/03 04:52:11
Subject: Leadership on 3d6; How's it work?
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
Dark Angels has a warlord trait that makes you roll and additional dice and discard the highest when making leadership checks.
So my answer is depends on the working on a specifc rule, in general though, 3D6 always adds the 3 dice together
|
|
 |
 |
|