Switch Theme:

Can veil of darkness Crypteks be interceptored.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Mutated Chosen Chaos Marine





*bursts though room with axe* HEEEAAARRRS JHONNY!!!

Ok so as the title says I was wondering if a Cryptek or a unit that comes that is with the Veil Cryptek once it re-emerges on the table could it be intercepted? as it says in the entry that they arrive just like they had just DS.

Cheers to all comments .

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/03 18:19:57


Night Lords (40k): 3500pts
Klan Zaw Klan: 4000pts

 Grey Templar wrote:

Orks don't hate, they just love. Love to fight everyone.


Whatever you use.. It's Cheesy, broken and OP  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Interceptor is used against units that arrived from reserves. Did the Veiltek and his unit arrive from Reserves?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Mutated Chosen Chaos Marine





*bursts though room with axe* HEEEAAARRRS JHONNY!!!

This is what I was confused about, it says that when the Veiltek re-emerges it arrives from as if it has just Deep struck, but that also means that it came on from reserves even if it was on the board first turn, as to DS you need to be in reserves first, so as it ran though my head it looked like a big teleporting T-junction.

here is what I think may happen:

Veiltek teleports>goes into reserve>Arrives in selected destination, all within one turn.

However Im being told that it does not work this way, which sort of confused me, as I do not understand how it does not work that way, so any help is appreciated .

Night Lords (40k): 3500pts
Klan Zaw Klan: 4000pts

 Grey Templar wrote:

Orks don't hate, they just love. Love to fight everyone.


Whatever you use.. It's Cheesy, broken and OP  
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut





As far as I am aware using the veil Immediatly removes them from the field AND then deep strikes them. Its not LIKE deepstriking the wording says it IS deep striking. So I can only conclude that it does infact temporarily place them in ongoing reserves.

Edit: Codex necrons, pg - 84 "The Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediatly deep strike back onto the battlefield."

So like i said. It is actually deep striking after beeing removed from the tabletop.

BRB - pg 38 - At the end of the enemy Movement phase a weapon with the Interceptor special rule can be fired at any one unit that has arrived from reserve within its range and line of sight.

However very crucially, It does NOT follow the rules for beeing placed into ongoing reserves as i thought. And there is no rule that says you can only deep strike after comming from reserves. SO I am going to assume that it works like the Summoning and you may NOT infact shoot them with interceptor. I'm going to check the BRB faq now to see if this is adressed.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/03 18:42:16


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Except you are not coming in from reserves since they did not start off the table. They are on the able they are taken off and they are placed back down using the rules for Deep Strike.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Furthermore, if they were placed in Ongoing Reserves, they would have to wait until the following turn to come in.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/03 18:39:57


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut





I agree Happyjew, I was still looking up things and edited my post according to what i found (and came to the same conclusion.)
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

As has been said, when they are on the table and use it to move, you can't intercept. However, feel free to intercept if they use it to move onto the table from normal reserves.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





HIWPI

I interpret the rules as they cannot be intercepted - unless they mishap into ongoing reserve. Since it never says they are placed into reserve temporarily, they cannot be intercepted; however, a mishap of 4+ puts them into ongoing reserve in which case they would they be eligible for being intercepted the following turn.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





There is nothing specific in the deepstrike rules that states models must be (or are) put into any kind of reserves before being placed on the table. Now models that are in reserves can be placed via the deepstrike rules and there are provisions for that found in those rules. However, there is nothing preventing a model on the table from using that same rule if the situation warrants.

Ergo, unless the veiling unit actually came in from reserves rather than simply being placed on the table as per the deepstrike rules? Interceptor will not work on them.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/04 17:41:27


 
   
Made in gb
Mutated Chosen Chaos Marine





*bursts though room with axe* HEEEAAARRRS JHONNY!!!

Ok thanks everyone

Night Lords (40k): 3500pts
Klan Zaw Klan: 4000pts

 Grey Templar wrote:

Orks don't hate, they just love. Love to fight everyone.


Whatever you use.. It's Cheesy, broken and OP  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: