Switch Theme:

Multiple Combat Query (Beginner!)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle




UK Manchester

Still to play my maiden game but have been putting my marines and tyranids through some training drills to try and get the basics right... first real confusion is around multiple combats and the allocation of wounds, so here's the scenario...

A termagant brood successfully charges a squad of 5 marines, dragging 3 of them into base to base contact. A hormagaunt brood then charges the same squad putting the other 2 marines into bases to base contact.

So given the Initiative rule the Hormagaunts fight first, now if they were to cause 4 wounds, goes without saying that the 2 marines in base contact (assuming failed saves) would be removed as casualties, the question is regarding the other 2 wounds would they be lost or would they be allocated to the marines in base to base contact with the termagants?

Many thanks for your learned advice in advance!
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

No, the last wounds would go on the nearest models.
You don't just stop when you've killed those in base contact, you just have to allocate to those first, then the nearest, like shooting.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

When it comes to blows models have to choose between eligible units to attack. Although the Hormagaunts are only in base contact with 2 marines, the wounds would continue to be allocated to that unit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Happyjew wrote:
When it comes to blows models have to choose between eligible units to attack. Although the Hormagaunts are only in base contact with 2 marines, the wounds would continue to be allocated to that unit.


This is correct. You want page 28, "Directing Attacks". Note two things - your attacks are directed against only one unit but *per model*, so you could choose to have say two Gaunts attack unit 1 and two Gaunts attack unit 2, but you declare this before you roll *any* dice. Also, because you declare which unit you're directing attacks against first, if you manage to completely wipe out that unit and still have wounds left over, they are lost.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Scout with Sniper Rifle




UK Manchester

Thanks for the responses, think I'm clear now! So in my scenario, the hormagaunts could wipe out all 5 marines whether the marines are engaged with them or not (wounds here simply cannot be wasted until the squad is removed).

The marines however would split their attacks so could only cause wounds to the unit they allocate attacks too.

Cheers
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: