Switch Theme:

Multi Assault Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello,

So if I declare a multi assault and follow all the rules for charge moves (i.e. making sure I charge all my models that can reach b2b with the primary target and then start going for the secondary target, but within 2" coherency), and I end up in a situation where none of my models ended in b2b contact with the secondary target, is the secondary target still considered locked in close combat? Or is the secondary target free to move/shoot on the next turn?

Many thanks for the clarification!
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Since being locked in combat depends on if you have enemy models in base-to-base contact with members of your unit, no.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 B0B MaRlEy wrote:
Since being locked in combat depends on if you have enemy models in base-to-base contact with members of your unit, no.


That's what I thought, thanks for the quick response! Man this really makes it very difficult to pull off, considering you don't really know what you will be rolling for charge distance.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

You can usually line up for it in the movement phase if you're close enough. Just spread out to a line so that when you move the models on one side, they will only be able to reach models of the first unit that have already been moved into. That frees them up to charge the second unit instead, which spreading out brought them closer to.

Also worth noting - because by this point you've already declared a Disordered Charge, you *STILL* lose the +1A bonus...

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






Its worth noting that if all models of the first target unit are engaged you are free to move the rest of your models to other units (keeping coherency etc.). So when all models in the first target unit are already engaged (or if you couldnt reach the unengaged) you are free to assault secondary targets.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/07 00:24:02


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Mywik wrote:
Its worth noting that if all models of the first target unit are engaged you are free to move the rest of your models to other units (keeping coherency etc.). So when all models in the first target unit are already engaged (or if you couldnt reach the unengaged) you are free to assault secondary targets.

Just for clarity - this is only true if you have actually declared a disordered charge. If you have only declared the charge against a single unit, you're only assaulting that unit.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: