Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 02:11:51
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Just puzzled over something.
The Salamanders trait allows all characters to mastercraft one weapon.
So if I take a terminator squad that have a character (sergeant) one of his weapons can be MCed for free.
Now comes the weird part, it says in the terminator entry that for every 5 terminators any one may take a heavy weapon such as the cyclone launcher.
Thus can I give the sergeant model the cyclone and then mastercraft it?
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 02:15:43
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Is the Sergeant a Terminator or a Terminator Sergeant? Unless his name is "Terminator" he is not eligible to take upgrades for "Terminators."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 03:37:32
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Chrysis wrote:Is the Sergeant a Terminator or a Terminator Sergeant? Unless his name is "Terminator" he is not eligible to take upgrades for "Terminators." By this definition(based on Pyriel's statements) you cannot have a Heavy weapon until you have 6 members; and can never have 2. Pyriel: I do not have the new codex yet so I would need to know the new wording for the Heavies exactly, PM me with the wording on that Item and I will post an answer here.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/10 03:39:32
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 04:19:15
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
I don't have it on hand, but I'd be willing to bet that it's "For every 5 models, one Terminator may ..."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 05:07:35
Subject: Re:Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Chrysis is correct.
For every five models, one Terminator may take....
The sergeant may change to a chainfist becuase that entry states "any model".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 05:59:41
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Well Pyriel; there is your answer, no heavies for Sgts
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 08:42:22
Subject: Re:Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
On this same topic, can the Thunderfire Techmarine mastercraft a weapon?
The entry for the Thunderfire cannon lists the Techmarine as a "Techmarine Gunner" with the unit type "Artillary" -- but not as a character.
Just seems odd....
|
::1750:: Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 11:19:54
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Only Techmarines with the IC special rule are characters. And that is because they have the IC special rule.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 14:15:49
Subject: Re:Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thanks for clarifying guys.
Seems the wording is indeed made in a way that differentiates a terminator from a terminator sergeant.
Thus no heavy weapon for the sergeant but the sergeant may take a free-MC chainfist at least.
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 14:16:02
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The Techmarine Gunner is not Artillery (Character), and he seems to have lost the rule allowing him to become an IC, so there's no chance to be able to MC his Bolt Pistol, not that you'd ever want to use it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 01:58:32
Subject: Re:Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Another thing:
Could a salamanders character mastercraft his stormshield?
It says in the chapter tactics any one weapon can be MCed.
Under terminator weapon entry is listed the stormshield.
Thus a stormshield counts as a weapon.
So a HQ in terminator armour can clearly MC the shield.
Now can a normal HQ, say a chapter master that in his entry simply takes a storm shield, master craft it?
What about other squad leader characters that are able to choose a storm shield?
If this is ok then Salamander character, especially certain HQs could become real cc monsters with rerollable 3++ saves.
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 02:06:26
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds
Houston, TX
|
Why would you MC a shield, it doesn't make an attack so would not benefit from the rule.
|
DS:70S++G+MB+++I+Pw40k01#-D++++A++/mWD279R+T(D)DM+
>Three engineering students were gathered together discussing who must have designed the human body.
>One said, "It was a mechanical engineer. Just look at all the joints."
>Another said, "No, it was an electrical engineer. The nervous system has many thousands of electrical connections."
>The last one said, "No, actually it had to have been a civil engineer.
>Who else would run a toxic waste pipeline through a recreational area.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 02:06:39
Subject: Re:Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
Pyriel- wrote:Another thing:
Could a salamanders character mastercraft his stormshield?
It says in the chapter tactics any one weapon can be MCed.
Under terminator weapon entry is listed the stormshield.
Thus a stormshield counts as a weapon.
So a HQ in terminator armour can clearly MC the shield.
Now can a normal HQ, say a chapter master that in his entry simply takes a storm shield, master craft it?
What about other squad leader characters that are able to choose a storm shield?
If this is ok then Salamander character, especially certain HQs could become real cc monsters with rerollable 3++ saves.
You may wish to re-read the Master Crafted rule. . .
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 02:11:49
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Can you take a master crafted relic weapon and then master craft another ccw and get 2 're rolls?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 06:33:03
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Formosa wrote:Can you take a master crafted relic weapon and then master craft another ccw and get 2 're rolls?
You have to actually use the weapon to gain the re-roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 09:54:48
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Here's one. Can taking Brother Sgt Chronus allow you to MC the hurricane bolters or flamestorm cannons on LRR/ LRC? Unlikely but thought I'd throw it out there.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/21 09:55:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 10:06:09
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
doktor_g wrote:Here's one. Can taking Brother Sgt Chronus allow you to MC the hurricane bolters or flamestorm cannons on LRR/ LRC? Unlikely but thought I'd throw it out there.
Chronus can only benefit from UM Chapter Tactics.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/21 10:06:43
::1750:: Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 13:36:07
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Ahh. Thanks... oops. Still bummed about the Vulk nerf to vehicles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 13:58:24
Subject: Re:Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Veldrain wrote:
The sergeant may change to a chainfist becuase that entry states "any model".
No he can't because he doesn't have a powerfist to begin with.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 17:39:27
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
grendel083 wrote: Formosa wrote:Can you take a master crafted relic weapon and then master craft another ccw and get 2 're rolls?
You have to actually use the weapon to gain the re-roll.
Would you not be useing both in cc to gain +1 attack?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 17:46:32
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Formosa wrote: grendel083 wrote: Formosa wrote:Can you take a master crafted relic weapon and then master craft another ccw and get 2 're rolls?
You have to actually use the weapon to gain the re-roll.
Would you not be useing both in cc to gain +1 attack?
Nope. You're only ever attacking with one melee weapon.
See page 51 "More than one weapon"
You're attempting to " mix and match the abilities of several different weapons". Have a read of what the rule says about trying that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 18:04:11
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
doktor_g wrote:Ahh. Thanks... oops. Still bummed about the Vulk nerf to vehicles.
what Vulk nerf to vehicles?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 18:05:40
Subject: Mastercrafting for characters.
|
 |
Kelne
|
I guess he means that flamers on vehicles don't benefit from the sallies trait. Can't see what else it could be.
|
|
 |
 |
|