Switch Theme:

Can i destroy the transport in the shooting phase, and then assault the unit that was inside?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut




Hi all,

Lets assume: a squad of Grey Hunters shoots 2 meltas at a Chimera with 10 guardsmen inside. The chimera explodes and the guard is out on the table. Can I assault them in my assault phase.
Can i do it with the unit that did open the vehicle , or with any other unit?
   
Made in us
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker




San Diego, CA

I believe the rule is if the unit you shot at is completely wrecked/gone/done/dead, you can then assault a different unit. However, this is second hand and I cannot confirm nor offer source quotes to validate.



"Russ - This guy is basically werewolf Dick Cheney. No pity at all."
-Vulgar, because it was too funny not to steal 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut




Ok, but what about a unit, that destroyed a transport. Can they assault the unit that was in the transport?
   
Made in gb
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster







gausus wrote:
Ok, but what about a unit, that destroyed a transport. Can they assault the unit that was in the transport?


Yes they can

Revilers 6,000pts
Dark Eldar 4,000pts
Cadian 229 regiment 3,000pts 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut




I can't find it in the rulebook. On the other hand - i can't find a rule that says it is forbidden.
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





its in the rule book mate.

2014 Templecon/Onslaught 40k T, Best overall
2015 Templecon/Onslaught 40kGT, Best overall
2015, Nova open 40kGT Semifinalist.
2015 40k Golden Sprue Champ.
2016 Best General Portal Annual Spring 40kGT
2017 Best General, 3rd Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.
2018 Triumph 40k GT. Best Overall.
2018 Best General, 4th Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.



,  
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut




I know. I just had a discussion during the game play. My oponent said, that there isnt a rule that allows it. So i am unable to do so.
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

I believe the rule is if the unit you shot at is completely wrecked/gone/done/dead, you can then assault a different unit. However, this is second hand and I cannot confirm nor offer source quotes to validate.


This is incorrect. You are only allowed to assault the unit you shot at. The bottom of page 20 tells you that you can only assault the unit you shot at during the shooting phase.

Page 80 last paragraph under Transports and Assaults tells you that you can assault the unit inside.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut




Great. So that is settled. Thanks a lot.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Any unit that shot at the transport can assault the disembarked unit.
It isn't limited to the unit that destroys the transport.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

As all models in a single unit fire simultaneously, a squad cannot wreck a Transport and then fire at its occupants. However, if a Transport is destroyed by shooting attack, any unit that shot it that turn can, if allowed, charge the now disembarked passengers.

Page 80.
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Bristol, England

For completion's sake, you can still assault something that isn't part of the same FOC too.
Example
CSM (Troops) riding around in a Landraider (Heavy Support).

Oli: Can I be an orc?
Everyone: No.
Oli: But it fits through the doors, Look! 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

 insaniak wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Any unit that shot at the transport can assault the disembarked unit.
It isn't limited to the unit that destroys the transport.

This is incorrect.

The rule deals with one unit only. If you destroy a transport, the unit that shot it can assault the passengers. In that context, 'the unit' its the unit that fired the shot that destroyed the transport, not any unit that ever fired at the transport.

I'm sorry, but what?
the rule says it precisely saying any unit that shot the transport will be able to charge the content ,if able to.
Edit: Erm? HAve I dreamed of insaniak's post? I could quote him but I can't see it anymore ....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/14 21:20:22


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 B0B MaRlEy wrote:
 insaniak wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Any unit that shot at the transport can assault the disembarked unit.
It isn't limited to the unit that destroys the transport.

This is incorrect.

The rule deals with one unit only. If you destroy a transport, the unit that shot it can assault the passengers. In that context, 'the unit' its the unit that fired the shot that destroyed the transport, not any unit that ever fired at the transport.

I'm sorry, but what?
the rule says it precisely saying any unit that shot the transport will be able to charge the content ,if able to.
Edit: Erm? HAve I dreamed of insaniak's post? I could quote him but I can't see it anymore ....


Where did you get that quote? I didn't see Insaniak post.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

I have no idea ...
Am I going slightly mad?
It finally happened ...
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

To fast for me first thing in the morning... : D

I deleted my post after I checked the actual rule. Turns out this is another change from 5th edition that I had never picked up on. Wasn't expecting anyone to have responded to it yet.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/14 22:39:42


 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

 insaniak wrote:
To fast for me first thing in the morning... : D

I deleted my post after I checked the actual rule. Turns out this is another change from 5th edition that I had never picked up on. Want expecting anyone to have responded to it yet.

YAY my sanity survived being questionned ... this time ...
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

A quick summary in order, then, I think? Because this thread looked confusing and I know this part of the rules backwards.

1) Bottom of page 20 - if you shot at a particular unit, you're only allowed to charge that unit in that turn.
2) Page 80, last line of the first half - you're given this one single exception to point 1, that you can charge a transport's occupants if you destroyed the transport by shooting.
3) If a transport is destroyed, any *other* units you have can shoot at the unit inside if they haven't fired already and meet all the usual criteria (range, line of sight etc).
4) Any other units may assault that unit, *IF* they didn't fire at a different unit - they still have to obey point 1, unless they fired at the transport.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/15 09:47:39


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Er... Your number 3 is incorrect. There is no permission to fire at a transport once it has been destroyed. Nor would there be any point in doing so, since once the transport has been destroyed and the passengers have bailed out, other units can just shoot them instead...

 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

I think he meant the unit that popped out can be shot at.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

I did indeed. Apologies for the confusion, I've gone back and edited.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




California

So, to answer the OP with one word.... YES.

A Heretic may see the truth and seek redemption. He may be forgiven his past and will be absolved in death. A Traitor can never be forgiven. A Traitor will never find peace in this world or the next. There is nothing as wretched or as hated in all the world as a Traitor. - Cardinal Khrysdam, Instructum Absolutio  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: