Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 15:07:46
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Raleigh, NC
|
I have a big unit in cover, and my opponent shoots 4 flamers at the unit managing to only hit the same 2 models from my unit with each template. If I fail all of my saves, and no other models are within range of the template, do I only lose the two models within range? The BRB page 15, and the associated FAQ seem to say yes. Am I missing something?
BRB FAQ
Q: When making a Shooting attack against a unit, can Wounds
from the Wound Pool be allocated to models that were not within
range any of the shooting models when To Hit rolls were made (i.e.
half the targeted model are in the shooting models’ range, and half
are not)? (p15)
A: No.
|
TL : DR - Shorthand for ""Hi, I am a miserable cretin of the Internet that must be spoon-fed pictures and factoids or I will piss myself."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 15:11:34
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
You're correct - flames can only kill what they cover.
If your opponent had fired anything besides those flames you'd wound out to the maximum range of that weapon, not just the flamers.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 15:12:58
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Filthy Sanchez wrote:I have a big unit in cover, and my opponent shoots 4 flamers at the unit managing to only hit the same 2 models from my unit with each template. If I fail all of my saves, and no other models are within range of the template, do I only lose the two models within range? The BRB page 15, and the associated FAQ seem to say yes. Am I missing something?
No, you are absolutely right. But if the flamer squad fires even one weapon with longer range (a pistol even) you're in trouble even if it missed - it's still a shooting model for the purposes of the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 15:20:46
Subject: Re:Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Raleigh, NC
|
Ok, but assuming he fires 4 flamers and a bolter.
Do the flamer wounds carry over past the range of the templates? As they deny cover, they are effectively a different wound pool.
I'm thinking the additional flamer wounds would be lost, but the bolter could then go on to wound another model.
Is this correct?
|
TL : DR - Shorthand for ""Hi, I am a miserable cretin of the Internet that must be spoon-fed pictures and factoids or I will piss myself."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 15:23:18
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
nope. As long as any weapon the squad is firing has range to the models in your unit, the wounds from the flamers would carry over.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 15:25:03
Subject: Re:Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Raleigh, NC
|
Eihnlazer - Can I ask you to back that up with rulebook / FAQ references?
|
TL : DR - Shorthand for ""Hi, I am a miserable cretin of the Internet that must be spoon-fed pictures and factoids or I will piss myself."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 15:26:19
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Filthy Sanchez wrote:I have a big unit in cover, and my opponent shoots 4 flamers at the unit managing to only hit the same 2 models from my unit with each template. If I fail all of my saves, and no other models are within range of the template, do I only lose the two models within range? The BRB page 15, and the associated FAQ seem to say yes. Am I missing something?
BRB FAQ
Q: When making a Shooting attack against a unit, can Wounds
from the Wound Pool be allocated to models that were not within
range any of the shooting models when To Hit rolls were made (i.e.
half the targeted model are in the shooting models’ range, and half
are not)? (p15)
A: No.
Emphasis mine.
If the unit firing 4 flamers also fires 1 bolt pistol, wounds can be allocated within range of "any shooting model". So an 8.5" flamer template can allocate wounds to 12" if pistols are firing from the same unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/21 15:27:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 17:00:34
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Yup this is one of those rules that doesn't make a lot of sense. But I can see the need for it, otherwise You'ld be having to roll all weapons with different ranges separate from each other.
A side area of confusion in this same debate is rapid fire. Say a whole squad can get range to two guys to rapid fire, but the rest of the target is out of rapid range. The wounds are still resolved out to the weapons full range because rapid fire does not change the weapons range, it just gives bonus shots if the target is close.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 17:15:32
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
rigeld2 wrote:You're correct - flames can only kill what they cover.
If your opponent had fired anything besides those flames you'd wound out to the maximum range of that weapon, not just the flamers.
The bolded is a little inaccurate, they can kill what they can cover. So if you can cover 6 different models but the best placement of the template only covers 2 you can still kill 6 in the OP.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/21 17:25:06
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Right, thanks for the clarification.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 22:02:11
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
michigan
|
ok i have a similar question.
i have 3 obliterators and am shooting 3 heavy flamers.
my oppenent has a large group of ork boyz kinda tight together.
1st template cover 6 boyz, 2nd covers 4 boys ( 2 are the same from first template), 3rd covers 5 boyz ( 3 are the same boyz from 1st and 2nd) so i have 15 wounds to roll?.
or do i not count the boyz already covered by previous templates?
and say i get to roll for 15 wounds and make 11 of them. but only 8 boyz are in range of the template, do the boyz only suffer wounds to those who can be covered by the template and the other 3 get to live?
i think i would get to roll all 15 wounds and get 11 but only 8 boyz are removed as causualties...
am i correct?
|
When in doubt do what seems hardest |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 22:08:21
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Yes, you would have 15 "hits" all of which could potentially wound, however only those that a template can cover would be kill-able.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/22 22:47:34
Subject: Question about wounding outside of a weapons range
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Happyjew wrote:Yes, you would have 15 "hits" all of which could potentially wound, however only those that a template can cover would be kill-able.
Which, for the record, is 8".
So you could only remove casualties from within 8" of the Oblits.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
|