Switch Theme:

Independent characters and their special rules.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






So I was playing at my club the other day and I over heard one of my peeps make an off handed comment about how cheesy it is that a unit an IC is attached to benefits from the ICs special rules even if he leaves the unit during that turn and that the unit he joins would be able to use the ICs special rules in the turn the IC joins the other unit. Thus providing the special rules to both units that turn. I didn't have a chance to follow up with him on that as I was in the middle of a game but does this sound right? If it is right where's documented? Sounds extra cheesy to me...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/23 17:40:41


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Exactly waht special rules are they trying to pass on?
The rules themselves state if they are transfered.

For example Fearless: "Units containing one or more models with the Fearless rule.."
Once the Character leaves the other character, he is no longer in a unit "containing one or more model with the Fearless rule". Therefore no longer benefits.

Are the people you overheard confusing the "Independant Charaters and Ongoing Effects" rule on page 39?
   
Made in no
Fresh-Faced New User




It has always been my understanding that the IC only confer advantage as long as its attached, so the moment it leaves the unit, it does not boost them, and then when it enters the new unit its confered to them. So this would only be an issue during the movement face.

And did this apply to a special carachter?

But i dont have the rulebook in front of me, so id have to check the exact wording. (which might make this a premature post)

Damn, ninjad

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/23 13:14:38


 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






I'm pretty sure he was referring a Tau buff commander moving between riptides providing tank hunters maybe? I'll be there tonight so I'll have to see...
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






In the specific case you are citing, he is wrong.

Tank hunters only comes into effect when used.

E.g; a Command with the PEC, attached to a puretide chooses to have Tank hunters for the turn, and then leaves that puretide to join another puretide. The first puretide shoots in the shooting phase, and low and behold: no models in his unit have tank hunters.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

A tau commander can gain Tank hunter from the puretide neurochip I think. To benefit from any of its benefits the commander has to be part of the unit firing, and can't leave/join during the shooting phase.
So I don't know how it would work.

Ninjaed, but my ninja calls riptides puretides ...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/23 17:39:35


 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

As per

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/533152.page

I've changed the thread title, please bear this in mind in future.

Thanks.

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Whateves.

It is the puretide engram chip and they are also -Tides.

And I have also had a few 40s this morning.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: