Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 01:54:15
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If I give my Exarch "Fast Shot", can he shoot the icarus lascannon in the ADL twice? If he can, that's pretty awesome. And the other ADL gun would be awesome to shoot twice as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 01:56:48
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
First - it depends on how you define "his" weapon. If you define it as the weapon the model comes with/purchases then it won't work. If you define it to be the weapon being used for the attack it works.
Second - you might want to re-read what Fast Shot does as you do not fire the weapon twice.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 02:23:31
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
The gun emplacement rules are clear on this.
You are firing the gun instead of your model's Own weapons.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 03:08:14
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:First - it depends on how you define "his" weapon. If you define it as the weapon the model comes with/purchases then it won't work. If you define it to be the weapon being used for the attack it works.
Second - you might want to re-read what Fast Shot does as you do not fire the weapon twice.
I see, it allows you to fire one more shot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 12:07:56
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
You can only set your gun or the gun emplacement on fire. Fast shot allows you to set the gun emplacement on fire twice if you choose to.
|
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 12:11:31
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Rismonite wrote:Fast shot allows you to set the gun emplacement on fire twice if you choose to.
Re-read what Fast Shot does.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 12:59:56
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Eldar Codex wrote:This model always fires one more shot than is normal for his weapon I've asked in the past wrote:When the exarch uses a quad gun or an icarus lascannon, does this count as 'his' weapon or is 'his' weapon what he brought with him(ie, only his actual wargear)? This is as far as this one has ever got - it really depends on your opponant. If they're fine with you shooting the same skyfire interceptor lascannon twice at them, then go for it. IME, most people argue against it - whether its right or not is another matter, they just read it as 'no, its only the weapons the exarch is carrying' as that means they only have to take one shot on their flier instead of two.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/25 13:19:24
Blacksails wrote:
Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 15:45:05
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Predakhaine: I already answered this question with a requirement to read the Gun emplacement rules in the BRB.
You fire the Gun in a gun emplacement instead of your own weapons.
Fast shot would not allow an additional shot from a gun emplacement(a good thing when the gun emplacement in question is a battlecannon)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 16:24:45
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Oh.. You're right. It looks like he always has to set the gun emplacement on fire twice
|
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 16:30:22
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Rismonite wrote:Oh.. You're right. It looks like he always has to set the gun emplacement on fire twice
Read it again...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 18:02:15
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
So it depends on how many shots his personal weapon has and then +1?
|
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 18:04:52
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Rismonite wrote:So it depends on how many shots his personal weapon has and then +1?
Right. Assault 2 becomes Assault 3.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 18:12:08
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
So he sets the gun emplacement on fire three times wow..
|
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 18:13:38
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Where are you getting this whole set the gun emplacement on fire thing?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 18:18:13
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Norway (Oslo)
|
Dont feed the troll.
|
Waagh like a bawz
-
Kaptin Goldteef's waagh! 16250 points 45/18/3 (W/L/D) 7th Ed
6250 points 9/3/1 (W/L/D) sixth-ed
Dark elves: 2350points 3/0/0 (W/L/D)
3400 points 19/6/0 (W/L/D) 8' armybook
Wood Elves 2600 points, 6/4/0 (W/L/D)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 18:21:13
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
I didn't mean to be a troll. I just thought it was funny to say. Fire has more than one meaning in the dictionary.
He fires gun emplacement 3 times yes I understand now but honestly thought it was twice3 posts ago
|
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 18:24:18
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
A model with Fast Shot fires one extra shot. If firing an Assault 2 weapon, it is treated as an Assault 3. If firing a Heavy 20 weapon it is treated as a Heavy 21.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 19:47:53
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Which gun emplacement?
The Lascannon is heavy 1, quad gun heavy 4
So 2 and 5 respectfully. Assuming the skill works with these weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 20:40:22
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
grendel083 wrote:Rismoniteh554220 6086047 fd1e8d23c8aa22d5788db60d361f0e72.jpg wrote:He fires gun emplacement 3 times
Which gun emplacement?
The Lascannon is heavy 1, quad gun heavy 4
So 2 and 5 respectfully. Assuming the skill works with these weapons.
While he is firing the gun on gun emplacement is it considered "his" weapon? If it's "his" then he fires the lascannon twice right?
If it isn't "his" then would you fire the lascannon on the gun emplacement the same number of times as "his" weapon plus one? (So if "his" weapon was assault 2 you would fire the lascannon on the gun emplacement 2+1 times?)
|
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 20:46:49
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Rismonite wrote:While he is firing the gun on gun emplacement is it considered "his" weapon? If it's "his" then he fires the lascannon twice right?
Correct.
Assuming fast shot works with gun emplacements. I don't have the exact wording with me to check.
If it isn't "his" then would you fire the lascannon on the gun emplacement the same number of times as "his" weapon plus one? (So if "his" weapon was assault 2 you would fire the lascannon on the gun emplacement 2+1 times?)
No, it's the answer above. He's shooting this weapon, not his other weapon. One weapon has no bearing on the other.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 20:53:36
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
|
Yes, fast shot works when a model possessing the rule fires said gun emplacement.
|
"Russ - This guy is basically werewolf Dick Cheney. No pity at all."
-Vulgar, because it was too funny not to steal |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 21:06:53
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Care to back that claim up?
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 21:11:43
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
grendel083 wrote: Rismonite wrote:While he is firing the gun on gun emplacement is it considered "his" weapon? If it's "his" then he fires the lascannon twice right?
Correct.
Assuming fast shot works with gun emplacements. I don't have the exact wording with me to check.
If it isn't "his" then would you fire the lascannon on the gun emplacement the same number of times as "his" weapon plus one? (So if "his" weapon was assault 2 you would fire the lascannon on the gun emplacement 2+1 times?)
No, it's the answer above. He's shooting this weapon, not his other weapon. One weapon has no bearing on the other.
This is the part that is troubling me;
Gun Emplacement: One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it instead of his own weapon, following the normal rules for shooting.
Eldar Codex wrote:
This model always fires one more shot than is normal for his weapon
The gun emplacement rule uses specific language stating that gun on the gun emplacement -isn't- 'his' (the Exarch's) weapon.. Then the Eldar codex specifies the Fast Shot rule is refering to a weapon that is "his" (The Exarch's).
I'm just not sure how we can say the lascannon on the emplacement is "The Exarch's".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/25 21:12:54
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 21:34:09
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
|
The emplacement, according to the BRB, uses the same rules as guns within, say, a bastion.
Taking the reading of the rules for gun emplacements, guns within a bastion, the wording of Fast Shot within the Eldar Codex, the fact that the Exarch is utilizing the emplacement as the weapon he is firing that turn, essentially making it "his" weapon for that shooting phase, and the (albeit anecdotal) fact that I've personally discussed this with TO's in 4 FLGS in my area for tournaments (because I run the Dark Reaper/Icarus combo), I'm confident it would be allowed and would hold up under scrutiny. Automatically Appended Next Post: Think of it this way:
Does the Reaper Rangefinder, which denies jink saves, or the exarch power Night Vision, take effect when the dark reaper exarch fires the quadgun or lascannon? An argument can be made that night vision doesn't apply, sure, but what about the rangefinder? If I recall correctly the diction of that section states "shots fired from a model with this piece of wargear" or something close to it, yet reaper rangefinder affects the emplacement. Automatically Appended Next Post: Specifically it's the part where it says the weapon "follows normal rules for shooting," i.e. would this exarch power normally affect the weapon fired by a model? If yes, then the lascannon/quadgun, and by extension the heavy bolters in a bastion, or any weapon that can be fired utilizing the special powers of said character.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/25 21:44:09
"Russ - This guy is basically werewolf Dick Cheney. No pity at all."
-Vulgar, because it was too funny not to steal |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 22:38:44
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
deathmagiks wrote:The emplacement, according to the BRB, uses the same rules as guns within, say, a bastion.
Taking the reading of the rules for gun emplacements, guns within a bastion, the wording of Fast Shot within the Eldar Codex, the fact that the Exarch is utilizing the emplacement as the weapon he is firing that turn, essentially making it "his" weapon for that shooting phase, and the (albeit anecdotal) fact that I've personally discussed this with TO's in 4 FLGS in my area for tournaments (because I run the Dark Reaper/Icarus combo), I'm confident it would be allowed and would hold up under scrutiny.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Think of it this way:
Does the Reaper Rangefinder, which denies jink saves, or the exarch power Night Vision, take effect when the dark reaper exarch fires the quadgun or lascannon? An argument can be made that night vision doesn't apply, sure, but what about the rangefinder? If I recall correctly the diction of that section states "shots fired from a model with this piece of wargear" or something close to it, yet reaper rangefinder affects the emplacement.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Specifically it's the part where it says the weapon "follows normal rules for shooting," i.e. would this exarch power normally affect the weapon fired by a model? If yes, then the lascannon/quadgun, and by extension the heavy bolters in a bastion, or any weapon that can be fired utilizing the special powers of said character.
Except that the rules for Fast Shot specifiy "his weapon" and the rules for firing from gun emplacements specify that it is used instead of the model's own weapon.
You are correct that shooting the gun emplacement engages the ability of Fast Shot as that is part of the Exarch's normal shooting, however Fast Shot requires the Exarch's own weapon to be used, which a gun emplacement is specifically described as not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/25 23:12:21
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
|
My point is you're splitting hairs when you say that for 2 reasons:
1) The Exarch, would he use fast shot on a bastion's heavy bolter, would use fast shot because the rules under that state it is used as his weapon for that turn. Rules of gun emplacements follow this line of reasoning as well in the BRB
2) Reaper Rangefinder, something that specifically states that it originates from "a model with this wargear," is applicable on a gun emplacement, even though the gun emplacement is, in fact, it's own model, and has it's own stat-line. Automatically Appended Next Post: The ruling I've repeatedly heard from officials involved in local tournaments is that, for the purposes of fast shot and a gun emplacement, the part of the rule that states "follows normal rules" is more important than the distinction between "his" and "not his" weapon because of the precedent of utilizing emplacement weapons on other fortifications.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/25 23:16:16
"Russ - This guy is basically werewolf Dick Cheney. No pity at all."
-Vulgar, because it was too funny not to steal |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 02:16:19
Subject: Re:Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Look up the definition of "his".
It means association or ownership. Therefore the Icarus Lascannon is "his" weapon, association, in regards to Fast Shot allowing a second shot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 05:11:29
Subject: Re:Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Zagman wrote:Look up the definition of "his".
It means association or ownership. Therefore the Icarus Lascannon is "his" weapon, association, in regards to Fast Shot allowing a second shot.
So this is MY forum, seeing as I am using it?. He is assoicated with his gun, and he owns his gun, for the gun emplacment he is using it instead of his own gun. (Say i was driving around in a stolen car, police wont do nothing right, i am using it after all so by assoication its my car?. Dont think I would try that one to be honest same as I wouldnt try to say dakka is mine.)
Just imagine a exarch on the krakstorm....
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 09:20:41
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
deathmagiks wrote:My point is you're splitting hairs when you say that for 2 reasons:
1) The Exarch, would he use fast shot on a bastion's heavy bolter, would use fast shot because the rules under that state it is used as his weapon for that turn. Rules of gun emplacements follow this line of reasoning as well in the BRB
2) Reaper Rangefinder, something that specifically states that it originates from "a model with this wargear," is applicable on a gun emplacement, even though the gun emplacement is, in fact, it's own model, and has it's own stat-line.
It's not a matter of splitting hairs, it's following what the rules say. Your points are invalid because:
1) The rules for gun emplacements specifically make a distinction between the firer's own weapon and the gun emplacement. Fast shot only applies to the model's weapon. The gun emplacement is fired instead of the model's weapon, thus it is not the model's weapon for the purposes of Fast Shot.
2) The wording for Reaper Rangefinder is completely different, and therefore completely irrelevant.
The ruling I've repeatedly heard from officials involved in local tournaments is that, for the purposes of fast shot and a gun emplacement, the part of the rule that states "follows normal rules" is more important than the distinction between "his" and "not his" weapon because of the precedent of utilizing emplacement weapons on other fortifications.
And if you went back in time and asked the shape of the earth many experts would tell you it was flat. Arguments to authority often don't work because they're still wrong on the relevant issues.
Zagman wrote:Look up the definition of "his".
It means association or ownership. Therefore the Icarus Lascannon is "his" weapon, association, in regards to Fast Shot allowing a second shot.
Wrong. "His" is the possessive form of "he". Possessive. Ownership. The model is using the Icarus Lascannon but does not own it; it is still not the model's weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/26 09:23:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 09:30:58
Subject: Eldar "Fast Shot" and ADL Armed
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
This is why it needs faq'ing.
Because we only ever get as far as the argument stage.
I don't think its possible to reach a consensus on this one.
PS: No one thought the earth was flat, that was a myth
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myth_of_the_Flat_Earth
|
Blacksails wrote:
Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives. |
|
 |
 |
|