Poll |
 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 22:10:15
Subject: Can a Catacomb Command Barge Sweep Attack and Close Combat
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Can a Catacomb Command Barge Sweep Attack an enemy unit that is engaged in close combat?
All I can find is that you can't Shoot into close combat, so my gut says 'yes you can sweep attack into close combat'
but then there's the narrative aspect of 40K in that all the models are actually so mixed up, jumping around with friendly units in CC that it would be impossible to target just the enemy.
thoughts?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 22:16:56
Subject: Can a Catacomb Command Barge Sweep Attack and Close Combat
|
 |
Kelne
|
Doesn't it target unengaged enemy units? The sweep you get to do for being a chariot does, so I'd think this is what's intended.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 22:27:59
Subject: Re:Can a Catacomb Command Barge Sweep Attack and Close Combat
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
hmmm. I didn't think about the unengaged enemy unit bit. That makes sense
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/27 06:28:44
Subject: Can a Catacomb Command Barge Sweep Attack and Close Combat
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
The sweep attacks are made against any unit the CCB moves over, unengaged or not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/27 10:17:41
Subject: Re:Can a Catacomb Command Barge Sweep Attack and Close Combat
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Ok so here's some data
6ed 40K Rulebook for Chariots
- The rider can make a Sweep Attack each turn in the Movement phase. To make a Sweep attack, pick one unengaged enemy unit the Chariot has moved over this turn and roll a D6 for each Attack the rider has on his profile.
Necron 6th ed. Codes
- Whilst a character remains embarked on a Catacomb Command Barge, he can make three special sweep attacks each turn. These attacks can be made in the movement phase against one enemy unit the Catacomb Command Barge moves over.
The rest of the language in both rules is the same.
In the Core Rulebook you have a number of attacks equal to the attacks character's profile and the CRB specifically says unengaged. In the Necron Rulebook you specifically have 3 Sweep Attacks, and doesn't limit to non-engaged enemy units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/27 14:12:29
Subject: Can a Catacomb Command Barge Sweep Attack and Close Combat
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The April 13th FAQ doesn't add anything about this, other than to add 'Chariot' to the CCB's type.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/27 14:39:02
Subject: Can a Catacomb Command Barge Sweep Attack and Close Combat
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The way I read those combinations of rules is that the Chariot rules define how to select the target for a sweep attack, and nothing in the CCB overrides that.
If anything the chariot rules for a sweep attack are more specific on their targeting, and since the CCB is a chariot and has nothing that changes the way a sweep attack is made I would think the restrictions for sweep attacks would stay for unengaged units only.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/27 21:00:53
Subject: Can a Catacomb Command Barge Sweep Attack and Close Combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Im sure that the next Necron codex will change that CCB rule to match the BRB chariot rule. Currently however, the CCB has no restriction on unengaged or engaged, since that codex rule would be used over the BRB.
|
|
 |
 |
|