Switch Theme:

Battle sister squad dedicated transport Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




In the Sob codex 5th Edition, under Troops there is the "Battle sister squad" (the only troop type available)

"Composition:
-9 Battle sisters
-1 sister superior"

You also have the option of "May include up to ten additional Battle sisters" at 12 points each.

"Dedicated Transport:
-The squad can select any dedicated transport (see below)."

The section below which is the dedicated transport have two options: Rhino and Immolator.

The Rhino is fine since it can carry up to ten models, but the immolator can only carry up to six models.

So, from my understanding the squad has a minimum of ten models, and it can select any transport including the immolator with capacity up to six models...

My question is; how to interpret those rules?

Here are some different perspectives I came up with:

1) The squad can't take the immolator since its over the limit

2) The squad can take the immolator but cannot use it (unless enough has died off, leaving the squad with only 6 models or less)

3) The squad can take and use the immolator regardless of the difference between capacity and squad size

4) 6 models may enters the immolator and the rest have to run after it

What are your opinions?

Thanks for your help

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/27 14:34:38


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





#3 and #4 both break rules. #1 has no rules support. #2 is the only method left. Fortunately, it has rules support.

Some codexes limit DTs based on unit size. SoB doesn't.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Grey Knight FAQ has this:

Q: Some Grey Knights squads can take a Razorback as a dedicated
transport. A Razorback has a transport capacity of six models. Can
you still choose this as a dedicated transport for a squad with more
than six models? (p92)
A: Yes.


I beleive that the same situation appies here.
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




I see, thank you for the quick replies
   
Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

A dedicated transport doesn't mean it can ONLY transport the squad that bought it. The dedicated restriction is that the only squad that might be inside the transport at the start of the game is the dedicated. After the deploy they are taxis for any squad that might fit.

You can purchase the immolator as a dedicated and field it as another unit besides the battle squad. The same would apply to a max chaos space marine unit (20) purchasing a rhino as a dedicated transport, they can't fit in there but you can still pay it and field it, just empty. Maybe so that another unit might enter in the 2nd turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/27 14:53:00


CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

Nor is it any different than an SM squad that buys a Razorback and doesn't Combat Squad.

There are still several things one can do with the Immolator for the BSS that it is purchased for:

-Mobile heavy weapon platform
-Mobile cover/LOS blocker
-As a transport for a smaller squad that lost or can't buy a transport (Repentia, I'm looking at you!)
-Once the squad has taken enough casualties to make their squad size less than or equal to the transport capacity, they can fit inside

So while the BSS that purchased an Immolator can't start out in it, it still is a valid option for them to choose and has some use on the battlefield as such.

Lord Yayula wrote:Maybe so that another unit might enter in the 2nd turn.
Or Turn 1 even. Although a squad cannot start out the game in in another squad's DT, that same squad may enter another's DT after the start of the game, including Turn 1. As long as the squad can embark in the first place.

There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I do this all the time with my Sisters. Take an Immolator with a TLMM in a 10 girl squad. I use the girls dismounted to hold an objective in my DZ and the immolator to shield a Rhino carrying another squad and hoping the TLMM kills something big before it dies.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: