Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 07:44:20
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Hi everyone, I was playing a game of vassal 40k tonight, and I feel this guy was really doing some weird stuff.
First off I wrecked a vehicle of his, and he had to emergency disembark, well what we had was a piece of terrain like this (according to him)
So his speeder vehicle was pressed up against the outside wall of the building above, well it blows up and he has a 3 inch disembark and puts his models INSiDE of the buildings, telling me this is perfectly acceptable, not to mention the fact that his units were halfway in the "wall" of the building like shadowcat from the x-men. So my question is this, can you emergency disembark THROUGH a wall?
To me this makes absolutely zero sense, and even if it is RAW I still think it is garbage, and makes absolutely zero sense. If I can't move through a wall during normal gameplay, what in the world would give me the right to do so during an emergency disembarkation which is supposed to be a forced action. because your vehicle has been shot to crap.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 08:19:47
Subject: Re:Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well its a ruins. Read the section on Walls, Doors, Ladders and Lateral Thinking on page 99. And you have just as much right to move through the wall during normal game play as he does during emergency disembarking. Unless you decided before the match they may not do such a movement, then they can, the wall is just difficult terrain.
The guy in the wall though is an interesting case. We technically have permission to move through the wall, so I suppose you could stop in the wall, if you can somehow place the model and apply Wobbly Model Syndrome rule. But I would be more inclined to say he would have to have the base of the miniature on one side or the other of the wall, unless he balanced it in a window or some such. I wonder if the guy would be considered to have a cover save or not. Well, on the building you show he would because it is on a base which means he would be in area terrain, as per page 98, Ruins with Base.
Now, it been an impassible building (any building that cannot be embarked in) or an embarkable building (such as fortification) he would not have been able to emergency disembark through those walls. And, even if it was a fortification, and his speeder was up against the embarkation point, he still would not be able to emergency disembark, then embark into the fortification all in one turn.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/02 08:29:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 08:33:22
Subject: Re:Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Rumbleguts wrote:Well its a ruins. Read the section on Walls, Doors, Ladders and Lateral Thinking on page 99. And you have just as much right to move through the wall during normal game play as he does during emergency disembarking. Unless you decided before the match they may not do such a movement, then they can, the wall is just difficult terrain.
The guy in the wall though is an interesting case. We technically have permission to move through the wall, so I suppose you could stop in the wall, if you can somehow place the model and apply Wobbly Model Syndrome rule. But I would be more inclined to say he would have to have the base of the miniature on one side or the other of the wall, unless he balanced it in a window or some such. I wonder if the guy would be considered to have a cover save or not. Well, on the building you show he would because it is on a base which means he would be in area terrain, as per page 98, Ruins with Base.
Now, it been an impassible building (any building that cannot be embarked in) or an embarkable building (such as fortification) he would not have been able to emergency disembark through those walls. And, even if it was a fortification, and his speeder was up against the embarkation point, he still would not be able to emergency disembark, then embark into the fortification all in one turn.
Rumbleguts, the thing to take into account is that 1) this is vassal so there are no doors, windows etc showing and really we never determined if it was a ruins with windows etc, to me it just looks like a square building and it blocks my line of sight, and 2) it says that those things should be decided before a match, not when it is advantageous to you in the middle of the match, then quit the game because your opponent isn't going for your side-skirting of the rules. not going for it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/02 08:33:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 09:00:01
Subject: Re:Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
Standard rules legal, but WMS can not be used as a justification for being halfway though a wall in which the model could clearly not be placed. WMS only allows for its use where a model could be placed but it is likely to fall over due to incline or uneven surface that the models base can fit on. So I'd say place the model completly within the distance, meaning on the outside of the wall. Though if the vehicle blew up they would not disembark at all but be placed in the crater where the vehicle once was, if it was wrecked then sure an emergency disembark fine.
As to the building being a box, due to the top down view in Vassal, well that's again something you should discuss with your opponent before a battle. What to treat the terrain as is a big part of that. That 'Box' could be impassable, an embarkable building, a ruin or whatever.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 09:01:51
Subject: Re:Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Niexist wrote:Rumbleguts wrote:Well its a ruins. Read the section on Walls, Doors, Ladders and Lateral Thinking on page 99. And you have just as much right to move through the wall during normal game play as he does during emergency disembarking. Unless you decided before the match they may not do such a movement, then they can, the wall is just difficult terrain.
The guy in the wall though is an interesting case. We technically have permission to move through the wall, so I suppose you could stop in the wall, if you can somehow place the model and apply Wobbly Model Syndrome rule. But I would be more inclined to say he would have to have the base of the miniature on one side or the other of the wall, unless he balanced it in a window or some such. I wonder if the guy would be considered to have a cover save or not. Well, on the building you show he would because it is on a base which means he would be in area terrain, as per page 98, Ruins with Base.
Now, it been an impassible building (any building that cannot be embarked in) or an embarkable building (such as fortification) he would not have been able to emergency disembark through those walls. And, even if it was a fortification, and his speeder was up against the embarkation point, he still would not be able to emergency disembark, then embark into the fortification all in one turn.
Rumbleguts, the thing to take into account is that 1) this is vassal so there are no doors, windows etc showing and really we never determined if it was a ruins with windows etc, to me it just looks like a square building and it blocks my line of sight, and 2) it says that those things should be decided before a match, not when it is advantageous to you in the middle of the match, then quit the game because your opponent isn't going for your side-skirting of the rules. not going for it.
I believe agreeing to not go through walls is something which should be agree'd on, rather than having to agree on being able to go through walls, which I always thought was the default rule
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/02 09:10:33
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 11:08:25
Subject: Re:Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Niexist wrote:Rumbleguts wrote:Well its a ruins. Read the section on Walls, Doors, Ladders and Lateral Thinking on page 99. And you have just as much right to move through the wall during normal game play as he does during emergency disembarking. Unless you decided before the match they may not do such a movement, then they can, the wall is just difficult terrain.
The guy in the wall though is an interesting case. We technically have permission to move through the wall, so I suppose you could stop in the wall, if you can somehow place the model and apply Wobbly Model Syndrome rule. But I would be more inclined to say he would have to have the base of the miniature on one side or the other of the wall, unless he balanced it in a window or some such. I wonder if the guy would be considered to have a cover save or not. Well, on the building you show he would because it is on a base which means he would be in area terrain, as per page 98, Ruins with Base.
Now, it been an impassible building (any building that cannot be embarked in) or an embarkable building (such as fortification) he would not have been able to emergency disembark through those walls. And, even if it was a fortification, and his speeder was up against the embarkation point, he still would not be able to emergency disembark, then embark into the fortification all in one turn.
Rumbleguts, the thing to take into account is that 1) this is vassal so there are no doors, windows etc showing and really we never determined if it was a ruins with windows etc, to me it just looks like a square building and it blocks my line of sight, and 2) it says that those things should be decided before a match, not when it is advantageous to you in the middle of the match, then quit the game because your opponent isn't going for your side-skirting of the rules. not going for it.
The default is you can move through walls of ruins. If you read into the rules. As long as it was stated to be a Ruin, then this was perfectly legal
If you DIDNT want them to be able to move through walls you had to state this before the game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 13:15:13
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Ah the good old confusion between Buildings and Ruins.
If it was a building as the title suggests, then they cannot embark into the building (can't voluntarily disembark and embark in the same turn - p78).
Ruins are fair game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 15:40:49
Subject: Re:Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Niexist wrote:Rumbleguts wrote:Well its a ruins. Read the section on Walls, Doors, Ladders and Lateral Thinking on page 99. And you have just as much right to move through the wall during normal game play as he does during emergency disembarking. Unless you decided before the match they may not do such a movement, then they can, the wall is just difficult terrain.
The guy in the wall though is an interesting case. We technically have permission to move through the wall, so I suppose you could stop in the wall, if you can somehow place the model and apply Wobbly Model Syndrome rule. But I would be more inclined to say he would have to have the base of the miniature on one side or the other of the wall, unless he balanced it in a window or some such. I wonder if the guy would be considered to have a cover save or not. Well, on the building you show he would because it is on a base which means he would be in area terrain, as per page 98, Ruins with Base.
Now, it been an impassible building (any building that cannot be embarked in) or an embarkable building (such as fortification) he would not have been able to emergency disembark through those walls. And, even if it was a fortification, and his speeder was up against the embarkation point, he still would not be able to emergency disembark, then embark into the fortification all in one turn.
Rumbleguts, the thing to take into account is that 1) this is vassal so there are no doors, windows etc showing and really we never determined if it was a ruins with windows etc, to me it just looks like a square building and it blocks my line of sight, and 2) it says that those things should be decided before a match, not when it is advantageous to you in the middle of the match, then quit the game because your opponent isn't going for your side-skirting of the rules. not going for it.
What is Vassal?
The building in your picture lacks walls to fully enclose the interior space and is missing a roof. I would call that a ruins by definition of page 98, top paragraph. As others pointed out, default rule is they can move through such walls, it requires negotiation between players before the match to make them impassible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 15:43:08
Subject: Re:Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Vassal is a top down tabletop simulator.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 16:34:34
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Bausk wrote:Standard rules legal, but WMS can not be used as a justification for being halfway though a wall in which the model could clearly not be placed. WMS only allows for its use where a model could be placed but it is likely to fall over due to incline or uneven surface that the models base can fit on.
But in the case of a ruin, models are allowed to move through the wall as if it weren't there, so they can stop halfway through the ruined wall, no WMS rule needed. (Granted this works in vassal as it is a comp program, in real life the model cannot physically fit there so you have to place the model close enough and let your opponent know where your models are).
grendel083 wrote:Ah the good old confusion between Buildings and Ruins.
If it was a building as the title suggests, then they cannot embark into the building (can't voluntarily disembark and embark in the same turn - p78).
Ruins are fair game.
Well that really has no bearing on the situation as the unit in the transport is not voluntarily disembarking from the transport...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 16:44:16
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote: grendel083 wrote:Ah the good old confusion between Buildings and Ruins.
If it was a building as the title suggests, then they cannot embark into the building (can't voluntarily disembark and embark in the same turn - p78).
Ruins are fair game.
Well that really has no bearing on the situation as the unit in the transport is not voluntarily disembarking from the transport...
True it didn't voluntarily disembark.
But it is then voluntarily embarking following a disembark.
So the rule still applies.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 19:12:32
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
grendel083 wrote: DeathReaper wrote: grendel083 wrote:Ah the good old confusion between Buildings and Ruins.
If it was a building as the title suggests, then they cannot embark into the building (can't voluntarily disembark and embark in the same turn - p78).
Ruins are fair game.
Well that really has no bearing on the situation as the unit in the transport is not voluntarily disembarking from the transport...
True it didn't voluntarily disembark.
But it is then voluntarily embarking following a disembark.
So the rule still applies.
No the rule does not apply, because they are restricted from voluntarily disembarking and then embarking in the same turn. If they did not voluntarily disembark the rule does not apply.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 20:44:55
Subject: Re:Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Long Island, New York, USA
|
The rule that would apply (if it were a building) is the one that says units can only embark in their movement phase.
Since the transport was wrecked in the opponent's shooting phase, it doesn't matter whether the passengers performed a normal or emergency disembark, they could not embark into a building until their next movement phase.
If they could not even emergency disembark due to the building, they would be destroyed.
But in the OP question, the passengers could emergency disembark into the ruin, unless it was deemed impassable terrain, as has been stated.
|
I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 20:52:37
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
They have disembarked. They are then voluntarily choosing to embark in the same turn. Something not allowed.
You can't voluntarily preform both actions. The fact that the first action wasn't voluntary doesn't matter, it still happened, but then you're choosing the second action. And choosing to do both isn't allowed.
If the second action isn't voluntary, that's fine, you haven't chosen to do both actions, you've been forced into it. This is also covered in the rule with the example of embarking then having your transport destroyed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 20:58:27
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
That particular sentence might not apply 100%, though Grendel is doing a good job arguing that at least one of those choices are voluntary and therefore illegal, but the sentence right before it clearly makes it illegal. That would be the one stating a model can only voluntarily embark during the movement phase. Even if a transport is destroyed by enemy fire and the models inside are forced to disembark, the action of embarking into a building during this process is still voluntary and can only be done during that players movement phase. The only way said models could carry out such an action would be to emergency disembark during their movement phase, a rare situation but possible, then voluntarily embark afterwards. This is further compounded by the probability of having every model disembarking being in the required distance of the access point. If you limit this access point to just a building it becomes a near impossibility, as terrain begins at least three or four inches from each other during deployment. The bases of the disembarking unit are probably more then enough to place at lease one model outside of that required distance, unless you have a one or three model unit to begin. After all the most likely, probably only, way to emergency disembark during your turn is if terrain causes your vehicle to wreck itself. It would be possible to raise this probability by running a second, empty, transport but that would still be very low probability numbers. Whom really purchases as second transport, deploying it empty and then keeping it's access point within six inches of every point on the first transport? To naturally find yourself in the right situation to exploit this loophole is a once in a life time thing. ....Ninja'd by Time Wizard....
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/10/02 21:05:33
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/02 23:56:38
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
grendel083 wrote:They have disembarked. They are then voluntarily choosing to embark in the same turn. Something not allowed. You can't voluntarily preform both actions. The fact that the first action wasn't voluntary doesn't matter, it still happened, but then you're choosing the second action. And choosing to do both isn't allowed. If the second action isn't voluntary, that's fine, you haven't chosen to do both actions, you've been forced into it. This is also covered in the rule with the example of embarking then having your transport destroyed.
Re-read the rule, note what it requires. You can not voluntarily do both. With emergency disembarking you are not voluntarily disembarking so that rule does not apply.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/02 23:57:54
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 00:04:01
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I have read it.
By choosing to embark, you're voluntarily disembarking and embarking in the same turn. Which the rule does not allow.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 01:25:08
Subject: Re:Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Wouldn't it be more of a matter that emergency disembarking is a subrule of disembarking rather then something all its own? So an emergency disembark would still be disembarking, thus not allowing embarking. Plus ... you can only embark on your movement phase, no way to involuntarily embark a building.
But rereading embarking rules it keeps using voluntary, I suppose if a vehicle was somehow destroyed in that player's movement phase you could argue that the emergency disembark wouldn't count against the unit voluntarily embarking elsewhere. But that seems really cheesy and against the intent.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 02:42:35
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
grendel083 wrote:I have read it. By choosing to embark, you're voluntarily disembarking and embarking in the same turn. Which the rule does not allow.
Incorrect, you are not voluntarily disembarking...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/03 02:42:41
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 03:42:52
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote: grendel083 wrote:I have read it.
By choosing to embark, you're voluntarily disembarking and embarking in the same turn. Which the rule does not allow.
Incorrect, you are not voluntarily disembarking...
Doesnt matter.
You have disembarked, voluntarily or not. Now there is a choice to embark, or move somewhere else.
By voluntarily embarking, you have disembarked and embarked in a single turn. And done so voluntarily. You have broken the rule.
You'll note the rule does not say both actions must be voluntary, but the net result of embarking and disembarking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 07:05:32
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above - grendel has the right of it here. IT is irrelevant as far as the rule is concerned whether or not both actions were voluntary.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 07:20:46
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
If you did not voluntarily disembark, how can a rule that restricts you from voluntarily disembarking and voluntarily embarking apply?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 08:40:37
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Because you are parsing the sentence incorrectly, thats why.
It is voluntarily (embark or disembark) - the voluntary can apply to either term (although I cant think of when you woudl involuntarily embark...)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 09:19:07
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
Actually it's voluntarily (embark AND disembark). Simple boolean logic would tell you that if you didn't voluntarily disembark the rule doesn't apply.
You can also dive into the murky RAI waters and say that if they didn't want you to be able to embark after a forced disembarkation why would the word voluntarily be included at all?
Finally the only way you can pull this off is if you manage, somehow, to wreck a transport during your own movement phase or if you thread a needle with a drop pod and the now disembarked unit is wholly within 2" of an access point.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 10:40:48
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Immobilising a transport through a failed DT test will do it, if it has a single hull point left.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/03 23:34:32
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Tarrasq wrote:Actually it's voluntarily (embark AND disembark). Simple boolean logic would tell you that if you didn't voluntarily disembark the rule doesn't apply.
100% this.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 04:25:13
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
DeathReaper wrote: Bausk wrote:Standard rules legal, but WMS can not be used as a justification for being halfway though a wall in which the model could clearly not be placed. WMS only allows for its use where a model could be placed but it is likely to fall over due to incline or uneven surface that the models base can fit on.
But in the case of a ruin, models are allowed to move through the wall as if it weren't there, so they can stop halfway through the ruined wall, no WMS rule needed. (Granted this works in vassal as it is a comp program, in real life the model cannot physically fit there so you have to place the model close enough and let your opponent know where your models are).
Move though, not stop in. Movement cannot end where a model cannot be placed, its as simple as that. Exceptions are expected but not in this case. As for the letting your opponent know where they are, that is apart of the WMS so you're applying WMS to something you claim does not require it...Great job there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 04:32:15
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Bausk wrote:Move though, not stop in. Movement cannot end where a model cannot be placed, its as simple as that.
Citation needed. The rules for difficult terrain - which ruins are - say I can move through solid objects, and they don't say anything about not being able to stop in them, and neither does anything I can find in the movement phase rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 04:54:49
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Since enbarking into buildings follows the transports rule, can a unit disembark from one and embark into another transport? It would be awful difficult to do so when you have to start the movement phase within 2" of the access point, isn't it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 04:57:06
Subject: Emergency disembarking into buildings?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:It would be awful difficult to do so when you have to start the movement phase within 2" of the access point, isn't it?
There are numerous issues with this plan, but this isn't one of them. You merely have to move to within 2" of the access point with each model.
|
|
 |
 |
|