Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 23:09:09
Subject: Shrouded and Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Kabalite Conscript
|
So, a friend and I are having a heated discussion over a unit having Shrouded and taking a Dedicated Transport, such as a Raider. I've searched for something similar to this, but couldn't find anything, so here goes:
I say that if a unit has Shrouded and takes a Dedicated Transport, then that Dedicated Transport is a part of the unit as a whole, thus the Dedicated Transport gets Shrouded as well.
He obviously says this isn't true and wouldn't be fair (I kind of agree on that, a bit.)
However, there is nothing to contest this, as you cannot take a Dedicated Transport without having to take the unit in question.
Here's a hypothetical situation:
Dark Eldar kill team - Dark Eldar takes some Trueborn and takes a Raider with it. One of the USRs allocated to one of the three Trueborn is Shrouded, and the Raider is his Dedicated Transport. Since they are the same unit, the Raider gains Shrouded as well. You can only imagine the Jink shenanigans that would ensue.
So, DakkaDakka, what's the call on this?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 23:13:17
Subject: Shrouded and Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
That a vehicle, an the unit embarked on them, are never the same unit.
So no, no shrouded.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 23:26:12
Subject: Shrouded and Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No where does it say that embarking on a transport means you are joining it as a unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 23:26:54
Subject: Shrouded and Dedicated Transports
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yup, the transport is not the same unit as the unit it is purchased for.
Otherwise, when the unit embarks, the transport would have to embark upon itself, as you can't embark just part of the unit...
The transport is a part of the same force org slot as the unit, but they are at all times separate units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/04 23:27:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/04 23:37:19
Subject: Re:Shrouded and Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
The only time you'd do anything at the same time with a DT is deployment as they are apart of the same force org. Even if the unit and the DT deploy differently, ie the unit deploys on the table and the DT deploys in reserve both deployments occur at the same time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 00:31:30
Subject: Shrouded and Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The only USR that applies to a DT is Scout, far as I know. And that's because the USR tells us how and when.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 01:53:41
Subject: Shrouded and Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Spetulhu wrote:The only USR that applies to a DT is Scout, far as I know. And that's because the USR tells us how and when.
Infiltrate as well.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/05 03:57:15
Subject: Shrouded and Dedicated Transports
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Ah, thanks. Can't even recall when last I saw anyone use it in my little group so no wonder I didn't remember it. :-)
|
|
 |
 |
|