Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 15:08:15
Subject: Locked in combat?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
Yesterday we had a match where we encountered the following scenario and we did not know what to do:
1. A Crusader-squad with the Emperor's Champion.
2. Mephiston charges in and challenges the Champion, he accepts.
3. In the same turn a group of Death Company assault with Lemartes.
4. After a round or two the entire Crusader-squad is killed, leaving only a few DC, Lemartes and Mephiston with the Emperor's Champion alive.
Are the Death Company still locked in combat now?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 15:18:43
Subject: Locked in combat?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Yes, I think the are. They can wave pom-poms and cheer to Mephisto, giving him re-rolls, if there's at least five of them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 15:26:02
Subject: Locked in combat?
|
 |
Dangerous Outrider
|
Crimson wrote:Yes, I think the are. They can wave pom- poms and cheer to Mephisto, giving him re-rolls, if there's at least five of them.
I think the problem here is that Mephiston is not an Independant Character and so isn't joined to the unit. still I don't think it makes a difference.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 15:28:21
Subject: Re:Locked in combat?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
BRB FAQ:
Q: Two of my units are involved in a multiple combat against an enemy unit that has been reduced to a single character. If that character is currently fighting in a challenge with a character from one of my two units, is it possible for my unengaged unit to consolidate and leave the combat? (p27)
A: No, though they do count for Moral Support re-rolls.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 16:13:24
Subject: Locked in combat?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
While the answer has been provided, I still have an issue with the scenario put forth: Challenges are issued at the start of the fight sub-stage and as per point 2, a challenge was issued. Your order of events has an charge now occurring during the fight sub-phase if they did carry out that phase of the assault during point 3. I am sure either the start of the fight sub-phase timing was over-looked when the challenge was issued, as it often is, or the order of events posted are not the most accurate to what happened on the table. This order of events may not make a difference 95.5% of the time, in relation to challenges, but there are situations where it can change the outcome of the fight-sub phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/06 16:15:24
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 22:43:31
Subject: Re:Locked in combat?
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
Lemartes can even attempt a heroic intervention if you wanted. but yes the timeing was off on the issuing of the challenge but it almost never makes a difference.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/06 23:27:35
Subject: Locked in combat?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Even the handful of cases I think on where the timing might make a difference, I find it more often reinforces the decision I would of made in the first place. Not all the time mind you, but in the vast majority of scenarios I would do the same thing regardless of when the challenge is issued. There is only one scenario that the timing of the challenge makes such a difference that I would always require the correct timing to be followed: Where the charge distance of the second assaulting unit is large enough that it may not even enter combat that turn.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/06 23:30:25
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
|