Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/07 20:49:13
Subject: Organising Reserves
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Hi all. I'd just like to check that I've got the rules for leaving units in reserve correct. I'll use Vanilla Marines as an example.
So please correct me if I'm wrong here:
Units that must Deep Strike into play (such as Drop Pods) remain in reserve, and are ignored when calculating how many units can stay in reserve.
Units that can start in play but are going to enter play later (such as a Deep Striking Land Speeder) remain in reserve, but only half of the units in your army (not including Drop Pods) can do this.
Units that start in play (such as a Tactical Squad in a Rhino) start on the table. At least half of your units (not including Drop Pods) must do this.
So, assuming that these are all correct, I have some further queries:
Supposing that a Librarian in Terminator Armour was attached to a squad of Terminators that were going to Deep Strike in. Would this unit therefore count as two units when rolling for resolves? Would it count as two for calculating how many units can remain in reserve?
Supposing that the game started with a Tactical Squad in a Rhino. Would this count as one or two units on the board for calculating how many units can remain in reserve?
Thanks all.
|
Home-Made Marines: 1750 points
Sa'Cea Sept Tau: 130 points (just started)
Svern Bloodhowl Space Wolves: 0 points. I wish I was rich... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/07 21:17:01
Subject: Organising Reserves
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
One important rule you forgot: A unit that is in Reserve embarked on a vehicle that MUST start in reserve doesn't count toward the 50%. Example: Tac Squad in a Drop Pod is not counted in any way, since the Pod must being in reserve. Same with Stormravens.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/07 21:17:29
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/07 21:52:21
Subject: Re:Organising Reserves
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Elric is correct.
In answer to your questions, both of your examples count as two units for determining the 50% reserves rules. The tac squad and the rhino are two units on the board, the Librarian and the termies are two units in Reserves. Had the librarian been joined to, say, a squad of marines in a Drop Pod, then it would be three units, but none would count towards the limit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/07 22:10:20
Subject: Re:Organising Reserves
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
A unit and it's Dedicated Transport are counted as one unit for counting reserves. But remember to round up the number you can put in reserve (i.e. 3 of 5)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/07 23:47:44
Subject: Re:Organising Reserves
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Quanar wrote:A unit and it's Dedicated Transport are counted as one unit for counting reserves. But remember to round up the number you can put in reserve (i.e. 3 of 5)
True. My bad.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/08 05:25:14
Subject: Organising Reserves
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Thanks for all the replies.
Okay, so my first three statements were correct...?
The Librarian and Terminators would count as two units, but the Tactical Squad would count as one unit?
|
Home-Made Marines: 1750 points
Sa'Cea Sept Tau: 130 points (just started)
Svern Bloodhowl Space Wolves: 0 points. I wish I was rich... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/08 08:21:06
Subject: Organising Reserves
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
I'm not sure if your statement in the opening post was just for illustration purposes, but are you aware you can reserve the Tactical squad and Rhino as well (provided you have enough other units on the board)? I'm not aware of any unit that must start on the board. ( If you already knew this, ignore this sentence).
Mizzet wrote:The Librarian and Terminators would count as two units, but the Tactical Squad would count as one unit?
Yes, Independent Characters are a separate unit for the reserves count even if joined to a unit (although if they are embarked in a Drop Pod or Flyer, they are still ignored), and a DT and it's unit are counted as one even if the unit is not embarked ( I'm not actually sure what the count is if you want one in reserve and one on the board, I would presume 1 each...).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/08 17:21:01
Subject: Organising Reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mizzet wrote:Hi all. I'd just like to check that I've got the rules for leaving units in reserve correct. I'll use Vanilla Marines as an example.
So please correct me if I'm wrong here:
Units that must Deep Strike into play (such as Drop Pods) remain in reserve, and are ignored when calculating how many units can stay in reserve.
Units that can start in play but are going to enter play later (such as a Deep Striking Land Speeder) remain in reserve, but only half of the units in your army (not including Drop Pods) can do this.
Units that start in play (such as a Tactical Squad in a Rhino) start on the table. At least half of your units (not including Drop Pods) must do this.
So, assuming that these are all correct, I have some further queries:
Supposing that a Librarian in Terminator Armour was attached to a squad of Terminators that were going to Deep Strike in. Would this unit therefore count as two units when rolling for resolves? Would it count as two for calculating how many units can remain in reserve?
Supposing that the game started with a Tactical Squad in a Rhino. Would this count as one or two units on the board for calculating how many units can remain in reserve?
Thanks all.
The Librarian and the terminators will count as 1 unit when rolling for reserves, but count as two units when calculating the number of units in reserve. The rhino and tac squad are 1 unit for reserve purposes, either deployed or held in reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
|