Switch Theme:

Laser lock and cover saves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Long time lurker, first time poster, just had to ask this rules question to get your take on it.

My Wraithlord has a scatter laser and bright lance combo. My opponent was running a land raider. I shot my scatter laser at the land raider because I wanted to get twin-linked on my bright lance. His vehicle was obscured by cover so he would normally get a cover save from my shooting. He said he was going to take a cover save from the scatter lasers because he wanted to avoid the twin-linking of the bright lance.

I was not sure about this, I thought vehicle cover saves are against armor penetration rolls, not to hit rolls, much the same way cover saves are against to wound rolls.

So should he have received a cover save against my to hit scatter laser roll?

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Cover saves are only against Pens/Glances. There's no way to stop a hit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Thanks! That is what I figured
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It is the same situation for Tau Markerlights; They do not produce wounds and therefore avoid cover saves. Even though it would be logical that intervening cover means the marker could be blocked, the mechanics of the game do not account for that. It would take a house rule, and your agreement to said house rule, in order to grant a cover save against targeting systems.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe





Im almost 99% certain that you cant use the laser-lock rule on your wraithlord as it is a monstrous creature, not a vehicle

"I ayn't so eezy ta kill... heheheh..."

BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!!!! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE!!!!  
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






Sorry dude, but that makes you 99% wrong. Wraith lords definitely do benefit from laser lock. The rule states 'if a MODEL is firing one or more weapons with this special rule.....' Nothing to do with unit type.

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in us
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe





Khaine's Wrath wrote:
Sorry dude, but that makes you 99% wrong.


Hey I'll take the 1% thats cool... Pretty sure, according to you, that me being wrong = 100%

"I ayn't so eezy ta kill... heheheh..."

BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!!!! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE!!!!  
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan






Haha, it does, but I'm not a nasty person! I think the only requirement is that the model can fire more than one weapon.

You sought to cower behind your walls, weakling? Instead, by the will of Khorne, you shall die behind them  
   
Made in us
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe





I would agree thats what it says, I just couldnt remember if vehicle was in there anywhere.

"I ayn't so eezy ta kill... heheheh..."

BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!!!! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE!!!!  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Cant the Wraith Knight only fire 1 cannon if it fires the scatter laser since monstrous creatures can only fire 2 weapons?

If that were the case I'd rather have 2x 3+ to hit than 1 TL 3+
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






wtnind wrote:
Cant the Wraith Knight only fire 1 cannon if it fires the scatter laser since monstrous creatures can only fire 2 weapons?

If that were the case I'd rather have 2x 3+ to hit than 1 TL 3+
OP is talking about a Wraithlord, not a Wraithknight. Though I very much agree in the case of Wraithknights.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 Quanar wrote:
wtnind wrote:
Cant the Wraith Knight only fire 1 cannon if it fires the scatter laser since monstrous creatures can only fire 2 weapons?

If that were the case I'd rather have 2x 3+ to hit than 1 TL 3+
OP is talking about a Wraithlord, not a Wraithknight. Though I very much agree in the case of Wraithknights.


From a tactics point of view the same applies to the Lord why not just take 2 BLs rather than a SL to twin link the BL...
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It's a very situational ability.
Still could be usefull for the Wraithknight with the big plasma style gun.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: