Switch Theme:

One squad, two transports?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

Just curious... Since a combat squaded unit can ride in the smae transport and then later disembark. Can that squad combat squad down and then purchase a separate dedicated transport for each combat squad? I have seen this played with drop pods before... I could not find any info on this.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/11 08:07:46


 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






There is no general rule about how many transports a unit may purchase. The only way to answer this question is to look at the specific unit rules and see what options it is allowed to take. If it says "may take a dedicated transport for X points" then "a transport" is singular and the unit may only take one, no matter how it is split up later in the game (remember that combat squadding is done in deployment, not list construction). If it says something like "may take up to three Rhinos at +X points each" then you may take multiple transports.

Currently (AFAIK) no units have the ability to purchase multiple transports, but GW could change this at any time.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/11 08:18:29


There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Combat squading is done during game setup, after list construction. Most armies make those choices during deployment, however C:SM will make that choice before determining warlord traits.

While I'd agree that a unit should be limited to a single DT the "a transport" argument does not work. If the unit is allowed to take the same option multiple times "a transport" only indicates the number of transport the unit gets per choice recursion, and does not set a finite limit. Again, not HIWPI but still a reasonable argument.
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

strengthofthedragon2 wrote:
Just curious... Since a combat squaded unit can ride in the smae transport and then later disembark. Can that squad combat squad down and then purchase a separate dedicated transport for each combat squad? I have seen this played with drop pods before... I could not find any info on this.


When creating your list (as mentioned) is when you purchase your transport. Prior to deployment (yet after list creation) is when you choose to combat squad.

When creating your list you (generally) have the option of "May select a Drop Pod, Rhino, or Razorback as a Dedicated Transport" (actual transport type may vary, depending on the type of unit purchasing the transport, obviously).

The only way to get, for example, 2 drop pods with 5 men in each is to create 2 separate squads at the time you create your list and purchase a transport for each of them. You cannot create a list with (for example, again) a unit of 10 tactical marines and then purchase 2 transports for that one unit. The wording of the purchase of that DT explicitly forbids it (and I am unaware of any codex that allows multiple transports to be purchased for one unit, but I could of course be mistaken there .. for marines it is explicitly ONE transport per unit).
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 DJGietzen wrote:
If the unit is allowed to take the same option multiple times "a transport" only indicates the number of transport the unit gets per choice recursion, and does not set a finite limit.


You are not allowed to take a choice multiple times unless it explicitly says "up to two" or "any model not upgraded with X already" or whatever. If it just says "may take a Rhino" or similar then it is a one-time choice: you take it, or you don't. You don't get to make that choice multiple times until you have "enough" transports.

(And no, there's no argument about this. If you allow multiple choices you completely break the game and allow things like tactical squads with 10x melta guns, and nobody is going to argue that it works that way.)

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

strengthofthedragon2 wrote:
Just curious... Since a combat squaded unit can ride in the smae transport and then later disembark. Can that squad combat squad down and then purchase a separate dedicated transport for each combat squad? I have seen this played with drop pods before... I could not find any info on this.


I knew you could do this for drop pods but I didn't realise it could be done for any dedicated transport. Can someone else confirm that a squad which has been combat squaded can ride its dedicated transport at the same time?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Given it is explicitly stated that you can do that in the Combat Squad rule, yes, yes you can

For older codexes the BRB version now takes precedence.
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

When I get near my new SM codex, I will check the wording on it. I could have sworn that I read in the new SM codex that the combat squads had to be written into the list not just declared at the time of deployment. I will double check, but it seems like it struck me as odd. It would no longer allow for a player to decide to combat squad their troops based off of what was happening on the table. My thought process on this is that if you are writing the combat squading into the list, you should then be able to purchase each of them a dedicated transport since they are both eligible for it.

The reason I ask is that I am wanting to get 10 terminators to outflank using the White Scars chapter tactics. Khan's rule states that only infantry units with dedicated transports can have scout. Technically both combat squads of 5 (from the unit of 10) would "have" dedicated transports (or at least access to them). However, in the spirit of the rule, I think they are supposed to actually be inside them at the time...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/11 11:30:58


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




There is no requirement to determine if you are combat squadding prior to actually playing the game.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





strengthofthedragon2 wrote:
When I get near my new SM codex, I will check the wording on it. I could have sworn that I read in the new SM codex that the combat squads had to be written into the list not just declared at the time of deployment. I will double check, but it seems like it struck me as odd. It would no longer allow for a player to decide to combat squad their troops based off of what was happening on the table. My thought process on this is that if you are writing the combat squading into the list, you should then be able to purchase each of them a dedicated transport since they are both eligible for it.

The reason I ask is that I am wanting to get 10 terminators to outflank using the White Scars chapter tactics. Khan's rule states that only infantry units with dedicated transports can have scout. Technically both combat squads of 5 (from the unit of 10) would "have" dedicated transports (or at least access to them). However, in the spirit of the rule, I think they are supposed to actually be inside them at the time...

You declare prior to Warlord Traits, not during list building.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in de
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Aviano, Italy

Definately just checked it out and yes, I don't think my question will work. I just got the new codex the other day and skimmed through it. Thanks for the input though guys... next time I'll read a little more.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: