Switch Theme:

Landspeeder Deep Strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Spartanburg, SC

Basic question is do landspeeders that deepstrike get a jink save?

Jink pg 38. "A model...that has moved in its movement phase gains a 5+ cover."

Deep Strike pg 36 "In that turn's shooting phase, these units can fire (or run) as normal, and obviously count as having moved in the previous movement phase."

So since it has moved via deep strike and counts as having moved, does it get a jink save? or are they sitting ducks?

Thanks for help in advance.
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc






Battle Barge Impossible Fortress

Deep Strikers arrive during the Movement phase, I think.. If so, they would get Jink

Edit: On page 124 where it talks about fitting models that arrive from Reserve on the board edge, it says "the model cannot move further during the Movement phase"

That, to me, implies that arriving from Reserves happens before the Movement Phase.

But, even though it did not move in the Movement Phase, it counts as having moved in the movement phase when it shoots? Among my group, I'd go ahead and say that means it gets Jink.

Someone correct me if I am wrong.

Second Edit: Deep Striker entry- Yeah... They totally arrive in the Movement Phase. Plus it says "Obviously count as having moved in the previous Movement Phase."

My reading needs some perfection!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/11 14:39:52


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They arrive in the movement phase, and count as having moved (at cruising speed)
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Brometheus wrote:
...Edit: On page 124 where it talks about fitting models that arrive from Reserve on the board edge, it says "the model cannot move further during the Movement phase"

That, to me, implies that arriving from Reserves happens before the Movement Phase.


Reserves still arrive at the start of the movement phase, and a big clue is in what you quoted. The use of further in "the model cannot move further during the Movement phase" means it has already moved in the movement phase.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






The further is not the important part, the latter bit where it tells you deepstrikers count as having moved is.

It is the movement phase an you count as having moved; you have moved in the movement phase(count as = is)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: