Switch Theme:

Entombed Beneath the Sands off the table?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight





Las Vegas

Does the marker stop 1" away from the table edge or does this fall under 'if the unit cannot be placed for any reason' clause?

   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





what does the rule say.....

as in, does the rule say stop 1" from the table edge?

if not in the book, does the FAQ say to stop from 1" from the table edge?

if not you have your answer
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

This is one of those judgment calls you just have to make.

The rule states that if you scatter into impassable terrain you place it 1" away. There is no mention of what happens if you scatter off the table, and no ruling on how you play it if you can't place the marker for any reason.

I've generally seen it ruled that the board edges are impassable terrain, and thus if you scatter off the edge you place the marker 1" away from the board edge and deploy there. That's essentially a houserule, though, built from the most common sense reading of the rule. So you should establish this before your game with your opponent.

edit: my mistake, you roll on the mishap table if you "can't place for any other reason." I'd stil rule it that you deploy 1" away, but RAW there's a strong argument that you mishap if you scatter off the edge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/13 03:14:39


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Board edges CANNOT be impassable terrain, as this is where models that pursue off the table enter from, units held back when they roll a "1" etc appear from, etc.

There is NO judgement call here. You scatter off the table, you roll mishap.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I was going to answer but got side-tracked. It can't be impassable terrain because impassable terrain is defined as, among other things, requiring you to take a dangerous terrain test if you go through it. So if you ever pursued off board, you'd have to do that. But since that isn't the case, it can't be impassable.

   
Made in us
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight





Las Vegas

That's pretty definitive then. Thanks all.

   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: