Switch Theme:

Shooting template/blast weapons into CC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ie
Jovial Junkatrukk Driver





Angloland

So, as I said above, can one shoot a template weapon into CC?
The reason I ask this Is because template weapons dont actually target a unit, instead they target an area. Same goes for blast weapons.

Also can one on purpose place a blast marker next to an ongoing close combat in hope that it scatters top of the enemy?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/15 11:06:48


motyak wrote:[...] Yes, the mods are illuminati, and yakface, lego and dakka dakka itself are the 3 points of the triangle.
 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

IIRC They do target a unit

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in gb
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Braintree, Essex - Init bruv

 Nem wrote:
IIRC They do target a unit


This. Both templates and blasts target a unit rather than an area.

With regards to purposefully placing a blast/template close to a CC? Sure, as long as you are targeting a unit that is close to but not involved in the combat.

 
   
Made in ie
Jovial Junkatrukk Driver





Angloland

I see. Well thanks for the help.

motyak wrote:[...] Yes, the mods are illuminati, and yakface, lego and dakka dakka itself are the 3 points of the triangle.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

As above, you must always place a blast/template on an enemy model/vehicle.
Targeting the ground is never allowed.
   
Made in ie
Jovial Junkatrukk Driver





Angloland

Okay so where can I find this rule? Its not that I dont believe you guys I just want to be able to prove this in an argument.

motyak wrote:[...] Yes, the mods are illuminati, and yakface, lego and dakka dakka itself are the 3 points of the triangle.
 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

Look at the rules for Blasts and Templates.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It specifically states they follow the normal rules apart fro mnot rolling to hit, and specifically states templates and markers cannot be placed on CC, or over friendly models.
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






They can only 'accidentally' scatter onto CC or friendly models.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Templates can never go into CC.

Blasts can only get there by scattering; you cannot place a template so that it covers any models in CC.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I thought that the Bombing Run hellstorm template in Apocalypse has a Scatter mechanic, so therefore COULD end up in CC?
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






nosferatu1001 wrote:
I thought that the Bombing Run hellstorm template in Apocalypse has a Scatter mechanic, so therefore COULD end up in CC?


No such thing anymore(unless I missed it).

All the bombing runs I have seen in the new apoc book have been Apoc Barrage; and the Apoc book tells you the Hellstorm template follows the rules for templates.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Barrage Weapons do not roll to hit ..they just scatter (modified by Ballsitic skill if in LOS ..not if out of LOS ) so yes you can drop motors, Lobba's or the like on a nearby unengaged unit and watch it scatter into Close combat.. It happens a lot and is one of the things Orks do with Lobbas all the time

'\' ~9000pts
'' ~1500
"" ~3000
"" ~2500
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Templates can never go into CC.

Blasts can only get there by scattering; you cannot place a template so that it covers any models in CC.


Templetes should be able to hit models in close combat so long as ...
they hit as many enemy models in the target unit as possible
they do not hit any friendly models
the target unit is not itself in close combat

example (not to scale, but you get the picture )



Unit A is firing a flamer at Unit B. He hits all the models in Unit B but also hits some models in Unit C. Unit C is locked in combat with Unit D.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except that directly contradicts the explicit rule stating that a template may NOT be placed over ANY MODELS in CC
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Except that directly contradicts the explicit rule stating that a template may NOT be placed over ANY MODELS in CC


I might have missed, it, where is this rule?
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 DJGietzen wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Except that directly contradicts the explicit rule stating that a template may NOT be placed over ANY MODELS in CC


I might have missed, it, where is this rule?


BRB p28, "Shooting into and out of Close Combat"
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I see it now, thank you. I guess I should not be surprised a rule about where I can and cannot place a template was not in the section telling me how I need to place a template!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




But it WAS a section on dealing with how and when you can "shoot into" a close combat, for ALL weapons as a single topic.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: