Switch Theme:

Psychic Powers + Transports legal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

Are we able to cast blessings and maledictions from inside a transport vehicle?

I know that witchfires are good to go from inside the fire points, but the rulebook FAQ states that this is the only exception when it comes to casting psychic powers that require a line of sight or something along those lines.

So where does that leave blessings and maledictions? They don't specifically say they require line of sight, so can I for example keep a librarian inside a rhino and cast blessings and maledictions as I see fit measuring from the fire point? or the vehicle's hull?

Or are psykers in transports doomed to do nothing if all they have are blessings/maledictions to cast?

1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




all psychic powers need LOS pg 67 declare target.

Q: Can Psykers use a Transport’s Fire Point(s) to manifest
powers that require line of sight whilst still embarked? (p78)
A: No. Note, however, that witchfire powers specifically allow you to do so and are the one exception to this rule.

So that leaves either targeting the unit embarked or the transport

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/15 18:26:37


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






sirlynchmob wrote:
all psychic powers need LOS pg 67 declare target.

Q: Can Psykers use a Transport’s Fire Point(s) to manifest
powers that require line of sight whilst still embarked? (p78)
A: No. Note, however, that witchfire powers specifically allow you to do so and are the one exception to this rule.

So that leaves either targeting the unit embarked or the transport


Still cannot cast on the squad or the transport.

The FAQ denies all casting aside from witchfire from transports.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Kommissar Kel wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
all psychic powers need LOS pg 67 declare target.

Q: Can Psykers use a Transport’s Fire Point(s) to manifest
powers that require line of sight whilst still embarked? (p78)
A: No. Note, however, that witchfire powers specifically allow you to do so and are the one exception to this rule.

So that leaves either targeting the unit embarked or the transport


Still cannot cast on the squad or the transport.

The FAQ denies all casting aside from witchfire from transports.


You wouldn't need to use the firepoint to draw LOS to yourself even if embarked on the transport. And surely you can see the vehicle you're sitting in. Anything past that and you would need to use the firepoint to see out of the transport to see other units.

 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

That's exactly why I brought this up I read in a tactica on BOLs i believe or Frontline can't remember where exactly that you are allowed to cast powers on the unit in the transport if your psyker is along for the ride with them.

But from reading the FAQ it seems as if the only thing castable is witchfire regardless as nothing else has an exception.

So it seems that people are playing this with blessings casted on passengers with attached psyker or no powers of any kind allowed excpet for witchfires.

So which is the correct method is what I really want to know

1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




pg 67
You must have line of sight
also himself , his unit and his transport or the only valid targets
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 Akaiyou wrote:
That's exactly why I brought this up I read in a tactica on BOLs i believe or Frontline can't remember where exactly that you are allowed to cast powers on the unit in the transport if your psyker is along for the ride with them.

But from reading the FAQ it seems as if the only thing castable is witchfire regardless as nothing else has an exception.

So it seems that people are playing this with blessings casted on passengers with attached psyker or no powers of any kind allowed excpet for witchfires.

So which is the correct method is what I really want to know


The faq is only restricting the use of the transports firepoints for blessings & maledictions. It is not outright preventing the psyker from using those power. Just that he can't use the firepoint for LOS.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The FAQ presumes the embarked psyker is targeting a unit outside the transport. With out that assumption the answer would indeed mean that only powers that do not require line of sight (and all powers require line of sight unless they specifically say otherwise) and witchfire powers cannot can be manifested by a Psyker whilst still embarked.

This is however not an errata to page 67 and page 67 very clearly tells us "...a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker." for powers the require LoS. The FAQ, when we apply it to situations where the Psyker targets his own transport or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker, is a direct contradiction to the BRB. It does not override the BRB in this case.

FAQ entries are only meant to clear up confusion and pg 67 is very clear. The only confusion it could clear up is if a fire point can provide line of sight to a unit outside the transport for non-witch fire powers.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






sirlynchmob wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
all psychic powers need LOS pg 67 declare target.

Q: Can Psykers use a Transport’s Fire Point(s) to manifest
powers that require line of sight whilst still embarked? (p78)
A: No. Note, however, that witchfire powers specifically allow you to do so and are the one exception to this rule.

So that leaves either targeting the unit embarked or the transport


Still cannot cast on the squad or the transport.

The FAQ denies all casting aside from witchfire from transports.


You wouldn't need to use the firepoint to draw LOS to yourself even if embarked on the transport. And surely you can see the vehicle you're sitting in. Anything past that and you would need to use the firepoint to see out of the transport to see other units.



The question was if models embarked can even use those powers. The answer is no.

It is not a matter of what the model has line of sight to, it is a matter of not being able to use the power at all.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

A psyker can cast a psychic power if he is embarked in a transport...

"the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker"(P. 67, Emphasis mine)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 DeathReaper wrote:
A psyker can cast a psychic power if he is embarked in a transport...

"the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker"(P. 67, Emphasis mine)


Yeah, this is pretty clear. Kommisar Kel, what is your reasoning to the contrary?

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Because a poorly written FAQ question did not accurately depict the situation it was likely asking about. The answer to said question, when applied to situations that the question likely did not pertain too appears to contradict page 67.

Now, if we really don't want to say that the FAQ is 'wrong' when it comes to manifesting powers whist embarked here is how you do it.

The question does not ask if a Pskyer can manifest psychic powers that require line of sight whist embarked. It asks if a fire point may be used by a Psyker to do so. The answer is no (exluding witchfire) a Psyker may not use a fire point, but page 67 tells use we don't need line of sight, and as such do not need a fire point, if the target is a unit embarked on the same transport as the Psyker, the Psyker's transport, or the Psyker itself.


   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

That question is so not talking about all cases of using those powers while embarked, only when trying to use the fire points. There is a qualifier that isn't required when casting blessings on the psyker, his unit or the transport.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/16 06:06:59


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: