Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 19:12:37
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Tigurius can re-roll the powers he rolls on the psychic table. If you get the same power again you can re-roll your psychic power.
Can you re-roll a re-roll?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 19:16:55
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Are you told to roll again, or re roll?
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 20:38:13
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Semantics, but RAW you're right
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 20:50:29
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Not semantics. Roll for first turn is rolled again on a tie, not rerolled
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 21:20:47
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
side question, if you roll a power on a say Biomancy and you do not like it, must the he re-roll on the same chart or can he switch to another discipline?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 21:30:37
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
So rolling a dice again isn't the same as re-rolling a dice? Technically in English it is. Automatically Appended Next Post: 40k-noob wrote:side question, if you roll a power on a say Biomancy and you do not like it, must the he re-roll on the same chart or can he switch to another discipline?
RAW he can roll on another discipline, but since you're trying to get a power from a specific discipline it would be dumb.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/15 21:31:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 22:26:05
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
Difference between rerolling and rolling again is that you cant reroll rerolls but can for sure reroll if you rolled again.
So in the rules theres a big difference between the two.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/15 22:26:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/15 23:17:57
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The rulebook defines a difference. So no, they are not the same.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 11:21:13
Subject: Re:Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Or, to put it another way - re-rolling is regenerating the results of roll number one, there is only effectively one roll. Rolling *again* means moving onto roll two and discarding roll one entirely.
That's the English explanation for why they're different.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 12:40:36
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Is Tigurius eligible for another re-roll after rolling again?
What I mean is:
Tiggy rolls for psychic powers.
1st roll: he gets one and decides to go with it.
2nd roll: he gets two and decides to re-roll
re-roll: he gets one and is forced to roll again.
Does he get to re-roll the following "rolling again"?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/16 12:43:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 12:50:24
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You cannot reroll a reroll
If you are told to roll again, you can keep on doing this.
Hence why people need to be precise - can he REROLL his powers, or does he ROLL AGAIN. Similarly when you roll duplicate powers, is that a ROLL AGAIN or a REROLL?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 12:54:16
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
But the question is: am I re-rolling a re-roll, or am I re-rolling the whole 2nd roll.
The 2nd roll was re-rolled before, but since I'm rolling again, I'm basically starting over the whole 2nd roll, thus voiding any previous re-rolls.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 13:03:11
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You cannot reroll a reroll, but a roll again breaks that chain.
Roll, reroll ->normally stop, but you are allowed to through another rule "roll again" -> re-roll now allowed, as the roll again makes a new roll as opposed to a do-over of the previous roll.
Yuck. Too many rolls.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 13:04:44
Subject: Re:Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Tigurius' Master Psyker special rule is specifically called out as a re-roll in his entry, thereby making the entire discussion moot.
Specifically:
"...may re-roll any or all of the dice...."
|
DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 13:07:31
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Not entirely - is the requirement to roll again for duplicate psychic powers reroll or roll again?
Because if it is roll again you can:
1) Roll a duplicate power
2) Roll again due to psychic power rules
3) If you dislike this result, roll again due to Tiggys rules
4) If this rolls another duplicate, roll again..
..
10) profit!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 13:11:50
Subject: Re:Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Personally, I would consider 'rolling again' to be identical to a 're-roll' from a rules perspective (and anyone at my table who tried to play it differently would get books chucked at their head), but I'll leave that up to the rules-legalese wizards.
|
DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 13:20:15
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Not entirely - is the requirement to roll again for duplicate psychic powers reroll or roll again?
Because if it is roll again you can:
1) Roll a duplicate power
2) Roll again due to psychic power rules
3) If you dislike this result, roll again re-roll due to Tiggys rules
4) If this rolls another duplicate, roll again..
..
10) profit!
Slight fix there, Tiggy's rule states re-roll, not roll again.
If you get a (non-duplicate) power you don't like, re-roll it and get the same result, you are then stuck with it. Automatically Appended Next Post: PrinceOfMadness wrote:Personally, I would consider 'rolling again' to be identical to a 're-roll' from a rules perspective (and anyone at my table who tried to play it differently would get books chucked at their head), but I'll leave that up to the rules-legalese wizards.
But there are cases where they must be different, or the game doesn't work.
Roll for first turn was mentioned earlier.
If the rolls are tied after a re-roll, then you can't re-roll again. No one goes first.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/10/16 13:23:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 14:02:59
Subject: Re:Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
PrinceOfMadness wrote:Personally, I would consider 'rolling again' to be identical to a 're-roll' from a rules perspective (and anyone at my table who tried to play it differently would get books chucked at their head), but I'll leave that up to the rules-legalese wizards.
So if you roll to deploy first, and both roll 4's, and then roll again, getting 4's, you then call the game a draw becasue you are not allowed to reroll a reroll?
No, because roll again and reroll HAVE to be treated differently, and luckily the rules specify that reroll is not equal to roll again,
grendel083 wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Not entirely - is the requirement to roll again for duplicate psychic powers reroll or roll again?
Because if it is roll again you can:
1) Roll a duplicate power
2) Roll again due to psychic power rules
3) If you dislike this result, roll again re-roll due to Tiggys rules
4) If this rolls another duplicate, roll again..
..
10) profit!
Slight fix there, Tiggy's rule states re-roll, not roll again.
If you get a (non-duplicate) power you don't like, re-roll it and get the same result, you are then stuck with it.
I meant reroll...
My point is that, assuming psychic powers state roll again - I believe they do - then Tiggys reroll rule can work more than once on the "same" dice roll, because a roll again is a new "instance", and you are therefore not rerolling a reroll - you are rerolling a roll again. If you then are forced to roll again, as Tiggys rerroll (of the duplicate power that you rolled again) could end up with another duplicate power - forcing another roll again. Which, if you dont like it, can be rerolled due to Tiggys power.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 14:09:19
Subject: Re:Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
PrinceOfMadness wrote:Personally, I would consider 'rolling again' to be identical to a 're-roll' from a rules perspective (and anyone at my table who tried to play it differently would get books chucked at their head), but I'll leave that up to the rules-legalese wizards.
So If rolled the same psyhic power twice times in a row and didnt swap out once you would say i have to have that power twice?. You would have me break the rule that i have to have powers i dont already know rather then break the re roll rule. (it does clearly say roll again for duplicate psyhic powers).
Nos, i have had that before, rolling for first turn ended up being 4 rolls iirc lol.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 14:34:21
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Marky - easier way is just say "evens you go first, odds I do", and roll one dice.
You wont get ties that way - about the only failure mode then is cocked dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 15:26:04
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
For me currently its easier if i just resign myself to going second, its been 11 tourny games in a row and only one (the 10th!) i have had the choice to go first or second depressing slightly.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 15:29:58
Subject: Re:Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
So in one specific instance, you are allowed to "roll again" multiple times. Fine. I am willing to concede that "roll again" and "re-roll" are separate as far as RAW is concerned.
|
DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 16:02:43
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its more than one - from memory the Chaos Boon table for Gifts state you "roll again" if you get Daemon Prince or Spawn results, meaning you can never get those results from a Gift
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/16 18:50:30
Subject: Tigurius re-rolling Psychic Powers
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Its more than one - from memory the Chaos Boon table for Gifts state you "roll again" if you get Daemon Prince or Spawn results, meaning you can never get those results from a Gift
Gift of Mutation says to roll again on Spawnhood or Dark Apotheosis.
Boon of Mutation (Tzeentch psychic power), and Multiple Boons says to re-roll Dark Apotheosis (and Spawnhood for Multiple).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|