Switch Theme:

The Avatar of Khaine "Fast shot" quadgun/icarus lascan question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in id
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners






Could the avatar of Khaine with "fast shot" upgrade fires twice with an icarus lascannon? or 4 shots twice (8 shots) with a quadgun?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/87173693@N03/

https://www.instagram.com/hotminis/ 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




PA Unitied States

Yes and No. It adds one not double.

On Icarus it is 2 shots

On Quad it is 5 shots

22 yrs in the hobby
:Eldar: 10K+ pts, 2500 pts
1850 pts
Vampire Counts 4000+ 
   
Made in id
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners






That makes perfect sense. Thank you.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/87173693@N03/

https://www.instagram.com/hotminis/ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

It can only use the rule to fire it's own ranged weapon which does not include a gun emplacement.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior







 Dozer Blades wrote:
It can only use the rule to fire it's own ranged weapon which does not include a gun emplacement.

There was a thread a while ago that spent some time ago debating this. Link.
I don't believe a conclusion was reached, but it's worth reading. A lot of it came down to the use of 'his'.

_e

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/17 16:46:34


I play Space Marines, Dark Angels, Blood Angels, Astra Militarum, Militarum Tempestus, Chaos Space Marines, Dark Eldar, Eldar, Orks, Adepta Sororitas, 'Nids, Necrons, Tau and Grey Knights. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Usually better to take the conservative view if it's up to debate and fairly drawn. I wouldn't allow it in a pickup game.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Delawhere?

Indeed, the previous debate devolved into various interpretations of what constituted ownership of a given weapon.

My local gaming groups have universally allowed it, on the grounds that if the weapon isn't "his" for the purposes of the shot, then "he" couldn't fire it at all, as that would constitute a model firing someone else's weapon.
   
Made in gb
Deadly Dire Avenger





manchester UK

 Raesvelg wrote:
Indeed, the previous debate devolved into various interpretations of what constituted ownership of a given weapon.

My local gaming groups have universally allowed it, on the grounds that if the weapon isn't "his" for the purposes of the shot, then "he" couldn't fire it at all, as that would constitute a model firing someone else's weapon.


This makes a lot of sense.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Seems familiar...

Yep, comes down to the definition of "his". The groups I play with have unanimously allowed it and I've never even needed to debate it. The only opposition to it has been on the internet in my experience.

40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

A gun emplacement can be fired by either army. It's fair to say it's not the exarch's weapon. RAW you can't do it.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





If you play it as its his weapon then you cannot fire it at all, as a gun emplacement is fired instead of his weapon. Interesting way to play it.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






BRB p96 Emplaced Weapons. "All relevant special rules from the firing model and the weapon are used."

This is referring to buildings and p97 clearly references an Icarus lascannon as an emplaced weapon. I can't see why this wouldn't apply to one with an ADL as well as it is still classed as a gun emplacement.

I think they should have reiterated this on P105 in the section on gun emplacements though to make it clear.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Tonberry7 wrote:
BRB p96 Emplaced Weapons. "All relevant special rules from the firing model and the weapon are used."

This is referring to buildings and p97 clearly references an Icarus lascannon as an emplaced weapon. I can't see why this wouldn't apply to one with an ADL as well as it is still classed as a gun emplacement.

I think they should have reiterated this on P105 in the section on gun emplacements though to make it clear.


The Icarus Lascannon is not an emplaced weapon, it is a weapon emplacement.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






BRB p97. "The bastion also has several emplaced weapons: a heavy bolter on each facing and an Icarus lascannon on the roof."

I'd say that was pretty clear.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Tonberry7 wrote:
BRB p97. "The bastion also has several emplaced weapons: a heavy bolter on each facing and an Icarus lascannon on the roof."

I'd say that was pretty clear.


Page 116 (the actual datasheet for Bastions):
Weapons: Four emplaced heavy bolters.

Options:
Add one of the following:
- Gun emplacement with Icarus Lascannon......

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Why did they give them such similar names?
If we got £1 for every time someone mixed the two up, we could end world dept (or make rich people richer, which is more likely where it would go).
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






You're getting confused. A gun emplacement is the actual weapon emplacement. The emplaced weapon is the actual weapon emplaced within it i.e. a lascannon or quad gun.

Gun emplacement with Icarus lascannon. The "with" makes it clear they are separate things. Emplacement means the space where something is located, in this case the emplaced weapon.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Tonberry7 wrote:
You're getting confused. A gun emplacement is the actual weapon emplacement. The emplaced weapon is the actual weapon emplaced within it i.e. a lascannon or quad gun.

Gun emplacement with Icarus lascannon. The "with" makes it clear they are separate things. Emplacement means the space where something is located, in this case the emplaced weapon.


And a Gun Emplacement has its own rules that are located on page 105.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






Indeed it does. It also doesn't change the fact that the weapon emplaced within it is an emplaced weapon.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It does change the fact, they're different things.
An Quad gun for example does NOT have access to the "auto-fire" rule, that a Bastions Emplaced Heavy Bolter would.
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 grendel083 wrote:
It does change the fact, they're different things.
An Quad gun for example does NOT have access to the "auto-fire" rule, that a Bastions Emplaced Heavy Bolter would.


I can't find that reference. Where does it say that?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Tonberry7 wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
It does change the fact, they're different things.
An Quad gun for example does NOT have access to the "auto-fire" rule, that a Bastions Emplaced Heavy Bolter would.
I can't find that reference. Where does it say that?
A reference that says it's one of these, not one of those? You'll never find one of those. But you will find a reference saying what it is.

p114 Aegis Defence Line
Add one of the following:
Gun Emplacement with Quad Gun

p105 Gun Emplacements
All the rules for using it are there. Not once are Emplaced Weapons mentioned in relation to a Gun Emplacement (which are a feature of buildings).
They're different things (with similar names). Auto-Fire is a feature of Emplaced Weapons, so is not a part of the Gun Emplacement rules.

As pointed out previously the Bastion has both Emplaced Weapons (heavy bolters) and the option for a Gun Emplacement.
A Fortress has only Emplaced Weapons.
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






 grendel083 wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
It does change the fact, they're different things.
An Quad gun for example does NOT have access to the "auto-fire" rule, that a Bastions Emplaced Heavy Bolter would.
I can't find that reference. Where does it say that?
A reference that says it's one of these, not one of those? You'll never find one of those. But you will find a reference saying what it is.

p114 Aegis Defence Line
Add one of the following:
Gun Emplacement with Quad Gun

p105 Gun Emplacements
All the rules for using it are there. Not once are Emplaced Weapons mentioned in relation to a Gun Emplacement (which are a feature of buildings).
They're different things (with similar names). Auto-Fire is a feature of Emplaced Weapons, so is not a part of the Gun Emplacement rules.

As pointed out previously the Bastion has both Emplaced Weapons (heavy bolters) and the option for a Gun Emplacement.
A Fortress has only Emplaced Weapons.


I do see your point, but on p97 it clearly refers to an icarus lascannon as an emplaced weapon.

Perhaps the lascannon becomes an emplaced weapon if it is in a building, but not in an ADL.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Tonberry7 wrote:
I do see your point, but on p97 it clearly refers to an icarus lascannon as an emplaced weapon.
That could easily be a generic bastion used as neutral terrain, not a purchased fortification.

Fact is, if you purchase a lascannon for a bastion, you're purchasing a Gun Emplacement, not an Emplaced Weapon. The Bastions datasheet is very clear on what you're buying. Nothing lets it change from one to the other.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

It's still a gun emplacement WITH AN ICARUS LASCANNON.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Also, this FAQ is relevant:
BRB FAQ v1.5, p9 wrote:
Q: Can a unit occupying a Bastion manually fire a gun emplacement (eg. quad gun) on the Bastion's roof? (p116)?
A: No - a model must be in base contact to manually fire a gun emplacement, therefore the unit must be on the Bastion's roof.


Also of note is the section regarding auto-fire in the BRB, p96:
"If a building is occupied...". Battlements aren't buildings, therefore the Icarus/Quad can never utilise auto-fire, since the gun emplacements are never "in" a building. The same applies to the ADL upgrade--no building, no auto-fire.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/19 03:48:46


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: