Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 14:19:54
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
Most People saying that you are only allowed a FNP when suffering from Perils of the Warp. I don't understand why a Invulnerable save is not allowed.
BRB PG 76
 "If the roll for the Psychic test is either a double I or double 6 (whether the test was passed or not) this indicates that something horrible has happened to the Psyker. The forces of the Daemon-haunted warp claw at the Psyker's mind and threaten to engulf and destroy him. The Psyker immediately suffers I Wound with no saves of any kind allowed. Note that a Psyker who incurs Perils of the warp on a roll of double Is still uses his power, even if he is wounded or killed as a result."
FAQ PG 1 dated September 2013
“Invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound or, in the case of vehicles, suffers a penetrating or glancing hit – the Armour Piercing value of attacking weapons has no effect upon an Invulnerable save. Even if a Wound, penetrating hit or glancing hit ignores all armour saves, an invulnerable save can still be taken”
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 14:23:11
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Invulnerable saves are a save. No saves may be taken. FNP is NOT a save.
One rule is more specific than the other, and it is the rule that specifies NO saves
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 14:23:54
Subject: Re:Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Perils does not specify no armor saves, it specifies no saves of any kind, so no armor, cover, or invuln. FNP is not a save and therefore can be taken as normal.
Its all right there in the rules you quoted.
Edit: Ninjaed by Nosfuratu
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/18 14:24:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 14:27:20
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
An invulnerable save is still a save and thus is disallowed by the rules on page 76. The FAQ does not say that you can take an invulnerable save when all saves are specifically disallowed, only that you can take an invulnerable save when armour saves are specfically disallowed.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 14:29:23
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Ancient Venerable Black Templar Dreadnought
|
The difference is you suffer a wound (FNP factors in here) but do not get to make a save.
The specific language for Invulnerable save is "AP" has no effect as well as "no saves of any kind allowed".
Pretty clear that an "invulnerable save" is still a save, so no, you do not get it.
|
A revolution is an idea which has found its bayonets.
Napoleon Bonaparte |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 14:32:25
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
Ok, because Perils dose not say ignores all armour saves I am not allowed to take my Invulnerable save?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 14:43:00
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
That would be a correct quick summary, yes Sickening.
|
Farseer Faenyin
7,100 pts Yme-Loc Eldar(Apoc Included) / 5,700 pts (Non-Apoc)
Record for 6th Edition- Eldar: 25-4-2
Record for 7th Edition -
Eldar: 0-0-0 (Yes, I feel it is that bad)
Battlefleet Gothic: 2,750 pts of Craftworld Eldar
X-wing(Focusing on Imperials): CR90, 6 TIE Fighters, 4 TIE Interceptors, TIE Bomber, TIE Advanced, 4 X-wings, 3 A-wings, 3 B-wings, Y-wing, Z-95
Battletech: Battlion and Command Lance of 3025 Mechs(painted as 21st Rim Worlds) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 14:51:33
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
sickening wrote:Ok, because Perils dose not say ignores all armour saves I am not allowed to take my Invulnerable save?
Yes; by saying ALL saves it means ALL saves. Ignoring all ARMOUR saves would only ignroe armour, but allow for cover or invulnerable.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 14:57:06
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
nosferatu1001 wrote: sickening wrote:Ok, because Perils dose not say ignores all armour saves I am not allowed to take my Invulnerable save?
Yes; by saying ALL saves it means ALL saves. Ignoring all ARMOUR saves would only ignroe armour, but allow for cover or invulnerable.
No, it dose not IGNORE the save it dose not ALLOW the save. The difference is between ignore and allow when getting a Invul or not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 15:03:53
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
There is no operable difference between ignoring a save and not allowing a save.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 15:10:46
Subject: Re:Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
"Even if a Wound, penetrating hit or glancing hit ignores all armour saves, an invulnerable save can still be taken"
"The Psyker immediately suffers I Wound with no saves of any kind allowed"
If it said ignores then I would get my Invul. Because it said no saves allowed is why I cant take the Invul.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 15:38:02
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And if it said that it ignored all saves you wouldn't get an invulnerable save either. Operably, there is no difference.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 15:42:51
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Wow... The difference is the specific types of saves. The wording on whether it's "ignored" or "allowed" has absolutely no bearing. It's clear in the rules cited in the OP.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 15:49:26
Subject: Re:Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
There are 3 different kinds of saves in 40K: Armor, Cover, and Invulnerable. You take whatever the best save allowed is. If something ignores cover, you take your best armor or invulnerable save. If it ignores your armor save, you take your best cover or invulnerable save
"Even if a Wound, penetrating hit or glancing hit ignores all armour saves, an invulnerable save can still be taken" - You can still take an invulnerable or cover save
"The Psyker immediately suffers I Wound with no saves of any kind allowed" - You cannot take any saves, of which the three types are armor, cover, and invulnerable. If it said "ignores all saves" it would mean that it ignores armor, cover, and invulnerable saves.
FNP is not a save, therefore you can still take it.
|
Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/18 18:19:46
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
sickening wrote: no saves of any kind allowed. ]Even if a Wound... ignores all armour saves...
Note how you can take a invuln save if something ignores all "armour saves" Perils does not say that it only ignores armor saves.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/19 05:05:09
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/19 04:39:25
Subject: Re:Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
sickening wrote:"Even if a Wound, penetrating hit or glancing hit ignores all armour saves, an invulnerable save can still be taken"
"The Psyker immediately suffers I Wound with no saves of any kind allowed"
If it said ignores then I would get my Invul. Because it said no saves allowed is why I cant take the Invul.
I bolded the word you're missing. Perils doesn't just ignore armor saves, it ignores all saves.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/19 05:11:28
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Does your BRB say that an Invulnerable Save is a save? Mine does.
Does you BRB say that no saves are allowed for wounds from Perils? Mine says that as well.
I'm not sure how this can be taken any other way other than a big NO on any kind of save. You can't wiggle out of it with such obvious blanket denial like "...no saves of any kind allowed"
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 20:24:46
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
My BRB also says that " they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound"
It said I can ALWAYS take an invul. Its very funny to how you are acting like this rule I so very clear. What rule do we follow, always or no save?
I have been and will keep playing it as you do not get an invul save on Perils because thats how I feel it was intended. I only came to DakkaDakka to see how others viewed the rules as written.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 20:51:20
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Which is more specific - always save or no save?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 20:54:32
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
All I'm saying is this its not very well written. LOL welcome to 40k.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 20:55:26
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
The Last Chancer Who Survived
|
sickening wrote:Most People saying that you are only allowed a FNP when suffering from Perils of the Warp. I don't understand why a Invulnerable save is not allowed.
BRB PG 76
 "If the roll for the Psychic test is either a double I or double 6 (whether the test was passed or not) this indicates that something horrible has happened to the Psyker. The forces of the Daemon-haunted warp claw at the Psyker's mind and threaten to engulf and destroy him. The Psyker immediately suffers I Wound with no saves of any kind allowed. Note that a Psyker who incurs Perils of the warp on a roll of double Is still uses his power, even if he is wounded or killed as a result."
FAQ PG 1 dated September 2013
“Invulnerable saves are different to armour saves because they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound or, in the case of vehicles, suffers a penetrating or glancing hit – the Armour Piercing value of attacking weapons has no effect upon an Invulnerable save. Even if a Wound, penetrating hit or glancing hit ignores all armour saves, an invulnerable save can still be taken”
nosferatu1001 wrote:Invulnerable saves are a save. No saves may be taken. FNP is NOT a save.
One rule is more specific than the other, and it is the rule that specifies NO saves
Zagman wrote:Perils does not specify no armor saves, it specifies no saves of any kind, so no armor, cover, or invuln. FNP is not a save and therefore can be taken as normal.
Its all right there in the rules you quoted.
Edit: Ninjaed by Nosfuratu
Yes...
As saves are not allowed, anything described as a "saving throw/roll" cannot be taken. FnP, however, is wound negation, after the fact of actually taking the wound. (Think of it as sort of regaining the lost wound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 20:55:28
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Except it is well written in this case.
Seriously - this is one of the most clear things to understand in the rule book. Implying that it's vague means you have no idea how to read and understand the rules.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 20:59:12
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
The Last Chancer Who Survived
|
sickening wrote:My BRB also says that " they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound"
It said I can ALWAYS take an invul. Its very funny to how you are acting like this rule I so very clear. What rule do we follow, always or no save?
I have been and will keep playing it as you do not get an invul save on Perils because thats how I feel it was intended. I only came to DakkaDakka to see how others viewed the rules as written.
You don't take the Invuln. This can be decided by realising that the INV save rule is written for a generalized situation, whilst Perils is a single-action specific occurrence, and thus is the more specific rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 22:48:42
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
sickening wrote:My BRB also says that " they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound"
It said I can ALWAYS take an invul. Its very funny to how you are acting like this rule I so very clear. What rule do we follow, always or no save?
I have been and will keep playing it as you do not get an invul save on Perils because thats how I feel it was intended. I only came to DakkaDakka to see how others viewed the rules as written.
Can't trumps Must/Can in a permissive ruleset.
Must/Can will only trump Can't if there is a specific permission to do so (Like not being destroyed in a Sweeping Advance if you have the And They Shall Know No Fear rule).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 00:35:38
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
sickening wrote:My BRB also says that " they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a Wound"
It said I can ALWAYS take an invul.
It IS clear...when you read the whole rule and the context it is in. The entire rule you halfway quoted quantifies the statement.
BRB pg 17 wrote:Invulnerable saves are different to armor saves because they many always be taken whenever a model suffers a wound- the Armour Piercing value of the attacking weapons has no effect. EVen if a Wound ignores all armour saves, an invulnerable saving throw can still be taken.
This is in the context of AP values and shows the difference between two types of saves. They are both still saves though and cannot be taken against wounds that "allow no saves".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/22 00:37:27
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 02:02:19
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
sickening wrote:All I'm saying is this its not very well written. LOL welcome to 40k.
I agree on this actually, they should not have said an invulnerable can always be taken and then later in the very same book say that's not true. That is however what they have done and I understand if you find it misleading.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/22 02:03:00
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 05:35:35
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
GW has always had a funny relationship with the word "always". I don't think it means what they seem to think it means.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 11:54:47
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It means the same thing in any rules set.
Always unless there's an exception. And in this case we don't even have that. Because you still always take an invul when armor saves are denied, but if all saves are denied that's more than just armor saves.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 13:48:47
Subject: Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
rigeld2 wrote:It means the same thing in any rules set.
Always unless there's an exception.
By that definition, "Always A" means the exact same thing as "A". "Always unless there's an exception" is a meaningless descriptor which adds nothing to a rule.
rigeld2 wrote:And in this case we don't even have that. Because you still always take an invul when armor saves are denied, but if all saves are denied that's more than just armor saves.
If the rule said what you said, that might be correct(-ish), but it doesn't. It says straight up that "they may always be taken whenever the model suffers a wound" and then goes on about AP and armor-save-ignoring not clearing invulnerable. "May always be taken" versus "no saves of any kind" is a contradiction resolved by specificity, and not by some notion that invulnerable saves ONLY apply to wounds that ignore your armor (which, BTW, they do not - if your invulnerable save is better than your armor save, you take your invulnerable even if your armor save has not been negated).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/22 13:51:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 14:20:33
Subject: Re:Invulnerable Saves and
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
I honestly cannot believe people are arguing this. "no saves of any kind allowed." is explicitly clear. You have a general rule for Invulnerable Save which states you can always take it even if you aren't allowed an armor save. You have a second, more specific rule which overrides the first.
GW has many rules issues, this is not one of them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|