Switch Theme:

Do Dedicated Transports count towards first blood?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Lictor






Thanks.

On building Tyranid army flow chart.

Do you have enough Termagaunts?
No > Add More
Yes > No you don' t > Add more
 
   
Made in gb
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader





London, England

Yup.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor








Thought so, just wanted to be sure. Thanks.

On building Tyranid army flow chart.

Do you have enough Termagaunts?
No > Add More
Yes > No you don' t > Add more
 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Dedicated transports are still a unit, and so count as for the "first unit destroyed" criteria
   
Made in au
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





The first blood rule states that the first unit to be "removed as a casualty" grants first blood.

vehicles, going on the wrecked and damage table descriptions are only ever "destroyed", not "removed as casualties"

Where as a unit that has wounds allocated to it are removed as casualties

So does a vehicle, of any type, grant first blood?


~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
 
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

Yes, it does.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

DOOMONYOU wrote:
The first blood rule states that the first unit to be "removed as a casualty" grants first blood.

vehicles, going on the wrecked and damage table descriptions are only ever "destroyed", not "removed as casualties"

Where as a unit that has wounds allocated to it are removed as casualties

So does a vehicle, of any type, grant first blood?


If you really want to get technical the rules say the first unit that gets removed as a casualty... The only way for this to happen is for sweeping advance or falling back off the board, as Models are removed as casualties not units except for the two cases I just mentioned.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/23 00:31:53


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

Yes.
   
Made in au
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





Don't get me wrong, I agree that first blood means the first unit removed whether vehicle or infantry etc. But can you support the yes answer with references? In case this is brought up by TFG, so i can ram it back down his throat.

~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No, the literal RAW does read that way.
What army does he play? There's tons of ways to use literal RAW and show that things aren't always what they intended.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

DOOMONYOU wrote:
Don't get me wrong, I agree that first blood means the first unit removed whether vehicle or infantry etc. But can you support the yes answer with references? In case this is brought up by TFG, so i can ram it back down his throat.

The Strict RAW reads like this:

The rules say the first unit that gets removed as a casualty (122)... The only way for this to happen is for sweeping advance (26-27) or falling back off the board (30), as Models are removed as casualties (15 & 25) not units except for the two cases I just mentioned.

Check the page numbers for the connected rules.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





actually the whole rule for first blood includes the words destroyed, so it doesn't matter in what context you try to throw it out there, the first thing that is removed from the board as a result of an attack scores the first blood condition.

P122 for the First Blood Rule. read the whole thing not just what's in bold.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 nutty_nutter wrote:
actually the whole rule for first blood includes the words destroyed, so it doesn't matter in what context you try to throw it out there, the first thing that is removed from the board as a result of an attack scores the first blood condition.

P122 for the First Blood Rule. read the whole thing not just what's in bold.


And strict RAW it says that the first unit removed (Or destroyed) the only way for a UNIT to get removed (Or destroyed) is through SA or Falling back off the board edge as units are not removed (Or destroyed) in any other situation than those two. Models can be removed (Or destroyed) but that is not the same as having a unit removed (Or destroyed).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

But if every single model in a unit is Destroyed, would the Unit not be considered Destroyed?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 grendel083 wrote:
But if every single model in a unit is Destroyed, would the Unit not be considered Destroyed?


Since there are no rules stating that is the case, No.

A better wording would have been:

'If all of the models in a unit are destroyed or removed as a casualty then the opposing player counts as winning the First Blood Objective at the end of the game, Only count the first unit removed in such a manner for the First Blood Objective.'' (This would cover everything, and make sense).

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/10/23 20:25:05


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






what about vehicles that are wrecked?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 DJGietzen wrote:
what about vehicles that are wrecked?
That's effectively the same question I was asking. A vehicle is usually a unit comprised of a single model. If all models are destroyed, is the unit also counted as destroyed?
Wrecked is described as destroyed.
   
Made in gb
Irked Necron Immortal




gravesend kent

yes as it is a unit

6th ed w/l/d
=3000pts 39/19/2
The Mavelance Dynasty=4000pts 28/42/6

short stories:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/558468.page
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/558967.page#6170866
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/559971.page 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 grendel083 wrote:
 DJGietzen wrote:
what about vehicles that are wrecked?
That's effectively the same question I was asking. A vehicle is usually a unit comprised of a single model. If all models are destroyed, is the unit also counted as destroyed?
@grendel083:
I can not find any rules that say that, if there are please point me to them.

@DJGietzen:
Well wrecked = destroyed, it is on page 74 under the wrecked vehicles section.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/24 05:14:07


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

No I can't point them out, hence why I was asking
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: