Switch Theme:

Tzeentch Screamers' Lamprey's Bite & Charging  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant






Hi Dakka,
I'm looking for clarification over the number of attacks a screamer can make if it uses its lamprey's bite ability on the charge.

I know the topic has already been talked about here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/556363.page
however there was no overall consensus by the end.

Codex Daemons states: "A screamer can substitute all of its normal close combat attacks for a single special attack"

Does "normal close combat attacks" include the charge bonus? Or does the skill act more like the 'Smash' special rule, with the charge bonus added after the modifier is taken into effect?

Thanks
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Smash works like it does because it halves your attacks characteristic, meaning any extra attack is added afterwards.
   
Made in gb
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler




Ireland

I don't believe you get the extra attack for charging due to the "Multiple Modifiers" rule.

When multiple modifiers are in effect you apply multiplicative or divisive modifiers first, then additive or subtractive modifiers and then finally set values.

So it's (3+1) set to 1 = 1

By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!

- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos


 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Normal close combat attacks, see pg 24 of the BRB, where it tells us what the normal number of attacks would be. Everything listed there constitutes your normal number of attacks.

Lamprey bite does not state, substitute base attacks characteristic for a single attack, it states all normal attacks which the only applicable definition of normal would our attacks characteristic + Charge + multiple weapon if applicable + other bonus attacks.

This is supported by the wording of the additional attacks as they are worded in a way to modify your Attacks(A) characteristic and are not seperate.

A non normal number of attacks would be a psychic power which forces you to make an attack against yourself, etc.

Also, note it says make a single special attack, we do not have permission to modify the number of special attacks. Therefore, even if you rule that normal number of attacks doesn't include the charge bonus, which is erroneous, you do not get an additional special attack, you merely would gain one of your standard S4 AP- attacks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/23 16:51:10


40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Replace all normal attacks for 1 attack means you only get 1 attack.

Cato Sicarus's Coup de grace attack works the same way

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Rather then start a new thread, when Screamers make their slash attacks, do they need to fly over what they can wound ?

Here is the scenario.

A group of 10 screamers decide to make their slash attacks on a group of 10 gribbles in area terrain. The screamer controlling player says he does his slash attack in a U Turn over the first model which is closest to the final location of the screamers.

He then rolls 10 d3 attacks and wounds 7.

1. Can wounds be allocated past the only model he flew over ?
2. Cover saves ?
3. For measuring purposes would each Screamer model have to fly over the model being attacked ?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) Yes, as the wounds are randomly allocated, and are not "shooting" so out of range cannot apply
2) Cover saves would be permitted unless explicitly denied
3) Depends on the rule - if it is just "the unit" passed over, then every model in the unit would contribute, even if it didnt actually move over.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






nosferatu1001 wrote:
1) Yes, as the wounds are randomly allocated, and are not "shooting" so out of range cannot apply
2) Cover saves would be permitted unless explicitly denied
3) Depends on the rule - if it is just "the unit" passed over, then every model in the unit would contribute, even if it didnt actually move over.


It is not random allocation, it states use the final location of the Screamers to determine Wound allocation.


It says "d3 hits per screamer that moved over" the enemy unit meaning that the screamer model has to in fact move over the enemy unit. On screamer does not generate attacks for the entire unit.

Cover is not denied to these slashing attacks.

40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: