Switch Theme:

FNP and on an unsaved wound effect  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So I was curious about this from what I was looking at for my chaos daemons. Multiple items in the daemon codex using the number 2 exalted gift as an example state that the daemon has to do at least 1 unsaved wound for the effect to go off. The question is if the opponent saves with FNP does the effect still go off. My reasoning is yes because FNP in itself is not a save. So the model suffered an unsaved wound which then was discarded because of FNP. Thoughts on this dakka?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If it happens immediately on inflicting an unsaved wound (such as Force activation or ES) then it can be argued either way as to which occurs first (except for Force activation).

If it is something that happens at the end of the phase (such as the Black Mace area of effect), then by the time it occurs, FNP has already been rolled and the wounds count as being saved (thus no effect unless FNP failed).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





But the wounds are not saved. The wounds are ignored. The wound itself is still an unsaved wound. FNP is not a save so thus does not count as saving throw or a save against a wound. In terms of black mace of course, force weapons is in the errata so that part I knew for sure.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

icefire78 wrote:
But the wounds are not saved. The wounds are ignored. The wound itself is still an unsaved wound. FNP is not a save so thus does not count as saving throw or a save against a wound. In terms of black mace of course, force weapons is in the errata so that part I knew for sure.


Re-read the last sentence of FNP.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Aww, I didn't see that part. That's what I needed to know thank you very much.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: